Customer Reviews for

A Salty Piece of Land

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    A GREAT GIFT FOR EVERYONE

    For many years, I've given copies of A Salty Piece of Land, one of Buffet's best books, to a wide range of readers including a guy who only reads daily fishing forecasts and a woman who can't be bothered to read anything but classic literature. The recipient always contacts me and says, "I really enjoyed this book!"
    Jimmy Buffet's A Salty Piece of Land is a great gift for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Great read

    Im not a reader but i couldnt put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    This was such a good book! it made me want to pick up and head t

    This was such a good book! it made me want to pick up and head to the beach

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great

    I think I've Read this book about 3 times and I took it on a couple of driving trips to Boise playing it on the stereo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Pick this one up!!!

    Great story!!! It's like reading many stories within one story. An easy enjoyable read! Highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Great Book

    Jimmy Buffett's books are always a feel good read! LOVED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    Hard to put down

    I am a huge Jimmy Buffet fan so I really enjoyed this novel. I do not read many books but this was one I just could not put down. What really made the book enjoyable to read was how descriptive he was throughout the novel. He really pants the picture of what is happening in your mind it makes it easier to read cause you can picture what's going on as in " As we roared through the channel under a cloud of canvas with a foamy wake trailing behind us for a quarter of a mile."(193, Buffet) this is just one way that he paints the picture in your head. Another thing that Buffet does throughout the novel is that he will add in some of his song titles, its just one thing that the fans can pick up on. The last great thing about the book is that it comes with a great CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    A Great Romp through the Caribbean

    This book should grace the shelf of any "Parrothead" on the planet. Buffet weaves story lines from some of his best-known songs through a tale that winds from Wyoming to the Caribbean. The plot sometimes wanders, but the writing style is especially crisp and poetic and made me recall one of my favorite sayings: "not all those who wander are lost." This is a general theme that Jimmy Buffet has always woven through his songs and this book helps bring that same feeling in a longer form. For sailing and aviation fans, there is some excellent writing about those topics as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    FUN

    Posted 6/29/2009: This book was enjoyable because it was different from just a normal story. There was always something new happening. It was a mix of what could happen and a little far fetched. The characters were interesting. I listened to the the audiobook, so I had bits of music along with the story which made it even more fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    A Great Escape

    I was very sorry to come to the end of this book. The characters came alive and the salt air wrapped me in it's sweet caress. The writing style is wonderful and leaves you wanting many more books from Jimmy Buffett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A continuation of "Tales from Margaritaville"

    This book has been a knockout read for me. "Knockout" because I fall asleep after reading it for countless hours. It's full of adventure, and every character has their own story. Plus, he throws in so many lyrics from his songs, and they fit right in with the character and the setting. I have seen a few bad reviews for this book, but I think those people are reading some other book or are just buttholes by nature. This is the most adventeurous book I've ever read, set in the most beautiful places on Earth. Jimmy is not a novelist by trade and I think that's why certain people aren't opening up to this book. Well, guess what: He's a novelist now, so get used to it. He's darn great at it, too. His great storytelling mixed with his vivid imagination make this book a bestseller on my list, and it should on your list, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2007

    He does it again!!!!

    I have been a Buffett fan for about 15 years. I live with 4 females and Jimmy Buffett most certainly gives me that 'State of Mind' that I need to cope in his music and written stories. I have read all of his books and this is by far the best yet. He once again takes me to lands far away and gives me a sense of total awe as I read the adventures he is so well adapted to tell. People say to be a good storyteller you must tell what you know. It is obvious what he knows. Please come out with another book Mr. Buffett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    Great vacation reading

    I bought this book on the way to our annual vacation in Key West. There could not be a more perfect story to read every day at the pool! Can't wait to get to Jimmy Buffet's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Out of this world!!!!

    I first saw this book and could not believe that Jimmy Buffet could have written a book. I was never one to listen to his music and a singer who wrote a book, no way. But I did read it and my God was it good. I have since went back and read everything he has written. I must now admitt that I am a parrot-head. I own all the books and most of his CDs. I am moving from the mainland to a tiny island to fly fish and drink rum. If you want the same,you have to read 'A Salty Piece of Land'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    WONDERFUL AND ENJOYABLE LITERARY ESCAPE

    SO MUCH TALENT IN ONE GUY. ENJOYED HIS ESCAPE FROM THE MIDWEST TO PUNTA MARGARITA AND CAYA LOCO AND ALL HIS EPISODES IN BETWEEN AND ULTIMATELY AT KEY WEST. SO MANY UNIQUE ENJOYABLE CHARACTERS AND TWISTS AND TURNS OF EVENTS. A GREAT 'LAY BACK' READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Couldn't put it down!

    You dont have to be a parrothead to love this book. But I can't see how you could possibly call yourself one and not like it. After a long day of studyin medicine, this book is just what I needed at night to set me straight again. An excellent story about a man who any parrothead would like to be for a week if they could. You did it again Jimmy! Absolutely awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Come Aboard

    Anyone who has ever heard Jimmy's song 'He went to Paris' knows the kind of addictive passion Jimmy can lend to the expatriate soul. Imagine that amazing song as a 400 page book rather than a 4 minute ballad and you may began to understand the spirit of this book. This is beyond doubt Jimmy's best book so far and I hope we see him keep to this level of writing. Fix yourself a boat drink or pour a glass of rum and enjoy the latest work of one of the best storytellers of song or page that we have had the pleasure to know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    How can you not

    Enjot reading this book? Once again, JB was able to transport me from my reality to a small piece of Margaritaville thru his witty writing. I hope there is another book in the coming years. HAPPY READING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Take if for what it is...

    ...an adventure novel. Its kind of like Tom Sawyer in the Carribean. Thanks Jimmy, for taking us to a simpler place in our time. Its a fast read and a story I would like to call my own. Cowboy confidence, a horse with a great name, Gulf Coast charm, Island time, spring break sex, schooner history, and the big group of good guys who always win! Seriously, it doesn't get any better than this. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Nothing bland about this

    Just from the description alone this will be a sure hit for those who loved 'Tales from Margaritaville' with its parrothead themes woven into this tropical treat--filled with island dreams, schemes, twists, and turns. Not only can the guy write, but he can sing too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3