Customer Reviews for

Saint (Paradise Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I've read from Ted Dekker so far!

    Ted is most definitely in his element with this one. Thrilling and unexpected, this book is indeed, one of the best ones I've read thus far, although it doesn't measure up to Ted's Circle Trilogy. It's almost like you step into Carl's shoes, torn between whether or not that's his real name, or if he's a completely different person named Johnny. This is a good read for any time. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Best of the Paradise Trilogy

    I liked the action and struggle throughout, but I felt like some things were made mysterious just for being mysterious and didn't add much to the story. All in all, best of the Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The stripping of one's deepest identity

    `Saint' is a Ted Dekker novel set within a non-sequential series called `The Books of History Chronicles.' It is the second of the `Paradise Novels', a trilogy within the series, and follows the activities of a man aptly named David Abraham, who once oversaw an incredible experiment called "Project Showdown".

    `Saint' takes up about a dozen years after the experiment; a trained assassin named Carl (dubbed "Saint"), is put through unthinkable torture and brain-washing techniques which have seemingly completely erased his past identity. As the story progresses, the reader begins to realize that this man is being prepared to complete a mission at the highest international level; is he supposed to kill the U.S. President---who has David Abraham as his spiritual advisor and confidant? Or is it the leader's nemesis, Assim Feroz, the Iranian Defense Minister (who has put forth a popular proposal to the U.N. which will essentially strip Israel of any realistic means to defend itself) the true target?

    Dekker again shows his talent for presenting "adrenaline-laced" thrillers which are modern day analogies of humanity's Salvation History. The Christian analogy reflected upon in 'Saint' is the world's ability to strip us of our original identity; we are adopted sons and daughters of the Almighty God, but when when that identity becomes convoluted and even lost, then the loss of Faith (and a host of other principles and virtues) logically follows. This process, which often takes place over many years in our lives, is rapidly consummated in the destruction of the identity of Carl. Dekker is very overt in this novel communicating this message---at times even having it actually being spoken-out by the characters (though I like and agree with the message, in general, I think it is better for the reader to arrive at the `discovery' of the message him/herself---even if led by the author through circumstances and actions. When the character speaks it, it would seem the author was not confident that the reader would pick it up). That being said, I am again impressed at Dekker's ability to maintain a non-sanitized portrayal of evil while still being unabashedly Christian; evil is real, though not glorified in this novel.

    It did, admittedly, take me a bit longer to "get into" `Saint'... perhaps even requiring a hundred pages or so. But as familiar circumstances and characters began to weave into the plot, I was most certainly hooked. This book went beyond the genre of supernatural/Christian thriller, entering into the political arena as well (though avoiding---at least overly---the promotion of partisan politics). One observation I would like to make: writing supernatural fiction that includes elements of fantasy can be incredibly difficult when you are striving to establish a contemporary reality-based scenario/plot. Here I mean; though fictional, one still wants the world political scenario and the actions of those involved to remain credible even in the midst of infusing "otherworldly" elements which often require the "suspension of disbelief." Dekker is consistently quite skillful in pulling this off---though there were a few times in `Saint' that the manifestation of supernatural powers exceeded my "fiction sensibilities" at the time; it verged on becoming comic-bookish.

    Nonetheless, I highly recommend this book for any adult who enjoys a thriller with a deeper message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dekker is Great

    Ted Dekker is a wonderful Christian Fiction Author and I highly recommend any of his works. He is on parr with Frank Peretti and may have very well taken his place as the best fiction writer concerning spiritual warfare. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Hard reading

    I enjoyed this book but had a hard time keeping up with some of the characters and the plot. I would still recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    A good review

    This book was action packed story that was not really put together at the beginning.The beginning was confusing and I wasn't able to grasp the whole story. I believe that Dekker could of explained the story better.Also, Ted Dekker should create a new story to add on to Saint.All in all a very good read that most people who like action would enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book up until the very end. It was still a very good book, but the ending got a little to spiritual for me. I would recommend this book, but I would read 'Showdown' by Ted Dekker first. There are many references to it in 'Saint' and reading it will make it easier to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    makes for a good read- better if you read showdown first

    i thought it was a great book and i read it in about 18 hours. it was a little confusing when it talked about 'project Showdown' thou- i havent read showdown yet, im in the middle of the circle trilogy, gonna read showdown after that and then saint again. it's bordering on Sci-fi and once again has the a perfect blend of action, thrill and romance that dekker is known for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    An excellent novel but not on its own?

    In Saint, we are taken into the life of an elite asassin. This asassin has been trained to control his mind and body in such ways that he makes James Bond look like a sissy. As the training continues you find out that he has the potential to be the most lethal assassin ever. Yet, there is a problem. The past that his trainers tried so hard to erase will not die as easily as Saint's victims. When things don't go according to plan, Saint is sent on an incredible journey that will test his skills, his mind and ultimately his faith as truth and fiction are forced to collide. An incredible story filled with action, adventure, suspense and twists at every turn, Saint will keep you longing for more and praying the movie will be close behind. Having said this, there is a slight draw back. If you have not read some of Mr. Dekker's previous works, this storywill be at times confusing and lose some of its depth and grandeur. Refernces are made throughout the novel to previous novels whose characters and plots tie into this one and at times this seems almost literary and creative genius. At other times it seems like a tacky way to promote previous works (even though they were also excellent). If you haven't read Saint and are a Ted Dekker fan, go buy it today. If you are looking for an exceptional writer with amazing stories to tell and powerful messages to relay, read Ted Dekker, but don't start with Saint. It will mean more after you have read his previous works. All in all, an exceptional novel. Ted Dekker is an amazing author and at the top of his game here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2