Customer Reviews for

Salamandastron (Redwall Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    OH GOD! HOW COULD YOU PASS THIS MASTERPIECE UP?

    Brian Jacues has really made a good un this time! Gotta love it! My fav series! I reccomend all of his books! Great stuff these are! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    There's a reason this book keeps on popping up at the top of the Redwall bestseller list

    This book is the most diverse of all the Redwall books. There's awesome cliffhangers and awesome characters (Dumble Rules). And it takes an author with skill like Brian Jacques to make a book with SIX suspenseful story lines. (Thrugg and Dumble, Samkim and Arula, Mara and Pikkle, Ferahgo and Klitch, Dingheye and Thura, and Big Oxeye and Seargeant Sapwood).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    One of the greatest books. ever!!

    This book is very good and informing about the misterious mountain that has been ruled for ages by Badger Lord of the Ancient. I fully recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    5 Stars? More like 1,000,000 Stars!

    Awsome book! Brian Jacques out did himself. I could feel allthe moods of the animals. Definitly my favorite. My favorite part was when Mara added "father" to Lord Urthstripe's titles. TWO THUMBS UP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    Fabb-you-liss Salamandastron

    Salamandastron by Brian Jacques Salamandastron is about how an assasin named Ferahgo hears about the treasure of Salamandastron. So he sends his evil son Klitch and his friend Goffa to Redwall Abbey. They take them in and give them food and Klitch and Goffa make two badger friends named Mara and Pikkle. They get Mara and Pikkle to follow them through the desert. Then they run away and get captured by a frog king. Ferahgo sends in a poisoner to poison Lord Urthstripe. But all attempts fail as they poison a young lad named Starrbob. They know that there is a poisoner in the mountain and become very cautios.But Ferahgo gets so caught up with in killing that he no longer is interested in the treasure. He goes to war with Salamandastron and he gets his butt kicked. You'll have to read more if you are interested in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    One of the best redwall books EVER, very emotional, and heart-pounding

    Mr. Jaques really outdid himself this time. I think this is one of his best works. Wonderful plot, and a very emotional ending. 2 thumbs up, and 5 stars!!!! Definitely a MUST for girls who read redwall!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Awsome Series

    Salamandastron is an awsome book with humour and adventure that will put you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Redwall fans come one come all! Forget Hairy Potter and read this book!

    You don't need a review just read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2002

    6 star rating

    This is one of the best book I've read from the redwall series. Ferahgo the Assasin was truly evil. This is a good book for anyone who loves adventure and a great suspense thriller. Truly one of Brian's best. I would recomend this book to anyone who loves GREAT BOOKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Awesome Book

    One of Brian's best books! Excellent and intense. Great for the younger and teen kids. Excellent characters and plot. I love the badger and the Salamandastron mountain. The adventure is heart-thumping!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    bobs review 2

    an outstanding tale from redwall of salamandastron in the struggle against ferahgo the assassin and his hord of corpsmakers. it may start out slow at first but once you get into it i'm sure it'll quickly become an all time fave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2001

    Salamandastron, an extrodinary book.

    I'm a big fan of Brian Jacques. But I must say that this was his best book yet. Very well written, like all of his other books. Interesting stories within it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Salarocks alot is more like it

    If you like the story behind the tresaure of salamandastron...buy this book!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2001

    it is a very good book

    if i were you i would by this book becus it has a lot of adventure and it also is a very funny book. it is a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    One of the Best

    Hi My name is Tim I am a Redwall fan I have all the books except Luke the warrior and Mariel of Redwall. I thought this book was very very good. If you like tons of adventure and action then this is your book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    Adventurous

    I read it two years ago and it remains my favorite of Brian's books until today. I can't wait to read his newest book, Lord Brocktree. I hope it is as exciting and mysterious as Salamandastron.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2000

    Astonishing!!!!!

    Of all the Redwall tales I've read and collected (which is all of them), Salamandastron is by far my favorite. It has everything a Redwall series fan could hope for. Heroism, comedy, swashbuckling adventure, and of course, FOOD. Salamandastron was my first Redwall book to read, and it captured my attention from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    Couldn't put it down

    'With a roar, Urthstripe flung himsef at Ferahgo, grabing and crushing him between his vise-like grip. Ferahgo sqeaked in fright and slashed visiously at Urthsripe with his skinning knives. With the wounds from the last battle still bleeding, now even more with the wounds inflicted by the knives, the badgerlord's eyes began to cloud over with Death mist...' Will Urthstripe survive and save the mountain Salamandastron from Ferahgo the Assasin? THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    Salamandastron

    This is possibly the best Redwall book in the series in my opinion. It has badgers, hares, battles, and adventure. if you like those topics, like I do, you will really like this book. It's about a badger lord named Urthstripe, his 'daughter' Mara (who he found as a young babe) and a Redwall squirrel named Samkin. Mara finds a young weasel who is the son of the assain Ferhago. She then brings him to Salamandastron and Urthstripe kicks him out. Then Mara leaves and one story turns into three. This is a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    Too good to be true

    This is an awesome book! A true must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3