Customer Reviews for

The Saint of Dragons

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    highly recommended

    I'm only 14 and I read this book when i was 12 years old.I usually don't read books but whenever I started reading this book I couldn't put it down.It is so far my favorite book.As I read this book it was like a movie inside my head.My first thought about this book after I read it was that they should make a movie about it just like Eragon.So far I haven't found a book I like better.I found this book at a library at my school when I had to do a book report.At first I asked for Eragon but there was none so the librarian showed me THE SAINT OF DRAGONS.I think this book deserves 5 stars.I'm in 9th grade now turning 15 next month and I'm doing another book report about it. Plus in this way I don't have to read another book.But even if I read another book this year, I would rather review this book and use it instead.(BUT I THINK THEY SHOULD MAKE A MOVIE ABOUT THIS BOOK!!!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I know the author...

    The author is my neighbor :) their daughter is really nice. I knew he was a screenwriter but I didn't know he was an author until thus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Loved it, so cool

    Read it a while back and decided to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Terrible

    I have attempted to read this book several times and have failed because I found it so utterly terrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Action-Packed from the Beginning to the End!

    "The Saint of Dragons," by Jason Hightman is the first book in Harper Collin's unique "Saint of Dragons" series. While it is happy in some parts and sad in others, this book is action-packed from the beginning to the end! Do yourself a favor---READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    A tomboy/girlygirl review

    As a girly girl I would probably say dump it. But I like books so much that whatever I judge the title 'boy or girl' that side takes over and reads. This caught my eye BECAUSE of the title. I like books of magic, magical creatures, ect. ect. To say it a bit more frank would be impossible. From the few pages I have read I say it is fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    I thought it was...

    Uber rad-tastic/ amazing! That is how I would describe this book. It was set in modern times, which was was unexpected. However, this made it even more interesting and different. Imagine walking among dragons and not even realizing it? I could not put it down. I read it in one day. I'm ordering the second book, Samurai, right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2007

    My absolute FAVORITE book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    All you need to to is get past the first chapter, and after that, i couldn't put it down!!!! I read it instead of watching TV, and read it in one and 1/2 days (i woke up at 5:00AM to finish it). The Saint of Dragons is an amazzzing book! Definatly one of my faviorites! i would reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2006

    can't wait for the third!

    I agree with one of the other writers at first this book was just plain boring, but as I got further into the story I couldn't put it down! When I finished I had to go out and get the second book 'Samurai'. I finished it in three days and now I can't wait for the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    it was amazing

    I can't wait for the next one!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Well, i loved it at least!

    To tell the truth i seriously didn't like this book as it started out. It reminded me too much of Harry Potter as most books do nowadays. I was practically fed up with people writing about poor little orphan boys who found 'the light' -so to speak- and were taken off on a magical adventure. It had been done, and i didn't want to read about it again. So i put it down. A week later i thought to myself i'd seriously would have wasted my money if i didn't force myself to read it, so i did. Read it i mean. As the plot thickens, the story unwinds, we get to know the main characters a lot more, and we are introduced to fun, excitement, adventure, love and comic relations between three main characters. Three charaters who probably contrast one another quite a bit i must say. The whole idea of the story was brilliant. I wont go into it to create spoilers, but most things i loved about this book was the story, the plot, the charaters and the history. Every night i was up till late reading until i was able to finally turn the final page. I gave this book four stars for a few particular reasons. 1. I was slightly disappointed by the rushed ending. I thought it could have been expanded, but i'm sure we'll know more when the next book comes out. 2. Some points in the language was questionable. I'm not the best person to speak of mistakes in language and grammar, but i thought certain things could have been looked over more carefully. Overall, i thought the book was excellent. I was never bored whilst reading it, and don't see why others should be. It was filled to the brim with everything a good children's book needs and i'm proud to say i look forward to the sequel: 'Saint of Dragons Samurai'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Couldn't put it down

    This book is totally awesome. Don't know a single person who wouldn't love it. And really it took almost 10 minutes everytime I had to put it down(just a cuple more pages I swear!!(My mother lokked at me like I was nuts))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    One of the greatest books ever

    This wonderful book kept me spellbound for hours. Once you started reading it you couldn't stop. This is a wonderful book and I would recommend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Really Enjoyed It

    I'm gob-smacked by the extremes in the reviews. I loved the story in which the pace never let up, and thought the prickly relationship between father and son one of the best features of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    Very Disappointing...

    This is one of those books that seems to insult your inteligence. The characters are undeveloped and the dialog seemed like it was rejected from daytime TV. All in all I think that this book was a waste of money and paper and I'm very surprised that it got published in the first place. Do yourself a favor and leave this one on the self.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Don't miss this outstanding book!

    Just when you thought you have read all there is about dragons comes along Jason Hightman¿s debut novel the Saint of Dragons. Take an adventure with a 14-year-old dragon slayer as he struggles with his place in the world and with a breed of dragons that masquerade as humans and spread evil to all. This fascinating books is a must read for any fantasy lover. Readers, especially boys and reluctant readers, will be captivated with this clever and brilliant book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2004

    Very good and stays with you

    I picked this up reluctantly, not being an avid fantasy reader generally, and accidentally really liked it quite a bit. It's just hard to evaluate because it doesn't fit the usual mold of hero-on- quest-in-barbaric-world. It's a non-stop action story for children, who will start wondering where the real dragons are right now. I got it on a table with adult books, which is not where it should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    Saint of Dragons

    This may sound weird for it being a fantasy, but this book reminded me of Men in Black because of the different look at our own world. I really enjoyed it. It's made for a younger crowd than me I think, but I like that it was simple to understand, so whatever. Plot is twisty and cool and especially the villains are very different, that's the thing that makes it a must-get. Good, filled with action, well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    Not tickled and totally let down

    Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy this book, as others who have submitted reviews did. I couldn't get past the bad writing, especially. This can be forgiven in a review, but not in a work published by HarperCollins. Sentence fragments, plot twists that make absolutely no sense, and one-dimensional characters all add up to many hours wasted trying to convince yourself that you should give this book another chance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Tickled and Surprised

    I think that about sums it up. I didn't know what to expect when I picked this gem up, but I definitely didn't expect what I got. This is not your standard fantasy book. For one, it's set in the modern age, and not in some 'magic school' hidden away in the neverlands of England, but in Central Park New York, in Venice, Paris, Russia and London. But more than that, the book is very quirky, and it doesn't take itself too seriously. It's not like Lord of the Rings, which tried real hard to convince you that Middle Earth exists. This is a book that assumes you suspended your disbelief when you plunked down your $16. And the wild implausibilities of the story are most of the fun. In a way, the book reminds me of Roald Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and James and the Giant Peach. And if some of the book's references go over the head of the average twelve year old (or twenty-four year old), then so what? It's the perfect opportunity to break out the online encyclopedia. At least this book doesn't talk down to kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2