Customer Reviews for

Saints in Limbo

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Lovely and lyrical, this novel will haunt long after the last page is turned

    Saints in Limbo by River Jordan is a haunting, almost mystical story of memories, love, and the battle between good and evil. Velma True has given up on life after the death of her husband, even refusing to leave her house. She only goes out in the yard as far as her colored strings take her, always keeping her tethered to the house and the life she once knew. When a strange man visits her and leaves her a unique stone, she finds herself lost in the past and with just a hint of hope for the future. Annie, a young teen-aged runaway, finds her way to Velma's town, but she is being stalked by something evil, something definitely not human. Her journey is tied to Velma's stone, and one secret will reveal the other. Jordan's writing is lyrical and poetic, making every page come to life whether it's a bright summery day or a ominously dark sky. She weaves the various stories of Sarah, Velma, Annie, and the rest together into a beautiful tapestry of life, hope, faith, and love. Pick up this book and allow Jordan to soothe with her captivating tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Strangely awesome

    After receiving her husband Joe's death certificate in the mail, Velma True refused to go out of the front of her house without the safety net of strings anchoring her to the porch. She did allow herself the go out the back door and through the woods to the grocery store but that was it as far as leaving the house was concerned. Her son Rudy and her best friend Sara both tried to get her to leave to no avail.

    On the afternoon of her birthday while Velma was sitting on her porch a visitor steps out of the woods and hands her an innocent looking river rock. Despite its plain appearance she quickly learns is very special indeed and someone very dangerous is looking for it. The rock has the ability to take Velma back to special moments in time when Joe is still alive. The trips back are meant to show Velma that her life still has meaning but she's skeptical.

    Having lots of potential to succeed in life Rudy disappointingly grew up to lead a mediocre life. His biggest achievement is to claim to have had most of the eligible women in town. When strange things start happening with his Mom he makes the decision to move back home for a few days and keep a closer eye her but she's not the only one experiencing something strange and Rudy steps up to the plate to become something special.

    If I had to sum up this book in two words they would be strangely awesome. There is an incredible story filling these pages and the writing is wondrously flowing. The opening jumps right into the story so initially was a little awkward but once I got the hang of what was going on I COULD NOT put this book down.

    Part supernatural, part romance and part suspense Jordan brings an amazing story to life with lovable characters. This is a must read for all fiction lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SAINTS IN LIMBO is a whimsical tale mindful of It's a Wonderful Life

    In Echo, Florida Widow Velma True struggles to go out her door. Her agoraphobia has been getting worse as going to the mailbox is an incredible quest that she never achieves. She traces her fear of outdoors to when her beloved Joe died.------------------

    On her birthday, a stranger arrives at her door to give her a gift that does not look like much. However, somehow the mysterious present from this baffling stranger has Velma looking back over her memories with Joe and their son Rudy. She begins to appreciate what she had and still has through her memories though her reminiscences on the river of her life include some depressing moments. She begins to find herself pulled between her desire to have what she once had before Joe died and Rudy grew up, and what she has now. Finally her adventure into her mind leaves her vulnerable to a malevolence that wants the gift and will take away what she cherishes to steal her birthday present.---------------

    SAINTS IN LIMBO is a whimsical tale mindful of It's a Wonderful Life with the addition of a nasty essence wanting to steal her gift. Filled with regret and remorse, Velma is fabulous as she goes on her adventure inside her mind. Although to many subplots that are left unresolved detract from this overall fine thriller, readers will enjoy accompanying the heroine as she tours her soul.-----

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    A Book to Take You Away

    +It was the kind of day when even the lost believed. When possibilities were larger than reason, when potential was grander than circumstance, when the long dark days of doubt were suddenly cast off and laid to rest. Brushed away with a smile and a certainty. And in this moment, from this place, you knew the real magic could happen."

    Okay, I started this at around 11:30 last night (my husband was snoring), and ended up staying up till 2 am to finish it. If you were as attracted to this very first paragraph in the book as I was, you will want to run to the library and get Saints in Limbo by River Jordan. This is the first book I've read by her, but am eager to read more from this wonderful storyteller. I did not know this book was christian fiction--it is definitely the good variety of christian fiction. I didn't think it was smarmy at all. I truly dislike smarmy christian fiction! She uses wonderful language as well, something that is often missing from many genres of books. For example:

    "The firstborn leaves of March had sprouted into the tiniest sea of baby green. The world was breathing in and out, moving everything in its path slightly, and on due course, with a gentle, four-edges-of-the-earth kiss."

