BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Salem Falls

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Book I Ever Read

This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasp...
This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasped aloud. You will love this book!!!!

posted by PiccoultFan on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

waste of time

I was so excited to read this book, being that I own 3 of her others... but it wasn't what I expected at all. It was so slow, I ended up just bringing it back half read.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Page turner

    I could not put this book down. I read it in three days between work and chores. The characters were great this was a great twist and turn type of story. I cried i laughed and honestly got so angry with the way poor jack suffered. Id def recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Amazing

    Just when I thought Jodi couln't get any better at it. Adored evrything about this book, it won't let you down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Brilliantly Written.

    Started off slow, but towards the end you won't want to stop reading. While reading it, you get caught up in the truths and numerous lies that the characters have weaved; the suspense builds up in not knowing what is fact or fiction. This book exceptionally demonstrated how the truth may not set you free from the opinions of others, but the truth can be exonerating. Up until the last word on the last page, this book will leave you gasping in excitement and surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I am only 63 pages into the book and I can't see myself finishi

    I am only 63 pages into the book and I can't see myself finishing it. I can't stand that there are no chapters and it keeps jumping between stories from paragraph to paragraph, it is hard to keep up. My mother read this and said not to give up on it but I just can't finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    This book is an amazing and fast read!! Once I started I couldn'

    This book is an amazing and fast read!! Once I started I couldn't stop and now I compare other stories for the thrill that i felt while reading this book. The way Jodi Picoult writes makes you feel you are apart of the town and the characters lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Didn't Keep Me Spellbound

    I usually like Jodi Piccoult, but this one didn't do it for me. I found several editing problems (a man with a vasectomy still produces semen). A lot of it, I just couldn't buy. I don't recommend this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Scary how the mind works!

    Great work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Awesome read

    This book really brings to life the old adage that , You cant judge a book by its cover. I thought lots of things when i read this book but mostly i thought about the sadness of people suffering alone in silence and about being judged because of what people think they know. Jodi Piccoult is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors! I also recommend her book 'Plain Truth'. Happy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    I saw the movie first, thinking it'd be real interesting and mys

    I saw the movie first, thinking it'd be real interesting and mysterious, considering it was closely related to the Salem Witch Trials; a story I couldn't get enough of. I really want to read the book, but sometimes it's hard to read a book after seeing the movie. I find it always easier to see a movie compared to a book, but I'm hoping it's just as gripping as the film. I just love Jodi's writing. (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you’re looking for a Picoult novel minus the emotional

    If you’re looking for a Picoult novel minus the emotional tears you’ve found a contender. Like most of her plots this one comes with it’s own twists and turns. You know that until the final page there’s always room for a plot point you never saw coming. Picoult plays the reader by revealing critical information so slowly you’re dying to have the whole picture. Right. Now.

    I’ll admit this book starts a little slower than I expected. It definitly took about 50 to 70 pages (till the first twist happens) to really get hooked. What keeps you glued to the story is the need to find out if Jack really did it. I swear there were several points where I wanted to throw the book against a wall…

    “He couldn’t have done it!!! Could he??? Ahh!”

    Mind you, my frustration was exacerbated by the fact that my assistant had just read the book…She knew the ending! You have no idea how badly I wanted to get the ending from her; how many times I begged for her to tell me if Jack did it! She’s a woman of strength though, and managed to restrain herself from spilling the beans.

    I have a special place in my heart for the Salem Witch Trials. They were the focus of my minor in Women’s Studies. Some really cray cray stuff. I loved the way Picoult picked and chose which parts of the historical situation she pulled out exact and which she remixed in a new way. The choice to include an actual Wiccian Coven in the book was very cool. The part they played; remixed and interesting.

    As much as I enjoyed the book a few parts didn’t do it for me. It was actually the fact that she was a little grandiose in her characterization and motivations that the plot fell a bit flat. Some of the conversations were so dramatic as to feel forced. Like it was trying too hard; stressing too much. Plus the real bad guy never gets his due.

    3.5/5 Worth the addictive read…even if it doesn’t work perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Great

    Loved it....the ending was a shocker.....great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Enjoyed Salem Falls

    I enjoyed this book and it was hard to put down. I didn't like the writing style in the beginning, but got the hang of it after a while. The ending was a surprise. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good One by Jodi Picoult!

    This book had me reading every spare minute I got. I couldn't wait to see what happened. Jack St. Bride is accused of raping a girl and spends 8 months in prison on a plea bargain. He moves to Salem Falls to start his life over and he is accused again of rape. This time the girl is a spoiled little rich "daddy's girl" with lots of time on her hands. Gillian and her friends are dabbling into the occult and practicing a Wiccan Religion. The town is in an uproar when they hear that Jack was convicted on a previous rape charge. They don't want Jack there ... he's beaten up, ignored and ostracized. The only person who sees his true self is Addie. Just a little side note - I loved the fact that Jack was a Jeopardy genius. This book had me guessing all the way through ... did he ... didn't he? A very good read. I highly recommend it. It does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Another great one

    Like all of her books I have read, this one did not disappoint.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good read

    Very suspenseful from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Could not put this book down, stayed up late every night reading page after page. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Loved this book

    I finished this book days ago and I'm still thinking about it. The book is full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing the entire time. I've read several of Jodi's books and consider this my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Blah

    I love Jodi but felt something missing, especially in the end. I liked the young characters and their manipulative ways but the ending was expected and just didnt give me more.....felt like something was missing through the entire book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Not bad

    The idea and the way she writes it is stunning, but the story is kind of old since it's been told so many times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Love

    Does anyone else find themselves totally in love with Jack St.Bride?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 345 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18