Customer Reviews for

'Salem's Lot

Average Rating 4.5
( 732 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(454)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Best Vampire Story Ever

This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. O...
This book was the first Stephen King book I read and I was thoroughly impressed. It offers a plethora of horror, suspense, and almost non-stop action. It was the first book that actually scared me in any substantial way and made me sleep with the lights on. One night while I was reading it, I had my window open and I actually closed it because I was so scared. I have read Dracula by Bram Stoker, the original Vampire story, and in my opinion, this book is better. It started off a little slow but didn't take too long to get exciting and once that happened, the suspense and action kept on coming throughout the entire book.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not I.

It took me a while to read this book. It had some scenes that kept me captivated but not for long. I've read other King books that I loved, but not this one. There seemed to be a lot of rambling but not enough action. I create movies in my mind while I read. This "movi...
It took me a while to read this book. It had some scenes that kept me captivated but not for long. I've read other King books that I loved, but not this one. There seemed to be a lot of rambling but not enough action. I create movies in my mind while I read. This "movie" sucked. :)

posted by Lexy4553 on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Raw Talent

    This novel shows the progression of Stephen King from master of the scary story to literary treasure. The writing is so-so in some places and excellent in others, but the sheer amount of raw talent from a young novelist (I believe he was 23 when he wrote this) makes this book such a standout. Ominous, even downright scary in parts and well-worth your time.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2007

    a book that sends chills up your spine

    Salem's Lot is an amazing tale of overcoming the most terrifying obstacles. In this book you watch Ben Mears face his fear of returning back to the town that he grew up in. You watch him face going back to the very house that plagued the town of Salem's Lot, but now the town is facing something else. Things have definatly changed around Salem's Lot since the mysterious Mr. Barlow arrived. I would definatly recommend this book to anyone who loves to get scared and who loves a good vampire story. However, it does have some stuff that is for older readers so i wouldn't recommend this to anyone under the age of 16.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a great classic Stephen King read! I really enjoyed reading

    What a great classic Stephen King read! I really enjoyed reading this classic horror novel and if you love the horror genre and vampires, this book will suit you.

    There are no "nice" vampires in this book, and for that reason, this was such a refreshing read from the brooding, romantic vampire books that are currently cashing in sales at the local book store. Stephen King delivers the basic old-school vampire theory with 'Salem's Lot.

    Now, some readers will claim there is way to much mundane information included about the townspeople of Jerusalem's Lot, but you must get to know these people to get the full effect of this book.

    As far as the scare factor with this book, there are some that claim it kept them from sleeping soundly at night. For me, well, I slept just fine. It didn't give me nightmares or scare me into hanging garlic on my windows. I'm not saying this book isn't scare worthy because I am sure for some it absolutely is. It really takes something absolutely horrendous to scare me. I seem to be desensitized to the horrors associated with vampires.

    'Salem's Lot is a well-written, classic read that I thoroughly enjoyed. I would absolutely recommend this book to all my vampire loving friends.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    I really liked it.

    I really liked it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What did Vampires ever do to you Mr. Stephen King??

    Count Suckula likes a good vampire book!! The kind where the vampire gets the girl, or the kind where the vampire is a superhero, or even the kind of story where the vampire is a teenage hottie who the high school girls can't resist!!

    However, Count Suckula don't likey that this tale KILLS all the vampires in some fairly gruesome ways when they infest this little town!!

    This is the classic vampire book and scary as HELL!! Stephen King is the master. Slow at first cause of the character dev. but don't stop reading cause it gets very bloody when the vamps show up finally!! Read this in the dark in the attic or your basement or a cemetary if you dare!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I thought that this was a well written book, for sure had dark G

    I thought that this was a well written book, for sure had dark Gothic elements in it. For my first Steven King book, i was thoroughly impressed because i had never been scared by a book before. This definitely had me on the edge of my seat (figuratively speaking) and I never thought that i could be so attentive to a book before. Well done, Steven King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Creepy

    Creepy as hell. Could be a town out there like this one. Hated when Susan went in that house. Stupid stupid stupid. I'm brave, curious etc. but yea right. Only way I'd have gone in there is if my kid, mom, dad, sister, etc etc was in there. Not gonna happen otherwise. For me, that part really sucked

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    The boy who could see demons

    It was a good read , found the characters and the situation pretty interesting. The twist at the end was shocking. Not sure if I would reread it , but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Don't read the prologue until after you have read the book!!

