Customer Reviews for

Salem Falls

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Best Book I Ever Read

This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasp...
This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasped aloud. You will love this book!!!!

posted by PiccoultFan on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was not nearly as good as her other books. Took a long time to try to get into "it". Turns out there was no " it". Usually really like her books though.

posted by 6141890 on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book I Ever Read

    This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasped aloud. You will love this book!!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of my Faves!

    This has to be one of my favorites so far by Jodi Picoult. I did not want to put this book down, I just wanted to keep reading to find out what happens! I was so absorbed in Jack's character and the struggles he went through being wrongfully accused of something. This was a great book that kept the pages turning while revealing unexpecting circumstances. She peels back the layers throughout the whole book until you are left at the end with an unexpected twist.especially in this one! Picoult chooses great topics for her books and intertwines crime, truth, and romance all at once. She does a wonderful job writing and I would recommend this book to anyone!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Excellent!

    While this one started off slow, it really picked up the pace about a third of the way in. After that, I could not put it down. The characters are complex and I am always amazed at how well the author researches topics and writes so effortlessly about them. While the ending was a tad predictable, the whole story was amazing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    another good one from Jodi

    As always I can not put her books down until the end. She has interesting characters and great writing style. I felt this story was probably not very realistic in many ways but made for an interesting story to make a point. The only problem I have with this author is that the story gets a little long about 3/4 of the way thru and could be a little shorter. I think there is too much repetition of conversations toward the end.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Love it!

    Could not put this book down. I fell in love with Jack. Looking forward to reading her other books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    Fantastic

    My husband gave me this book a few years ago before Ms. Picoult became such a hit. I was immediately caught by the story and have gone on to read all her books. I bought this copy to give as a gift and to introduce another reader to her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    I was hooked within the first chapter.. kept me intrigued and guessing the whole way through. This book had my attention in the first chapter and kept it until the last, where as "My Sisters Keeper" and "The Pact" (both amazing books) took awhile to get into and to understand the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book Packed with Exciting Events and Lessons to Think About

    This is the first book I've read by Jodi Picoult. I have to say...I feel she's a good writer, and based on this book I'm compelled to read a few more of her novels. <BR/><BR/>Salem Falls was good, not GREAT where I can't stop thinking about it, but good. There were a couple of events that happened where you think, "You've got to be kidding me!! No one could be that unlucky!" or "Seriously Jack, as innocent as it seems, what were you thinking?!" But you just have to look past those head bangers to understand the story. <BR/><BR/>The book is a loose translation/modern version of The Crucible, which involves a witch hunt of some sort. Jack St. Bride is the main character of the story, and I did come to feel compassion for him. The story kicks off with him being released from prison where he served a sentence for statutory rape. A crime that unfortunately he didn't commit. He goes to Salem Falls to seize a fresh start. Through forces outside of his control, that just doesn't happen. Jack is targeted by the folks of Salem Falls for the events of his past, and they want him out of their town and are willing to go to extreme measures to see it happen.<BR/><BR/>Why did I take away one star? Two reasons (1) the head bangers I referred to above and (2) the story is unfolded through a series of flashbacks. Flashbacks in storytelling are always difficult for me because I like a steady stream of chronological information. However, I have to admit it does serve its purpose in this story because with every flashback, there was a clear example of Jack¿s regard for women based on events, experiences and people in his life.<BR/><BR/>The book makes you think about several things, such as whether or not you are really able to reinvent yourself and put your past behind you, the effect that lies have on people and how they can harm and destroy lives, and lastly IMO the influence the others have in your life and how they shape your decisions.<BR/><BR/>Good book, definitely worth the investment of time and attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Was not nearly as good as her other books. Took a long time to try to get into "it". Turns out there was no " it". Usually really like her books though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    highly recommend

    What a book, this was the first book that I have read by Jodi Picoult and I wondered why it took me so long to read her books. She keeps you on your toes, up late reading because the read is too good to put down, I have ordered three more books by this author because her writing is so spellbinding, she is a new favorite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great novel predictable at times

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Addicting, couldn't put down...

    This was the first book by Picoult that I have ever read and it was this book that convinced me that Jodi Picoult was my new favorite author. I have bought many other of her books since reading this one and I still feel as though this was my favorite so far.

    The characters are interesting and convincing. The plot will make you want to keep reading even after you know you should cut yourself off and turn out the lights to get some sleep before getting up to rush off to work. I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mysterious mind bending plot. It will keep you guessing until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Review of Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult

    Jack St. Bride goes on a unexcuseable journey through the justice system on hopes of exposing the truth. After coming out of a 8 month setence, Jack starts anew in Salem Falls where love is unexpectedly exposed. But once again Jack's past follows him. As Jack goes through his own personal struggle, the reader gets absorbed. This book, like most books by Jodi Picoult, is a joy to read. The reader becomes absorbed in crime, scandal, romance, and truth. This book is a great page turner that goes in-depth to expose unexpected circumstances. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2010

    Amazing

    I love this book!! Like all her other books this is shocking and hard too put down. I love how she picks crazy topics that everyone else is too scared to even get near. Her books are really something and I would tell anyone too read this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Jodi Picoult = Amazing

    I am a huge Jodi Picoult fan, so I suppose I'm a bit biased, but this was a very good book! It kept me guessing and had me reading whenever I could. This was the book I stayed up until 4 in the morning to finish, just because I HAD to know. I'm not a huge fan of the way the narration switches between characters so frequently, but it's easy to forgive once you get into it. The plot is very well-developed, and the motivation behind the characters is true to real life. I don't know of many people who would start reading this book (or any other Picoult book, for that matter!) and not finish it! Definately reccommended :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great book!

    wow! jodi picoult writes amazing literature. her books are so complex and posess many different layers....her books are like an onion, and you have to peel back the layers and see what is really at the core. i couldnt put this book down! it was great i would recommend it to anyone. if you love the story of someone wronged put to justice with romance and intrigue this would be the book for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    waste of time

    I was so excited to read this book, being that I own 3 of her others... but it wasn't what I expected at all. It was so slow, I ended up just bringing it back half read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    My favorite

    If you like the courtroom scenes then you'll love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Great read

    It had me questioning innocence and guilt throughout. Great read from cover to cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18