Customer Reviews for

Salamandastron (Redwall Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Salamandastron is THE BOOK

    One of the best books ever written!!! Enjoyed by kids and adults!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    typical Redwall action

    In the prologue to this fifth novel of Redwall, Ferahgo the Assassin, a weasel, has killed the badger lord Urthound and his wife Urthrun, leaving their two babies, one striped and the other white, to die of starvation. But do they die? Chapter one opens after many long seasons. Ferahgo and his Corpsemakers have slowly moved northward and are determined to capture Salamandastron, ruled by the badger lord Urthstripe and protected by the hares of the Long Patrol. However, Urthstripe’s daughter Mara runs away with one of the hares named Pikkle Ffloger. Ferahgo’s son Klitch tricks the two, and they are almost captured by the horde, but they escape, only to be deceived by a lizard named Slinkee who leads them to a group of cannibal toads under King Glagweb. However, they are rescued by Log-a-Log and his shrews, and together they set out to find the Blackstone, symbol of leadership among the shrews, which is now in the possession of the white “ghost badger” who lives on a mysterious island in the middle of a large lake. Their plan is then to head for Salamandastron and help in the fight against Ferahgo.
    Meanwhile, at Redwall, two deserters from Ferahgo’s army, Thura and Dingeye, are taken in, but after they accidentally kill Brother Hal they escape with the sword of Martin the Warrior, intending to return to Ferahgo. A young squirrel named Samkim and a molemaid named Arula set out after them. Shortly afterwards, however, the abbey is plagued with Dryditch Fever, so the otter Thrugg and his little friend Dumble, a dormouse babe, set off for the Mountains of the North, ruled over by the golden eagle Wild King McPhearsome, to find Icetor Flowers which are said to cure the fever. After Thura dies of Dryditch fever and Dingeye is killed by the fox Dethbrush, whom Ferahgo had sent out to find them, Samkim and Arula, along with another group of shrews under the leadership of Alfoh, chase after Dethbrush, who now has the sword and is trying to escape in a boat through the same lake where Mara, Pikkle, and Log-a-Log have gone searching for the Blackstone. Will Samkim and Arula recover the sword of Martin the Warrior? Will Mara and Pikkle get the Blackstone back for Log-a-Log? Will Thrugg and Dumble return fever cure in time to save Redwall? And what will happen in the battle for Salamandastron?
    Some people may find the plot a little confusing, because the chapters go back and forth describing the activities of Urthstripe and Ferahgo at Salamandastron, of Mara and Pikkle on their journey as they look for the Blackstone, of Samkim and Arula in their search for the sword, of the Redwallers as they deal with the Dryditch Fever, and of Thrugg and Dumble seeking the Icetor Flowers. However, the story is told so well, in Jacques’ inimitable style, that this should not be too much of a problem for most readers. The “veiled curse du jour” of this particular Redwall book is “hellsteeth.” There are also a few common euphemisms and childish slang terms, such as gosh, darn, and “frogsbum.” Otherwise, it has the usual strong sense of good versus evil, with no lack of villains to overcome and a host of quaint characters, such as Furgle, Tubgutt, Nordo, Spriggat, and Rocangus, to work together in overcoming them—and a few surprises along the way. I especially liked the way that Mara eventually comes to understand the truth, even though in the end it's too late to do anything about it. That happens in real life sometimes. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    Redwall Books

    I enjoy reading Redwall books. All of the books touch my heart and have a way with me. I am an animal lover! I love these Redwall books and totally recommend them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    Salamandastron Book Review.

    A fun to read book about animals that live like people and have a large war over the mountian Salamandastron. The main characters are Mara,Urthstripe,Ferahgo,Pikkle,Log-a-Log,and Thrugg.The story is split up into three parts, redwall,Salamandastron,and Ferahgo (who travels). Ferahgo is the antagonist, Redwallers and Salamandastron beasts are the protagonists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My First Redwall Book Many Years Ago

    This was the first Redwall book that I read way back in 1993 and I have been a fan and in love with the series for all these years. I can always count on the Redwall books when I am having a hard time in life and when things are going great. Salamandastron holds a special place in my heart because it was the first Redwall book I discovered. I love the way the feasts and food are described and I love how the good guys are good and the bad guys are bad. I love the descriptions and the writing style and I will be a fan of these books for the rest of my life. These books are real treats to read and welcome treasures for any bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    Salmandastron

