BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Salem Falls

Average Rating 4
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Book I Ever Read

This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasp...
This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasped aloud. You will love this book!!!!

posted by PiccoultFan on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

waste of time

I was so excited to read this book, being that I own 3 of her others... but it wasn't what I expected at all. It was so slow, I ended up just bringing it back half read.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you’re looking for a Picoult novel minus the emotional

    If you’re looking for a Picoult novel minus the emotional tears you’ve found a contender. Like most of her plots this one comes with it’s own twists and turns. You know that until the final page there’s always room for a plot point you never saw coming. Picoult plays the reader by revealing critical information so slowly you’re dying to have the whole picture. Right. Now.

    I’ll admit this book starts a little slower than I expected. It definitly took about 50 to 70 pages (till the first twist happens) to really get hooked. What keeps you glued to the story is the need to find out if Jack really did it. I swear there were several points where I wanted to throw the book against a wall…

    “He couldn’t have done it!!! Could he??? Ahh!”

    Mind you, my frustration was exacerbated by the fact that my assistant had just read the book…She knew the ending! You have no idea how badly I wanted to get the ending from her; how many times I begged for her to tell me if Jack did it! She’s a woman of strength though, and managed to restrain herself from spilling the beans.

    I have a special place in my heart for the Salem Witch Trials. They were the focus of my minor in Women’s Studies. Some really cray cray stuff. I loved the way Picoult picked and chose which parts of the historical situation she pulled out exact and which she remixed in a new way. The choice to include an actual Wiccian Coven in the book was very cool. The part they played; remixed and interesting.

    As much as I enjoyed the book a few parts didn’t do it for me. It was actually the fact that she was a little grandiose in her characterization and motivations that the plot fell a bit flat. Some of the conversations were so dramatic as to feel forced. Like it was trying too hard; stressing too much. Plus the real bad guy never gets his due.

    3.5/5 Worth the addictive read…even if it doesn’t work perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Enjoyed Salem Falls

    I enjoyed this book and it was hard to put down. I didn't like the writing style in the beginning, but got the hang of it after a while. The ending was a surprise. Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Not bad

    The idea and the way she writes it is stunning, but the story is kind of old since it's been told so many times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    great

    a good book but not one of jodi's best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    modern day witch hunt at it's best

    I found this book at my gym with a note that said "free book". I picked it up, started reading and it started out a little slow. I kept reading because it was a free book, and I am very glad that I kept reading it. The end of this book was exciting and twisted, and totally worth reading. This book was based on modern day witch hunt, and it was very well executed by Jodi Picoult. I felt myself feeling sorry for, angry at, and even rooting for Jack StBride at different points in this book. The story resolves and come to a close in the very last chapter, and the very end is something that in the back of my mind I suspected all along, but kept dismissing for one reason or another. You will not be disappointed by this book, and I am glad that someone left it behind. I recommend this book for anyone looking for a mystery and drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    kinda depressing

    i wasnt real happy with alot of the book. i hate when unfair things happen and i wanted the accusers to be punished throughout the book. the last half of the book got better. wasnt one of my favorite picoult books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    NOT HER BEST BOOK

    I had a lot of trouble reading this particular book usually I can not put her books down. I finish them in a week. This book took several months to finish. It bothered me a great deal. There are other book that she wrote that were better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Very Disturbing

    This was the first book I read by this author. It took me awhile to finish it. It wasn't horrible it kept my attention when I finally sat down to finish it. I was in utter shock with the ending. I chose to read another book of hers that I thought was good. That was the Plain Truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    Not Picoult's best

    This novel was pretty good, but some of her earlier novels definitely outshine this one. The plot was easy to hold on to, and the courtroom scenes were captivating, but my main problem was with Picoult's depiction of Wicca. She portrays it like the movie 'The Craft', rather than an actual religion. The girls are able to completely heal a man with a stroke overnight, as well as give one of their popular peers a brain tumor...yeah, right. It is almost insulting to actual Wiccans or those very familiar with the religion, and it also added an element close to fantasy to this otherwise well-written novel. Additionally, there were far too many characters who were referred to on a first-name basis, causing confusion and unnecessary research into previous parts of the book to refresh one's memory. Pick up this novel if you are a huge Picoult fan, otherwise get one of her earlier novels instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    Salem Falls

    I am currently reading the book, and while it is pretty good...it's not my favorite. This is the first book I've read by Jodi Picoult, but look forward to reading many more. I got this one at the local library kind of by a mistake. I was looking to see if they had 'My Sister's Keeper' by the same author, but they didn't. I read the flap of this book, and thought, 'Why not?' I've not gotten all the way through this book yet, but I must say that some parts are hard to understand. There are many characters in this novel, and it is kind of hard to remember all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Not my favorite of her's

    I know everyone so far has written great reviews, but I have to say that this book was very hard to get through. There were so many story lines, characters, and things to remember, that I couldn't always get everything straight. It wasn't one of those books that I couldn't put down like some of Jodi Picoult's others. It still has a good general plot and very descriptive. Just not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2