Customer Reviews for

Salamandastron (Redwall Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    BEST BOOK SERIES EVER!!!

    Once I started reading it, I couldn`t put it down! Redwall is one of the best series EVER. I highly recommend it to people who like exciting, wonderfully creative, novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2004

    Truly Wonderful!

    Not one of the best,(I favor Rakkety Tam), but still awesome. Truly a story about the famous Salamandastron, and the Long Patrol. This includes my favorite creatures, and the all time battle cry, Eulaaaliiiaaa!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    It was so good!

    I started to read it and read about 25 pages then stopped. Then a few weeks later i picked it up again and thought it was one of the most coolest things I ever read! The reason I don't call it my favorite is because all these books are great and I can't just pick favorites out of Brian Jacques books. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    This Book Was AWESOME

    This book was awesome! Very exciting and suspenseful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    Sweetness!

    I loved this book! It is probably my favorite in the series that I've read so far(or at least among my favorites)! A suspenseful adventure with a bittersweet ending! Everyone who is a fan of Redwall... no... everyone PERIOD should read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    A darkly vivid tale from the Redwall treasury

    As I said, this story is darkly vivid, but more importanetly, has the greatest character development in Redwall in my opinion. I think Jacques is a great writer, his books inspired me to write(and read), I hold much credit to them. Salamanderstron is a chronicle in which the villain for once has nothing to do with Redwall, and most likely does not know it exists. The point is that the villain, the unmerciful Ferahgo the Assassin who has a deceptive smile, is focused on the mountain stronghold, Salamanderstron. This was the first Redwall with that type of conflict, but the Redwallers are not left out of the peril. After the Sword Of Martin was stolen by two bumbling (yet likeable) buffoons, Samkin and Arula (two perilous young'ns) set out to retrieve it. Their adventure intertwines with the character, Mara's desperate escape from Salamanderstron's dull lifestlyle. The greatness of this book is truly its characters, from the adorable dibbun Dumble, to the monstrous Deepcoiler. Read it, not just because of its full-scale battles, perils, and thrills, read it to find out what shall happen to our heroes, who will pay the ultimate price, who will suffer for the losses, and who shall learn the most from it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    HOW COULD YOU NOT READ IT!?!?!?!?

    I LOVED it! My friend and I try to see who's going to get the next book in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Thumbs-Up

    The tear in your eye that slowly drips down your cheeks when the brave badger lord passes on fighting with his his own long patroll hares, thats what makes the redwall books wonderful. When the mice,moles,shrews and squirls unite together with the other creatures of Mossflower to free the lands of evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    OH GOD! HOW COULD YOU PASS THIS MASTERPIECE UP?

    Brian Jacues has really made a good un this time! Gotta love it! My fav series! I reccomend all of his books! Great stuff these are! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    This is the Best yet!!

    I thought that Martin The Warrior and Mosflower was awesome, but this is just too good to be called great! I love the way the badger lords like Sunflash the mase, Boar , constance, orlando, Cregga, Rawnblade,Urtwhite, and Lord Brocktree of Brock Hall reacted to things that were not right, but this book is just too good!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    There's a reason this book keeps on popping up at the top of the Redwall bestseller list

    This book is the most diverse of all the Redwall books. There's awesome cliffhangers and awesome characters (Dumble Rules). And it takes an author with skill like Brian Jacques to make a book with SIX suspenseful story lines. (Thrugg and Dumble, Samkim and Arula, Mara and Pikkle, Ferahgo and Klitch, Dingheye and Thura, and Big Oxeye and Seargeant Sapwood).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2003

    One of the greatest books. ever!!

    This book is very good and informing about the misterious mountain that has been ruled for ages by Badger Lord of the Ancient. I fully recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    5 Stars? More like 1,000,000 Stars!

    Awsome book! Brian Jacques out did himself. I could feel allthe moods of the animals. Definitly my favorite. My favorite part was when Mara added "father" to Lord Urthstripe's titles. TWO THUMBS UP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    Fabb-you-liss Salamandastron

    Salamandastron by Brian Jacques Salamandastron is about how an assasin named Ferahgo hears about the treasure of Salamandastron. So he sends his evil son Klitch and his friend Goffa to Redwall Abbey. They take them in and give them food and Klitch and Goffa make two badger friends named Mara and Pikkle. They get Mara and Pikkle to follow them through the desert. Then they run away and get captured by a frog king. Ferahgo sends in a poisoner to poison Lord Urthstripe. But all attempts fail as they poison a young lad named Starrbob. They know that there is a poisoner in the mountain and become very cautios.But Ferahgo gets so caught up with in killing that he no longer is interested in the treasure. He goes to war with Salamandastron and he gets his butt kicked. You'll have to read more if you are interested in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    One of the best redwall books EVER, very emotional, and heart-pounding

    Mr. Jaques really outdid himself this time. I think this is one of his best works. Wonderful plot, and a very emotional ending. 2 thumbs up, and 5 stars!!!! Definitely a MUST for girls who read redwall!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    Awsome Series

    Salamandastron is an awsome book with humour and adventure that will put you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Redwall fans come one come all! Forget Hairy Potter and read this book!

    You don't need a review just read the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2002

    6 star rating

    This is one of the best book I've read from the redwall series. Ferahgo the Assasin was truly evil. This is a good book for anyone who loves adventure and a great suspense thriller. Truly one of Brian's best. I would recomend this book to anyone who loves GREAT BOOKS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2002

    Awesome Book

    One of Brian's best books! Excellent and intense. Great for the younger and teen kids. Excellent characters and plot. I love the badger and the Salamandastron mountain. The adventure is heart-thumping!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2002

    bobs review 2

    an outstanding tale from redwall of salamandastron in the struggle against ferahgo the assassin and his hord of corpsmakers. it may start out slow at first but once you get into it i'm sure it'll quickly become an all time fave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4