Customer Reviews for

Saint City Sinners (Dante Valentine Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than expected.

    I picked up this book after reading reviews from other readers saying that the series was going downhill with this book. I personally don't like to leave a series unfinished so I read it. <BR/><BR/>I loved this book. I think Dante is a more exciting character when Japhrimel isn't around to save her. I think the murder mystery subplot was well planned and was a nice break from demon hunting (even if the demons were still hunting her). <BR/><BR/>The only problem I had with this book is Dante's continuous indecision about whether or not to be with Japhrimel even after she has formally stated what she would do, however, that isn't enough to deter me from reading the next book or bring down the enjoyment of this one so I give it 4 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Couldn't Finish it.

    I've read the previous 3 books in the series and enjoyed them for the most part, but this one I couldn't make it through. I kept cringing with Dante's choices thinking how all this could just be avoided with a little communication. I suppose that's part of her issues though. I'll pick it back up I'm sure but for now my rating is only 2/5 for the series going downhill imho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Sinningly Good

    Sin's not so bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Huh?

    How many stupid mistakes can Dante make, let me count the ways...... Although this book was a bit annoying at times, it still has plenty of action and will not put you to sleep. Japh is always a pleasure and Dante doesn't know which way is up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    The fourth book in Dante Valentine's series and my least favorite. Don't get me wrong, the first three books of this series are just great.. but there is something missing about this one. Dante, the heroine who used to be a strong, independent character but, sadly, turns out to be whiny, self center and very obsessive in this book. I found myself skimming through the book several times especially parts where the heroine was talking to herself... Good point about this book, the plot and the storyline itself is still interesting and still be able to keep you going until the end (even with the annoying heroine). Saintcrow also did a great job in painting all the secondary characters who, often, turn out to be the ones driving the story forward (which supposed to be a job of the main character..but never happened in this book.) and you wish you could read more about them. The world of Saincrow's Psion is still imaginative and very fascinating nonetheless which is the strongest point and the main reason why this series is just so great in my opinion. The hero, a fallen demon, Japhrimel, is a complicated yet very interesting ..and so far, my most favorite character from the series. Although this book is catagorized as an unban fantasy, there's still enough romance here and there to make your heart flutter and satisfy some female readers (just like me.) If you've never read this series before, I highly recommend you to read the first three books before starting this one...otherwise you will definitely get lost somewhere in the first few chapters. Although, by far, this book is the weakest link in this series, you cannot skip this one and go straight to the last book ... because, you will be missing a large chunk of story/ information. So if you're Dante Velentine's fan (just like me), you have no choice but to pick this book up and force yourself to go through it while hoping that the next and final book of the series will be much much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    an avid reader

    since 'a reviewer' gave a teriffic synopsis, i will not repeat it.I will just give my opinion on this book. I love strong heroines. Dante is definitely one. However in this book, I just couldn't connect with her as much. She really needs to make up her mind about her relationship with Japh. It's getting old her indecisiveness. And I found myself skimming at times. All other characters have stayed true to form, which is what probably saved this book. Plus there are some interesting bits thrown in. If you like the Dante series ,then get it, without alot of expectations other than hopefully the next release in January will be better. This is not a book that stands alone you must read the previous books to understand little things that tie the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fanttic fantasy

    Her Lucifer assignment to capture four demons is on hold though she prays that the prince of Darkness is ignorant of being put aside even temporarily Dante Valentine does not need another confrontation with a superpower who would not mind her being dead. However, the text message Gabrielle ¿Gabe¿ Spocarelli is succinct and to the point: ¿Danny, Mainthusez I need you. Now. Gabe¿. Only for her best friend in her Saint City childhood would Dante put of Lucifer.----------------, Dante returns home to learn Gabe¿s beloved Eddie was murdered ten days ago and Saint City is filled with danger. Dante seeks vengeance, but is irate with her demon lover Japhrimel, who seems to know who and why, but refuses to tell her anything. As Dante¿s frustration grows, Japh turns increasingly obstinate as he insists his prime objective is to keep his beloved safe including from her own reckless self at the cost of their relationship if need be. However once again he underestimates the necromancer who affirms hell hath no fury like a female seeking revenge even when it is against the wrong individual as she fails to see she is the victim of a Judas betrayal.------------ The latest Dante Valentine paranormal thriller is an exciting tale that showcases the talent of author Lilith Saintcrow as she combines angst and heart break with supernatural action. The story line is fast-paced, but the key elements to this superb fantasy are the plausible plot twists that send the heroine deeper into depression and anguish she even seems suicidal ready for demons or Lucifer to kill her (kind of like having the cops shoot you). SAINT CITY SINNERS affirms that you can¿t go home even for a heavenly cause.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    Okay, but hoping the next one ties things up ...

    I am a huge fan of the Dante Valentine series. But this fourth instalment was the weakest in this otherwise remarkable series, in my estimation. I suppose there had to be a weakest one, and given my high expectations, I'm not too surprised that this book didn't quite deliver. First of all, Dante actually annoyed me. There's a point where the heroine skirts the line between determination and stupidity, and Dante crossed it repeatedly. Then, there's the issue of the repetition. This book could have used some tighter editing. Also, there was too much going on in this book, and I don't think it can stand independently. Having said that, though, I think this book does set up some interesting situations and I'm hoping that the next book will tie it all in really, really well. I'm waiting with bated breath for it, and the I need the payoff to be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Definately Recommended

    I am a huge fan of this series. I think this series is on of the better written sci-fi series featuring a very strong heroine. This may not be the strongest book in the series but it was very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3