Customer Reviews for

'Salem's Lot

Average Rating 4.5
( 726 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(451)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Best Vampire Story Ever

This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. O...
This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. One night while I was reading it, I had my window open and I actually closed it because I was so scared. I have read Dracula by Bram Stoker, the original Vampire story, and in my opinion, this book is better. It started off a little slow but didn't take too long to get exciting and once that happened, the suspense and action kept on coming throughout the entire book.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

$26.00 for an ebook??????? COME ON!

Hey Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, stop price gouging. Ebooks should be no more than $9.99 AT MOST.

posted by crabsomatic on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    decent

    I found myself more engaged in the story as time went on but very dissapointed in the time he devoted to actual vampire scenes. I bet about 4% of the words in this book are dedicated to scenes in which vampires are about doing their thing. As Steven King is one of the best fiction has ever seen, I easily made it to the end and was glad I finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Was okay, no reason for all the deleted stuff at the end of the

    Was okay, no reason for all the deleted stuff at the end of the book, was just 40 extra pages because of it.  I'm reading his books in order, so this only the second I have read of his and it was much better than Carrie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The vampires in Maine are hard to explain

    There must be so few books written about Maine that Stephen King feels he has to overcompensate, using almost every story he writes to proudly exhibit or at least mention his home state several times. I hope that urge doesn't make him too unhappy. Clearly something does, because he can't seem to write five pages without introducing a gruesome death, or the rumor of one, or a similarly horrible event. In 'Salem's Lot, these (un)deaths are numerous and especially ghastly, and they all happen in a small town named Jerusalem's Lot, whose home state you can safely guess. This town, and not the story that King cruelly forces upon it, is the real jewel of the novel. It has all the nostalgic hallmarks that will be familiar to anyone who grew up in a town of less than, say, 10-20,000 people. The big house on the hill overshadows entire neighborhoods; each store is the only one of its kind in the county; the one or two highways lead to slightly bigger towns, then on to the wide world that most of us don't get many chances to see in our first twenty years. Best of all, for adventurous children anyway, is that you can go miles without getting lost, because you grew up here and you know every road, shack, tree and hill. The setting is the sole bright spot in this homely story, and King is at least wise enough to spend plenty of time talking about the town and not the apparent subject, vampires. When it comes to the plot, it was more enjoyable to read than anything else Stephen King has written, though he doesn't leave the competition much to work with. The vampire story is mostly rehashed material from Dracula and other books that have already been written and don't require or benefit from the Stephen King treatment. I suspect a lot of people these days may want to read this book because they want a more old-fashioned take on vampires than writers are producing these days. I would advise those readers to stick with Dracula and the early stuff. Stephen King isn't talented enough to deal with any subject you might enjoy. If you insist on reading 'Salem's Lot for the vampires, I can only say good luck and I hope you can carry your love of the genre through to the other side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Not as frighteing as I'd hoped

    When I can read a "scary" book at 3am and not feel the slightest bit scared... it just turns disappointing. Stephen King is an all time favorite author whose writing has apparently improved with time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Very enjoyable, even after all these years

    Great read. I read it soon after it came out, and read it again last week. Very enjoyable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Meh

    Blah. It was very slow. Good story but was so boring, took me forever to read it and I am a really fast reader. Don't buy it, maybe get it from the library if you must.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I really liked this novel, but I expected it to be a lot better. The first 2/3 is scary, creepy and awesome! The last third is more of a wrap up and dealing with emotions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is by far one of the most confusing books ever! it gets you all caught up in all these peoples lives,and then you cant tell who is who.we dont want boring stuff... all the people really want is action! I'm a huge stephen king fan, and I'm now reading cell. if your thinking of reading stephen king...buy cell! (nice and gory)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    great read

    Salem's lot wasn't all that scary for those of you that suspect that it is. Its more of a love story gone wrong. I really didn't like the ending too much. The characters struggle ended to easily to abruptly it kind of threw me off a little. I wanted more violence. I wish there could have been a real battle between the two opposing sides.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Not what I had in mind

    I usually don't read Stephen King novels. But I decided to read Salem's Lot because I heard it had good reviews. When I read this story King seemed to jump around to different parts of the book. He will talk about one character and it gets a little interesting he'll talk about another character or setting of the story. It is about an author named Ben Mears who writes a story in his hometown.There seems to be a lot of murders and realizes vampires have infested the town. He seems to find clues and realizes most people as a vampire People who have not read a stephen King novel, I wouldn't recommend to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Dragged 'til the middle...

    I'm not much of a S.King reader, but I decided to read this one because I saw that it had great reviews. I felt that it dragged until the middle, where the plot FINALLY thickened. The book was okay, but I don't recommended it for those who aren't S.King lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    Scary ( the last 100 pages )

    The book seems to br written in slow motion. Vampires are only introduced after almost 300 hundred pages !!! Also, too many people hang arround the scenario. Hard to keep up. But the last 100 pages are great, really scary !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    Better than some.

    I think that I am going to stop reading Stephen King novels for quiet some time. I find that his books drag on and on. Yet again he goes into great detail about everything from what the inside of the car looks like to a character's untimely deaths. Put in one word.....SLEEPER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4