    Want to read an action packed book and see who wins the war of good versus evil? Salamandastron a fantasy adventure store is full of mystical creatures, chaotic battles, and jaw dropping secrets. The author Brain Jacques use suspense, foreshadowing, to set the mood of this story. In this story badger King Lord Urthshripe and his loyal fighting hares have to protect Salamandstron, his mountain fortes and home and sanctuary, from Ferahago a sly and evil weasel with his army of rat's stoat's foxes and other villains to try to take the great badger treasure from the mountain. Urthsripe is a large badger who is very strong and have won many battles before protecting salamandastron, His fellow hares like Sergeant Sapwood and Oxeye are fearless and great in battle, Sergeant Sapwood was king boxing champion of salamandstron. Sergeant Sapwood and Oxeye and good friends of Lord Urthshripe that agree to watch over his daughter while she is on her adventure. Mean while Lord Urthshripes daughter Mara and her trusty companion and dear friend Pikkle have run away from salamandstron after a fight with her father and after escaping Ferahargos horde are on their own adventure to try and help save their home. Mara is your typical teenage girl I mean badger she gets emotional and is defiant of her father and runs away but she also has hidden strength that she never knew she had that she uncovers along the way that comes in great use. Salamandstrons neighboring friendly Red wall is also having some trouble as well; they have found the great ancient sword of Martin the Warrior there hero and inspiration during a thunderstorm but are soon stolen by two of ferahargos stoats. Two of the youngest but bravest redwallers aurla and samkin have gone out on an adventure to recover the sword of martin the warrior, full of danger but with friends the overcome many obstacles. Samkin and aurla are best friends that stand up for one another and watch each other's back; Samkin is the one who finds the sword of Martin the Warrior during the storm on the festival of name day. Samkin and Aurla decide it is there job to set out and take back martin's sword from the villainous horde that took it from them in the begging. Ferahargos is a weasel with big blue eyes and is one of the most feared assassins alive, his horde is full of villains that are scared of him and he motivates him by making examples of certain individuals in the story witch become fatal. This book is full of suspense for example there will be an epic battle scene and someone might be right about to die and then it will shift gears over to what's happening in red wall, it definitely keeps you reading to see what's going to happen next. Overall this is my favorite of the red wall series just because I am sucker for all the blood and guts and big battles scenes and I enjoyed reading it. I recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy adventure with lots of action-packed battles. I give this book a thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    This was my favorite redwall book so far!!!

    The tale of the battle of salamadastron was epic. The book had great charecters like King Urthstripe the badger lord tat resides there. This book had the best action sceanes out of all the redwall books i have read so far. the story of the mysterious grnd moutain of badger kings has finally been revealed in all of its greatness. This book was one of Brian Jacques best tales of redwall and I highly recomend it to any new fans of the seies or any long time fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    The Best

    This book is the best book book in the series (other than High Rhulain. I haven't read that yet)! The battle at the end was stunning, as was the death of the Lord Urthstripe. Still, his brother will be a good replacement. Shocking. Amazing. Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    Great book,

    I am a big fan of Redwall, but this book has always been my all time favorite. I like this one much more than any other book Jacques has done, and for good reason. The story is terrific, and the characters and character development is superb. I do feel that towards the end the story is rushed a little bit, but it doesn't affect the book much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    read only for free choice.

    Here i am, alone one weekend, nothing to do. All the books on my shelf have been read atleast five times, exept for... SALAMANDASTRON. But of course I'm not supposed to read ahead. Oh well. I finished half the book in one thrilling, battle filled day. as with any redwall book, it's an entralling read. a wonderful book for anyone hoping to escape the real for a period of time. the battles are rich, vibrant and horrible, the protagonists wise, cheery and enspiring, the enemys vile, believable, and fist clenching. another Brian Jacques masterpiece. I highly recomend this book for children my age (eleven) and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    BEST BOOK SINCE MARLFOX AND REDWALL!!