    I loved the book, but it would have been better if Mr. King did not give away the ending in the prologue. This book starts with the prologue, which is near the ending... Unfortunately, it is enough so that you know which of the good guys survive, even before the good vs evil starts, thus taking away some of the suspense. He does not use names but rather too much description so that it is clear who they are once you start reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    When I read Dracula a couple weeks ago, I said that it was one o

    When I read Dracula a couple weeks ago, I said that it was one of the books that any vampire fan simply had to read. Salem's Lot is another (but you probably need to read Dracula first to get a full appreciation).




    Of all the "modern" vampire fiction I've read and seen, Salem's Lot is by far the closest to Stoker's interpretation, but you'll have to actually read the book to figure out what I mean.




    This book is descriptive, evocative, and VIVID! When you read a scene, you can smell what the characters smell. When you read a dialog, you can hear each character's unique voice in your head, as though those characters are standing right next to you. And when you read about characters in danger, you can FEEL the terror coursing through their veins!




    While not quite as scary as It, the scare factor is right up there, and it's definitely worth a read if you want the hairs on the back of your neck to stand up a bit. It wasn't quite "couldn't-put-it-down" for me, though - in fact, sometimes I HAD to put it down because I had had enough tension for one sitting. But whenever I picked it back up again, I had no trouble getting sucked back in, right back where I left off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Great Book!!!!

    It was a great read 35+ years ago, still scares me today and will, undoubtedly, do so when I read it again! They refer to Stephen King as the "Master" for a reason. Can't wait for his new one to come out in September.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    LuanReads

    Omg great book!!! Scary at times, but never put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    ????????

    Who ever heard of chocolate soda?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great for Halloween

    A book in which vampires are still scary! I've read this book several times, and it hasn't gotten old yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Scary!

    Gave me nightmares!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    In the very beginning of this book, Ben Mears has just moved int

    In the very beginning of this book, Ben Mears has just moved into the small town of Jerusalem's Lot. A picturesque little town, Ben is a writer who is researching for a book about the town's creepiest location- the Marsten House. You learn as you read that the Ben lived there with his aunt as a child, and the Marsten house was a constant thing in his nightmares. A man had killed his wife and committed suicide there years before this book takes place, and Ben went in on a dare. He apparently saw a man hanging from a noose in the upstairs bedroom. While this isn't the main basis of the story, it sets the grisly scene of the book. As Ben begins to settle down in the quaint, quiet little town of 'salem's Lot, strange disappearances occur. With two other new men in the town, Straker and Barlow, suspicions over the dead and disappeared fall on those two- and Ben. As the story progresses, you find how many of the people have been disappearing- Barlow is a vampire who is bent on taking every life in Jerusalem's Lot. Ben, his girlfriend Susan, a couple of Ben's new friends, and a young boy named Mark are all that are standing between Barlow and the people of 'salem's Lot. I recommend this book for any advanced reader, but not for those that get bored easily. At the end of the book, nothing really happens, and it just seems to drag on. I would definitely say 4/5 stars for the action, but the areas of nothing happening ruins the plot.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Good read

    First Stephen King book I have read and definitely a page turner!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Loved it

    This is an entertaining read that will make the hair stand up on the back of your neck. Read it at night when everyone else is asleep and little things go bump in the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended. Stephen King at his best!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was spooky so be prepared to jump at every noise you hear in the house while reading. I decided to read it for the Halloween season and it was the perfect book. MUCH better than the movie. It starts out introducing the characters and yes they are all pretty interesting. Lots of stuff going on in between the Vampire doing his thing. It is a great Vampire tale. So get you crosses and garlic ready. You will appreciate the sunlight a little more after reading this one but you won't be looking forward to the night time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Scary!!!

    I read this when it first came out and it scared me to death, I was real young then, I just finished reading it again and it scared me just as bad, I'm a lot older now and I still made a big jump to the bed so anything under it couldn't grab me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 180 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9