Customer Reviews for

Salt: A World History

Average Rating 3.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The secret world of salt

Salt: A World History By Mark Kurlansky Review By Crazy Edward. Salt, its a commodity most people just accept as something that is available in their everyday lives. Think about it, we all use salt every day, yet we don¿t realize how the fate of an empir...
Salt: A World History By Mark Kurlansky Review By Crazy Edward. Salt, its a commodity most people just accept as something that is available in their everyday lives. Think about it, we all use salt every day, yet we don¿t realize how the fate of an empire rests on salt. Mark Kurlansky starts out by diving into ancient China and their exploitation of salt. As Kurlansky reports, the Chinese first start using salt when they found salt rocks on the ground. When it rained, a brine soaked into the area around the rock and when the sun came out, the soil produced salt crystals. This is a very interesting read for any food lover or historian. Mark Kurlansky identifies the rise and fall of civilization, and what salt has to do with them. From the ancient Romans and their salt works and fish sauces, to United States struggle to find enough salt to maintain the needs of their country, Kurlansky writes about them all. As an added bonus for all food lovers, Kurlansky publishes recipes for salt and salt-based products. If you love food, or if you just find the rise and fall of civilizations interesting, Salt: A World History is a must have. Salt. You don¿t know how much it really means until you read this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

No Spice

I love non-fiction as much as fiction and I thought this book would be a interesting since it is an under-written about topic. Some of the facts were fascinating. But on the whole, it was one of the most boring books I have ever read. I could not finish it, although ...
I love non-fiction as much as fiction and I thought this book would be a interesting since it is an under-written about topic. Some of the facts were fascinating. But on the whole, it was one of the most boring books I have ever read. I could not finish it, although I read well into it. I hate abandoning a book but it became a chore plowing through it.

posted by BookLover526 on December 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    A whole lot of history, and oh yeah, it's about history, too!


    I LOVED this book! I learned a lot about history, from ancient civilizations all the way to the origins of common everyday products that we take for granted every day in the 20th and 21st centuries. Loaded with details, ancient recipes, and new revelations in practically every sentence on every page, I walk away from this book with a renewed sense of awe that civilization ever got this far. Not for the timid reader, details can be overwhelming at times, but never boring. Not if you like history and the "untold story", as I do.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    The secret world of salt

    Salt: A World History By Mark Kurlansky Review By Crazy Edward. Salt, its a commodity most people just accept as something that is available in their everyday lives. Think about it, we all use salt every day, yet we don¿t realize how the fate of an empire rests on salt. Mark Kurlansky starts out by diving into ancient China and their exploitation of salt. As Kurlansky reports, the Chinese first start using salt when they found salt rocks on the ground. When it rained, a brine soaked into the area around the rock and when the sun came out, the soil produced salt crystals. This is a very interesting read for any food lover or historian. Mark Kurlansky identifies the rise and fall of civilization, and what salt has to do with them. From the ancient Romans and their salt works and fish sauces, to United States struggle to find enough salt to maintain the needs of their country, Kurlansky writes about them all. As an added bonus for all food lovers, Kurlansky publishes recipes for salt and salt-based products. If you love food, or if you just find the rise and fall of civilizations interesting, Salt: A World History is a must have. Salt. You don¿t know how much it really means until you read this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I liked this book. Read it within 24 hours.Unusual but very interesting history on salt

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    AP World History Student: Informational but Somewhat Repetitive

    Kurlansky shows how Venice came to be as profitable by trading in salt rather than attempting to manufacture it, which later formed a foudation for Venice during the Renaissance. The French Monarchy did as many other empires at the time and since the trade of salt, a tax was placed upon the rock. These are but a few topics discussed in Kurlanky's Salt, but inbetween are some tasty tid-bits 'o information and surprising history as far up as the Civil war and Pickett's Charge. Although Salt tends top be of a repitive nature in expressing views, but this helps to re-convey his theories so that you will know how he wishes his 'novel' to be interpreted. Overall, I would reccomend this book to anyone with a sense of humour (it is an entire book about salt, of course) or anyone wishing to gain a new perspective in viewing world history through a common element--Sodium Chloride, the good old NaCl.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    Common Substance, Uncommon Book

    Who'd -a thunk it? A book about salt being utterly engrossing? That it is. Smart and funny, full of wonderful trivia and a way of seeing world history through this most common yet complex of substances. You need not be a foodie to enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    No Spice

    I love non-fiction as much as fiction and I thought this book would be a interesting since it is an under-written about topic. Some of the facts were fascinating. But on the whole, it was one of the most boring books I have ever read. I could not finish it, although I read well into it. I hate abandoning a book but it became a chore plowing through it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous Read!!

    You'll find yourself wondering about other commodities.....like cod and coffee and beer. Did they influence people in unexpected ways?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    From one Salt Lover to Another

    I love salt, and have always felt like a nerd for being strangely fascinated with its history. Not only does this book include a historical aspect of the mineral, but also entails palatable facts and a very in-depth view into salt's naturally unassumed importance through the ages. I do not feel alone in saying that this is the book I have been waiting for!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    A Truly Definitive Work on Salt!

    I never thought I could read an entire book about SALT! However, I was immediately intrigued and after promising myself to give the first 30 pages a chance, I found myself reading the entire book. It is oftentimes funny and always educational. I have amazed my family and friends with my command of salt facts and trivia. Not recommended for those on a salt free diet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Interesting but a little slow

    So I have to read this book for school, and it is interesting and all, but I am honestly falling asleep as I read it and I only have one week to finish. This is going to be a long week. I guess history is not my thing. Oh well it is still interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I was shocked at how much I liked this book. It was actually a b

    I was shocked at how much I liked this book. It was actually a book that I couldn't put down. I would definitely recommend this for history lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Laura

    Did any of you guys even read the book? I didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Very very interesting

    And I thought salt was stuff you just sprinkled on your food!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Saltstar

    I will. Salt star meowed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    The only rock humans willingly eat

    Informative but dull at points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Calla

    ERAAAAAASSSSSE IIIIIIIIT!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Tor

    Bleeeeeeep.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I give your newspaper

    Five stars. You guys are good and i am graciously donatingg two cameras to you for your greatness. Take them or leave them-the sharing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    The warriors newspaper

    FROUNT PAGE: an investagetor has made a discovery. Ballstar has never gotten his nine lives. Ballclaw has killed kits stolen kits and done ther unknown things. Investagators will find more soon. CAT OF THE DAY: mistypool a gray tom with onyx eyes NEW CLAN: horseclan at david parkins horse. Writer snowstream editor no investagator sunnybreaze

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Salt...the final frontier

    No, not really. Lots of interesting stories about salt, though. I was surprised at the research that has gone into this book! It's pretty amazing...if a bit salty.
    har har

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7