    This was a great book. It was cool to read about the war at Salamandastron and them finding the skeleton of Lord Brocktree. Urthstripe seemed to know Brocktree's bones were the way to find the treasure. What I don't understand is Pikkle's part at Redwall? I mean what was he the Redwall champion eater or something like that? Anyhow, this was a good book Mr.Jaques. Keep writing more good Redwall books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Amazing, suspense filled adventure

    In the story a badger named Urthstipe is having family problems with his stepdaughter Mara. Mara runs away with her friend Pickle Folger but before Urthstripe can react, he realizes that he has bigger problems to deal with when Ferahgo the Assasin and his army of corpsemakers attack his fortress, Salamandastron. At Redwall Abbey two friends, Samkin and Arula, set out to recover the stolen sword of Martin The Warrior. Little do they know that a deadly disease known as Dryditch fever creeps into the Abbey and infects many of its inhabitants. Thrugg the otter and the baby dormouse Dumble must go to the Northern Mountains to gather the only known curse for the fever, the fabled flowers of Icetor. This book was like none I¿ve read before. It ranks high among the list of my favourite books because of its intricate plot and unpredictable characters. Like in one part of the story one second the shrew Tubgutts is threatening to kill Mara and the next, he vows to forever be in her debt. I also loved the things that didn¿t play an important role in the story at all but they make it so much more interesting. My favourite example of this is when Tubbgutts and Pickle have a scoffing, or eating, contest and Tubbgutts gets so full he passes out and Pickle is just sitting there eating away. The book was great even until the very last moments because Brian Jacques made sure we knew what happened to every character and where they settled, sort of like an afterword. If you ever get a chance to read this you should because it is great for older children and even adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    Amazing, suspense filled adventure.

    Lord Urthstripe of Salamandastron is having problems dealing with his rebelious adopted daughter Mara. He soon relizes he has bigger problems to deal with when Ferahgo the Assasin and his army of corpsemakers come knocking on his door in search of the great badger treasure. Meanwhile at Redwall Abbey the Abbey dweller's quiet and peaceful life is disturbed by the dreaded Dryditch Fever. As the Abbey's loses residents a brave Abbey dweller goes out to find the only known cure for the fever, the fabled flowers of Icetor, before it is too late. Will Ferahgo rule Salamandastron? Will the Abbey recover from the fever? Read the book to find out! I personally greatly enjoyed the book and the only time it was out of my sight was when i was done. The suspense of leaving one part of the storyline to visit anothers at a very crucial point in the story, like when Mara and her best friend Pickle were surrounded by corpsemakers and then the story suddenly turned its attention to the Abbey made me want to read more until I finally finished the book. The story was filled with things that would make you laugh and cry, yet never seemed to bore me. This book is a must read for all Brian Jacques fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    BEST BOOK SERIES EVER!!!

    Once I started reading it, I couldn`t put it down! Redwall is one of the best series EVER. I highly recommend it to people who like exciting, wonderfully creative, novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    It was so good!

    I started to read it and read about 25 pages then stopped. Then a few weeks later i picked it up again and thought it was one of the most coolest things I ever read! The reason I don't call it my favorite is because all these books are great and I can't just pick favorites out of Brian Jacques books. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    This Book Was AWESOME

    This book was awesome! Very exciting and suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Sweetness!

    I loved this book! It is probably my favorite in the series that I've read so far(or at least among my favorites)! A suspenseful adventure with a bittersweet ending! Everyone who is a fan of Redwall... no... everyone PERIOD should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    A darkly vivid tale from the Redwall treasury

    As I said, this story is darkly vivid, but more importanetly, has the greatest character development in Redwall in my opinion. I think Jacques is a great writer, his books inspired me to write(and read), I hold much credit to them. Salamanderstron is a chronicle in which the villain for once has nothing to do with Redwall, and most likely does not know it exists. The point is that the villain, the unmerciful Ferahgo the Assassin who has a deceptive smile, is focused on the mountain stronghold, Salamanderstron. This was the first Redwall with that type of conflict, but the Redwallers are not left out of the peril. After the Sword Of Martin was stolen by two bumbling (yet likeable) buffoons, Samkin and Arula (two perilous young'ns) set out to retrieve it. Their adventure intertwines with the character, Mara's desperate escape from Salamanderstron's dull lifestlyle. The greatness of this book is truly its characters, from the adorable dibbun Dumble, to the monstrous Deepcoiler. Read it, not just because of its full-scale battles, perils, and thrills, read it to find out what shall happen to our heroes, who will pay the ultimate price, who will suffer for the losses, and who shall learn the most from it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    HOW COULD YOU NOT READ IT!?!?!?!?

    I LOVED it! My friend and I try to see who's going to get the next book in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Thumbs-Up

    The tear in your eye that slowly drips down your cheeks when the brave badger lord passes on fighting with his his own long patroll hares, thats what makes the redwall books wonderful. When the mice,moles,shrews and squirls unite together with the other creatures of Mossflower to free the lands of evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3