Customer Reviews for

The Salmon of Doubt: Hitchhiking the Galaxy One Last Time

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    one last work from adams

    I strongly disagree with the last two reviews, both of which appear to be from the same person, someone without a clue of what was in the book. So it was released after his death. So it contains 10 chapters of an unfinished book. If that offends you, then I see no reason why the rest of it would, as its full of witty and great essays and stories spanning Adams's whole tragically short life. Most authors have a similar collection, and frankly it excites rather than offends me. Douglas Adams, my favorite author and most mourned celebrity, showed great promise with the beginnings of another guide book, as well as demonstrated his enormous talent with the many essays and stories. The world is quite a bit less bright for me without him, but at least we have this last testiment to his life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    An amazing collection of stories.

    OK, first I have to admit that I was a Douglas Adams fan before I read this book. I actually have two copies my original paperback and now the ebook version. This book has numerous short stories which are ideal for when you don't have time to get suck into a novel. Most of the stories are funny, educational and thought provoking. There are so many gems in this book that I bought the ebook version just so I could bookmark all the sections of interest and carry a copy on my phone for future reference. Another reason I rate this book so high is that it directed me to read "The Blind Watchmaker" by Richard Dawkins which I would rate a the number one book I have ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    One of a kind

    Douglas Adams was truly one of a kind. From his unique humor to his odd reasoning, he always gave us something to remember in his books. This collection contains some of the funniest material ever written. As the other reviewers have said, it's a crying shame that Adams will never write again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    so long and thanks...

    A great last book to have published under dna's name. So long Douglas....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    A wonderful visit with Douglas

    A hitch-hiking reader stuck on the roadside for awhile, I was pleased to catch a ride with this refreshing assemblage of Douglas Adams' wit and insight. It sheds light on how he developed and maintained the talents so evident in his previous work. Thanks to all who labored on this prize.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Thank you

    So long ...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2004

    The World's Loss

    My God, perhaps the best book i've read in my life...i dont think ive ever felt more connected to an author through their works before...it is truely an incredible read to go through this book and feel deeply saddened that you will never read something like this again, because he was so truely unique...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    An incredible read

    This is a special book for any Douglas Adams fan. After reading this book, I guess that the feeling I have is one of lonelieness more than anything else. As I began to finish the book, the humor was overshadowed by the knowledge that Mr. Adams will never again put pen to paper, and I felt the ache of having lost a friend. DNA has been one of my favorite authors since a child hood friend introduced me to a new book called The Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy. This book is a treasured read, and not just because it is new DNA material, but because it really does show what a genuinely nice guy he was. Somewhere out there I'm sure that Douglas has a clean towel in his satchel, and is sipping on a 'gin and tonic'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    So long....

    Posthumous this book maybe but if posthumous work brings to mind those disgraceful Jimi Hendrix lps released after his death during the 70's, then think again. In many ways I enjoyed this book more than others he has written where he is limited by a story line. Adams writes of music, diving, travelling, animals etc and never fails to leave one moved by his wisdom. His fans, of course, will love this. The Adams personality comes over stronger than ever. The Stephen Fry introduction sums up the reasons to read the book far better than I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    Salmon of Doubt: Hitchhiking the Galaxy One Last Time

    Not great, not awful.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Thanks

    So long Douglas and thanks for all the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    To come ON

    Well then buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Come ON!

    The sample didnt even go past the introduction.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Blossomrain

    I love you too. Thank you.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I know it may sound like a cliche

    but this book changed my life. You've heard people say "oh gosh that-or-the-other book changed my life", but please, _please_ trust me when I say that such thrown-about exclamations are ridiculously exaggerated hyperboles, compared to the effect of this book. Not each and every story will inspire a profound minute or two of staring into space in awe, but enough will to deserve such acclaim. The particularly most un-missable piece would be "Is There An Artificial God", which is comparable in ingenuity to the works of Asimov and Feynman.

    Get this book; I don't care how, I don't care if it's not from Barnes & Noble, I don't care if you even pay. It's a textbook must-read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I really miss him!

    I absolutely LOVED it! Yes, I am biased and it really went to my heart knowing this is his last book! I liked reading about his life, family, and the adventures he got to go on! I still can't get over that he his gone from this Earth.I held on to every sentence and story for as long it would last and still thought of them afterwards.You can see where some of the stories and characters may have come from or at least his train of thought. I hope that when you read it you have read all the other stories first because this is really a closing chapter :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    last chance to see, indeed

    Unlike the first two reviewers I knew what I was reading. This book gives you great insight to one of the greatest minds this world has known. I was so happy to read the book that I couldnt put it down, but when I finished I felt such loss. I wish I could read all his books over again for the first time. Mr Adams was my favorite author before and this book did not disapoint me, besides that this is the last of his work I will be able to read :( ....NEVER FORGET YOUR TOWEL!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Well composed and edited

    I found it to be a great tribute to Adams. Gave insite to parts of his life and his ideas and values. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    Douglas, you simply cannot be dead!

    Douglas Adams was a man who really knew where his towel was - the hoopiest frood this side of the Horsehead Nebula! For all I know he may not be dead, he might have just caught a ride from a Teaser. I love this book, the critics reviews give details of The Salmon of Doubt so I won't repeat any of them. I never met Douglas, but Zarquon's Knees!, I miss him. Buy everything by Douglas Adams, it's all really good stuff... ...well, it's better than Vogon poetry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    The Salmon does not dissapoint!

    The Salmon of Doubt is an excellent title. It provides the exact thing that it promises, which is a profound (perhaps too profound) insight into the mind of our dearly departed DNA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3