    Isnt' that great? I'm not going to return this book to the library for a while, it's worth a re-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    This book will leave you pondering the message long after you've closed its cover.

    Our unlikely heroine is Velma. She is mourning the recent death of her husband. She has agoraphobia. She will leave her home only when she is low on supplies. On her birthday a stranger gives her a special rock. The purpose of the rock is to allow her relive portions of her past. She can no chose which memories she will relive and not all memories are pleasant. Through reliving her memories, Velma discovers hope and courage for her life has meaning.

    An evil wants possession of her gift.

    Saints in Limbo is not your typical story. I'm not sure what genre it is. Part fantasy, part love story, part horror. River Jordan does not easy into the story line. She jumps in with both feet. Her style is almost prose. Her words have a rhyme to them. Each character comes to life on the page. This book will leave you pondering the message long after you've closed its cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    This is an awesome read

    There isn't much I can add after reading all the great reviews except that once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down. It's a wonderful story that kept me guessing right until the end.
    A very enjoyable read.
    Lorraine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    I LOVED THIS DAZZLING, INTRIGUING STORY!!

    River Jordan cas created a beautifully descriptive story of life, love and hope for the future. Widowed Velma True's fears and doubts render it impossible for her to leave her homestead. On her birthday, Velma wishes she could just do her life all over again. A mysterious stranger gifts her with a magical rock, which has the ability to take her deep inside her cherished memories. Ms. Jordan brilliantly entwines the destinies of each of the people in Velma's life, as they share in her steps toward conquering her fears. With its mesmerizing, lyrical diction, I found myself completely captivated...and wishing the story didn't have to end. I truly loved this book because I could empathize with Velma's emotional pain. You must read this enthralling novel and share it with others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rare Blend of Mystery, Magic, Metaphor, and Melody

    River Jordan has an amazing way of pulling you in and making you believe mysterious, other-worldly 'things' in Saints in Limbo, and I don't quite know how she does it. (But then that's the genius of her writing.) I think it sneaks up on you while you're sleeping, while her captivating characters are playing their tunes and haunting your dreams. Her story is compellingly melodic and a deep look into the heart and soul of human relationships - well, maybe even some not so human.

    "Strange what age does to a person. Sets him free of every regular demand and then turns right around and ties him down again in fear." These words by Jordan are what this book exemplifies, and as we, readers, emerge ourselves in this tale as members of an extended family in Echo, Florida, we all struggle with this perplexing notion. River coaxes us to come 'round, too, as she nudges her characters toward enlightenment.

    Now who would believe Velma, an old southern woman, can't venture beyond the length of the colored strings she's tied to her front porch? But you begin to realize these strings are the ties that bind, her memories. Then Jordan wants you to believe in the magical beauty of transformation as the simple, smooth rock Velma was given by a strange, shape-shifting fellow, who has inexplicable way of appearing out of nowhere and disappearing into thin air at will, glows and pulsates toward self-discovery for everyone in her riveting story...And you do believe. And we know the spirit is set free when we stop hiding from the truth and allowing fear to overwhelm us.

    Early on, Velma's son Rudy, who loves to love women and hasn't done much more than that with his life, and ultimately realizes he's never given his mother much supportive thought, says, "Can't bury the past, Mama. It'll just keep pushing its way to the surface. You know that. And whatever those things are - scouts, you call 'em - well, they'll just come around trying to dig it up." In the end, Rudy, understands the veracity of his own words as he teeters between known and unknown spaces and places. And so do we.

    Saints in Limbo should be made into a movie. It's heaven and hell, choice and redemption, growth and stagnation, fear and acceptance, and faith and denial all rolled into one heck of a lyrical ride through the enigmatic power of hope and love, where you're transported to another place, not another time. This story is for all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another River Jordan Success

    Loved Saints in Limbo. There's no one who won't recognize at least one of the characters in this one as your neighbor, friend, or first cousin. Totally down to earth people on a totally out of this world adventure. Completely believable - I even envy Velma her rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1