Customer Reviews for

'Salem's Lot

Average Rating 4.5
( 735 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(456)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Best Vampire Story Ever

This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. O...
This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. One night while I was reading it, I had my window open and I actually closed it because I was so scared. I have read Dracula by Bram Stoker, the original Vampire story, and in my opinion, this book is better. It started off a little slow but didn't take too long to get exciting and once that happened, the suspense and action kept on coming throughout the entire book.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not I.

It took me a while to read this book. It had some scenes that kept me captivated but not for long. I've read other King books that I loved, but not this one. There seemed to be a lot of rambling but not enough action. I create movies in my mind while I read. This "movi...
It took me a while to read this book. It had some scenes that kept me captivated but not for long. I've read other King books that I loved, but not this one. There seemed to be a lot of rambling but not enough action. I create movies in my mind while I read. This "movie" sucked. :)

posted by Lexy4553 on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 738 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What did Vampires ever do to you Mr. Stephen King??

    Count Suckula likes a good vampire book!! The kind where the vampire gets the girl, or the kind where the vampire is a superhero, or even the kind of story where the vampire is a teenage hottie who the high school girls can't resist!!

    However, Count Suckula don't likey that this tale KILLS all the vampires in some fairly gruesome ways when they infest this little town!!

    This is the classic vampire book and scary as HELL!! Stephen King is the master. Slow at first cause of the character dev. but don't stop reading cause it gets very bloody when the vamps show up finally!! Read this in the dark in the attic or your basement or a cemetary if you dare!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspensful

    A haunted house with an eerie past, unusual neighbors, and masterful storytelling from King, Salem's Lot brings vampire tales to the forefront of horror. Taking place in a remote town, suspicions arise over missing persons and odd deaths, leading a writer (who came to his hometown to finish his book and confront his own demons) to solve some of these weird occurences surrounding the unsuspecting folk of the Lot. Stephen King perfectly illustrates his talent and art of suspense. A great addition to your King collection.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Disappointing.

    I was disappointed in this book. I thought i'd be much better. There wasn't really anything catching in it to hook you to it. He could have done a better job writting this book. But, if you like vampire books just out some of the books I enjoyed.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Horror at its very best. (Ages15+)

    I am a huge fan of horror. It's all I read. I wanted to read a book I had never read before, but not be disappointed, so naturally I picked a Stephen King book I hadn't for some reason read yet.
    The second I started reading the first few chapters I knew it was good. It was taking a tiny bit to get to where the story really picks up, but when it does, it picks up big time.
    About a little over halfway through I had to stop reading because it got late and I was about to pass out. I was on the verge of severe nightmares that night. It took me forever to fall asleep. I don't know how I gathered enough courage to walk a couple steps to the bathroom.
    The horror in the book is so well written. It is in all of King's books. This one especially. It impacted me mentally and, as one that doesn't usually get affected by stories like this, it was terrifying. He writes with such detail, you can perfectly imagine each scene. There are moments of suspense and I just want to skip over sections to see what happens next. You can't skip though because almost every sentence is important to the story and you'll miss something that will make you confused later on.
    There is content that is only meant for adults, but not that much. I would say ages 15+.
    Definetly a must read for anyone who likes a great horror book. And possible nightmares.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    My first Stephen King book, pure awesomeness

    This was the book that got me into Stephen King when I was assigned to read it in high school. I got so hooked in it that I turned my school copy back in to my teacher and went out and bought the full version and started over and finished it before any of my other classmates. A great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I thought that this was a well written book, for sure had dark G

    I thought that this was a well written book, for sure had dark Gothic elements in it. For my first Steven King book, i was thoroughly impressed because i had never been scared by a book before. This definitely had me on the edge of my seat (figuratively speaking) and I never thought that i could be so attentive to a book before. Well done, Steven King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Great!

    Loved it. Creepy, lots of characters and lots of detail - classic King. Really enjoyed the back-story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Creepy

    Creepy as hell. Could be a town out there like this one. Hated when Susan went in that house. Stupid stupid stupid. I'm brave, curious etc. but yea right. Only way I'd have gone in there is if my kid, mom, dad, sister, etc etc was in there. Not gonna happen otherwise. For me, that part really sucked

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!

    My mom has the acsawle book so i started reading it and i highly recamend that you read it. Very good book.

    Awesome book!!!!!!!!

    Love it!

    Kind of ezy if you are a good reader.

    Wonder fulll

    Prity long but is totaly worth it!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    SpOoKy!

    I am not normally a fan of the vampire genre, but I love Stephen King. Not since "The Shinning" have I been sufficently terrified by a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Worth reading again!

    I hadn't read this since high school, but I'm glad I chose to reread it. One of King's best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Best Vampire book ever

    This was the first SK book I ever read and it scared the hell out of me when I was 10 as well as now. This was written back when vampires were evil and you did not sleep with them or marry them. Nor could they walk in sunlight. I read every year to remind myself how good Stephen King can be. I wish he wrote a sequel .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Brilliant.

    I absolutely loved this book. Stephen King never ceases to amaze me. <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    A Must Read

    I've always seen the movie, but the book is 100 times better than the movie. Bravo Mr. King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy, Scary. One of his BEST!

    Oh my GOD! This was probably one of the creepiest books I have ever read! I couldn't sleep! Read it, trust me. One of King's best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely Over-rated

    I love reading horror novels, especially zombies and vampires stories. After I had run out of books to read I decided to give Salem's Lot a try. I had heard that this was the greatest vampire book ever. After reading it I have to say I was sorely disappointed. This was a book that never really got to the meat of the problem. There is a vague menace from some guys we assume are vampires but it took way to long to get there, and there was way too much back story about this town. I want to see vampires as the blood thirsty monsters they are, not the history of the town that they moved into. There is almost no action in this book and I never even got a chill let alone frightened from this over-rated book. If you want a good vampire book try Vampire$ by John Steakley or Midnight Mass by F. Paul Wilson.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    decent

    I found myself more engaged in the story as time went on but very dissapointed in the time he devoted to actual vampire scenes. I bet about 4% of the words in this book are dedicated to scenes in which vampires are about doing their thing. As Steven King is one of the best fiction has ever seen, I easily made it to the end and was glad I finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    This was the second Stephen King novel I've read. I could not pu

    This was the second Stephen King novel I've read. I could not put this one down. I haven't been so enthralled within a story since I had read Harry Potter as a preteen. I've been really over the whole vampire thing that's been happening the last few years, but this put the &quot;life&quot; back into them for me. I couldn't recommend this book more! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2015

    Karl

    Watches the city from u on a roof.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    I read this right after finishing Night Shift (which I loved) an

    I read this right after finishing Night Shift (which I loved) and I was even more blown away by King's writing. The more I read the greater it was and it scared me more than I thought it would! It was throughly suspenseful and once the action started it did not stop. If you're hesitant about picking this one up I would absolutely give it a try. You'll become more absorbed the further you get into this book. This is yet another fantastic tale by King. I'm still hesitant about sleeping with my window open! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 738 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37