Customer Reviews for

Sally Boy

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

sally boy by p. vincent demartino

One of the most compelling stories out there today. Extremely colorful. Its just one of those books you pick up and cant put down. p.vincent demartino has a flare about him. I am not a big fan of mobster stories but I have to say this is the best one I ve ever read. I...
One of the most compelling stories out there today. Extremely colorful. Its just one of those books you pick up and cant put down. p.vincent demartino has a flare about him. I am not a big fan of mobster stories but I have to say this is the best one I ve ever read. I felt like I was in the story with the characters. Dont miss out on this one...its a winner!

posted by cathi-b on August 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Goof book

Good read.

posted by mark454 on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Pass it by

    I did not find this well written. I do not even think this so called "author" even took a writing class. The book states the author is an "accomplished screenwriter, poet and novelist" Based on the reviews I was looking forward to reading this book. After chapter 10 I tossed it into my fireplace rather than waste another log. I feel that the reviews were written to promote sales. I guess "Are you kidding me" was correct! The best part of this book was seeing it burn.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Not worth reading.

    In no way is this pure genius. It's poorly written. No publisher thought it was worth their time. This is why it was self published. To compare this so called writer to Martin Scorsese is hilarious. I laughed so hard I had tears in my eyes. This Demartino guy & his friend who wrote reviews are delusional if they thinks this is going to be put into a movie. I agree with "are you kidding me." Waste of money and time. This is the same old want to be mob book by someone who thinks they can write.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Are you kidding me?

    I find the book starts off ok then goes downhill fast after the first few chapters. I did finish it hoping it could get better. It didn't! I find the "author" very vulgar. Every line is "F" this and "F" that. Today anyone can self publish a book and call themself an author. It doesn't make it true. To compare this to "The God Father" Soprano's or Goodfella's is a real joke. That review was probably written from a family member. Save your money it's not worth buying. Put your pen down Vin and go back to waiting tables. Your a better waiter then want to be author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    If you read all the reviews there is a response to "are you

    If you read all the reviews there is a response to "are you kidding me" Clearly the prior 5 star posts were to sell books. This is not a great find. I do agree the story line is all over the place and after chapter 2 the book goes down hill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Don┬┐t Believe The Hype!

    This book was so hyped up; I couldn’t wait to read it. I am a Soprano fan and thought this would be a great find to take on my business trip. I agree with the other posts that once you read the first few chapters it is very clear the reviews were written to create book sales. The story line is all over the place, the “author” rambles on and on and on. My one star is being generous because this should be more in the negative star category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Please, let's be honest!

    Most of the reviews are so over the top, it's clear to me that it was done to promote book sales. It is not possible to have these reviews for this book. The story line is all over the place. I gave this 1 star and I'm being really generous. I should have realized the five star reviews were too hyped up to be TRUE. This book is not worth a purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    1 star, I'm being kind.

    Poorly done. Prior reviews are so hyped you can see they are based on book sales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Just Disappointing

    I don't see all the hype. I was looking forward to reading this book after seeing the reviews. I was disapointed. The character is weak. The outcome is predictable. The author rambles on for chapters and chapters. Anyone with any type of education would not rate this 5 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Just Horrible!

    After reading the reviews, I had mixed feelings and gave it a shot. So glad I didn't pay for this. I found it horrible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1