Customer Reviews for

Salem Falls

Average Rating 4
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best Book I Ever Read

This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasp...
This is my all-time favorite book. Definately one of Jodi Piccoult's best, and I have read many of hers. This novel will have you re-thinking your opinions and impressions of people, a true tale of a modern-day witch-hunt. The ending shocked me to the point where I gasped aloud. You will love this book!!!!

posted by PiccoultFan on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Was not nearly as good as her other books. Took a long time to try to get into "it". Turns out there was no " it". Usually really like her books though.

posted by 6141890 on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Love

    Does anyone else find themselves totally in love with Jack St.Bride?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Delightful

    I have always been fascinated by the Salem withch trials and this is just a new twist on an old tale. Although I find Picoult's writing in this particular novel different from the others of which I've read I find it quiet refreshing. I would absolutely recomend this book to anyone who wishes to read a little darker side of Jodi Picoult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    An engrossing read. JP keeps my interest. Characters unfold in shrouds of mystery... one is always kept guessing

    Small town NH well depicted. Enjoy her style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    My favorite book by Jodi Picoult

    Intense reading( in a good way). Challenges everything you thought you were sure of. I can not find the words to describe how great this book is. You will be so amazed by this book that you will want to lend it to everyone you know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    pure awesomeness

    Despite what everyone else is saying about this book, 'It's so dissapointing.' I, on the other hand, totally disagree with them. They couldn't be more wrong about Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult. Salem Falls is an outstanding book to read. It's poignant somewhat but not so much and although the ending seemed a bit in a rush and it has that linger where it leaves you questioning, 'What next?' wanting more, I believe that you won't be dissapointed reading Salem Falls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Looovely

    Wow, this book kept me up all night. Jodi knows when to end scenes at the perfect moment and knows how to keep situations subtle, making the reader anticipate more. The situation that was brought forth in ending scene came across my mind once when I read about the semen on her thigh, but I wasn't sure. It really did shock me though, nontheless, and I believe this is one of the many great books jodi picoult has written. Must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    The First of Many

    This was the first Jodi Picoult book I read, and it will remain my all-time favorite. She has such a great ability to pull readers into her stories. Ever since Salem Falls, I have scoured my local library for her novels and keep buying them up at bookstores. I am well on my way to having a Jodi Picoult collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    Best by Jodi!

    This is my favorite book by Jodi Picoult. I almost didn't read it since of the magic that takes place, but I am happy I kept with it! It's a wonderful book and my personal favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book. The chemistry bettween Jack And Addie just pops off the page. I seriously reccomend this book with all of my heart.Again Picoult has produced another heart tugging book worth five stars(that is as far as i can go on here). READ IT!! You won't be disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Couldn't put it down

    I had this book finished in practically one sitting. What a great way to spend a Sunday. The characters are complex, and I alternated between feeling sorry for Jack, suspecting him, and getting angry for how careless he was being around teenage girls(being a middle school teacher myself, I know how carefully one has to act around children). Since I've read 4 of her other books now, I know her style, so I was able to guess some of the mysteries, but not all of them, and that's why I couldn't put the book down. I also predicted some things that never ended up happening. I love how Picoult takes a seemingly 'black and white' topic and blurs the lines. The thing about Picoult is that not only are her story lines fantastic and better than any mystery writer, she also writes beautifully about romance, parent-child relationships, etc. Her figurative language, her little saying...hmm...so thought-provoking. I'll read anything she writes, even if I don't like the plot, just because she is a word smith and a master of the language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    Warning: Highly Addictive Book!

    This was the first Jodi Picoult book I read and it was fantastic. I read this book in one sitting, unable to put it down. It kept me hooked until the very last sentence. After reading this one, I have also read My Sisters Keeper and Mercy, which are also wonderful books. I highly recommend reading Salem Falls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Oh My Gosh! AWESOME

    I am an avid reader of Picoult's books. This would have to be my second favorite because I dont think she can top: 'My Sister's Keeper.' However, as many pages as this book has I was able to read it in one week while working and tending to a spouse and an infant. Even when you think you have figured everything out....you are hit with a surprise after another surprise. Even down to the last sentence in the book..she hits you with another one. This book will be on my mind for a very long time. It was a sad, unforgettable story that could happen to anyone, especially a middle school teacher like myself. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    Better than a Law and Order episode :)

    This was an outstanding book! I was able to read this 400+page book in a couple of days! This story has you on the edge of your seat every page, and jolts you on the last page! Bravo Jodi!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Another wonderful book by Jodi Picoult

    This was another of Picoult's book that was hard to keep down. It was very action packed and a new discovery was made every page that just made me want to keep reading. I loved reading back into Jack's past which made you feel even sorrier for him or more angry at him. Your opinion on wether Jack was guilty or innocent of his crime changed ever chapter until you just stopped thinking about it until you finished the book. I've read many books by Picoult and I recommend every single one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    Jodi Picoult displays her wonderful talent yet again

    From the first sentence until the very last, this book was amazing, suspenseful, funny, smart, and much more. You get to see the characters from many perspectives, but it wasn't hard to follow. I read Salem Falls in less than one week. I found myself re-reading paragraphs over and over because I just didn't want it to end. It was her best novel yet. Plus, the best thing about her novels is the amount of knowledge you take with you once you're done reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Best book

    This is the greatest book that I have ever read. While it took a little time to get used to the way Jodi Picoult had Jack's memories included, I got used to it and found the memories to be great additions to the frontburner storyline. Jack and Addie both were wonderfully complex characters and Addie's rape and dead daughter also helped make the story great. I've read two other books that Picoult has written, The Pact and My Sister's Keeper, but neither book was quite as good as Salem Falls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    First Jodi Picoult Book, makes me want to read more!

    I loved reading the book 'Salem Falls.' My English teacher recommended it to me, and from start to finish, I loved it! My teacher also expressed to me, that people either love Jodi Picoult books, or they do not! I, was one of those people that loved! This book, was a love story, combined with magick, and other surprising elements! WOW, was what I said when I was done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2007

    Wonderful Book!!!!!

    I absoultely loved this book. This is my first Jodi Picoult book that I have read and I will most likely read another one of her novels. I loved how she did an homage to Arthur Miller's 'The Crucible' and mentioned of the Pagan religion of Wicca. I thought it was a creative way to collaborate all these ideas into a novel that is wonderfully wriiten. I couldn't put this book down. It was suspenseful, romantic, tragic and heartwarming. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2007

    Love her novels

    Since reading My sister's keeper (my first jodi picoult indulgence) I have been unable to put her books down. Salem Falls, for me, was such a great book. I learn so much from reading jodi's novels because she is one of those writers that you can tell puts a lot of effort into researching her topics. This book explores witchcraft, small town secrets, lies, truth, love and trust. It is truly a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    Another great Picoult book

    I really enjoy Jodi Picoult's books. I first started off reading The Pact a few years ago and got addicted. This summer I started catching up on some of her older novels and read Salem Falls. I thought it was great and I couldn't put it down. I love the way she has her stories unfold to keep your attention through the whole book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9