Customer Reviews for

Salvation in Death (In Death Series #27)

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Hate to Keep Repeating Myself...She's Done It Again!!!!

I've read every single one of the "In Death" titles, and it's still as exciting as the first title I picked up! Nora Roberts seems to hit gold with just about every title written under J.D. Robb! In this story, Eve and the Catholic Church clash, and I think the Church...
I've read every single one of the "In Death" titles, and it's still as exciting as the first title I picked up! Nora Roberts seems to hit gold with just about every title written under J.D. Robb! In this story, Eve and the Catholic Church clash, and I think the Church will never be the same again. Once again, Ms. Roberts has written a tightly researched(re recreation of the funeral Mass and priest's roles were spot on(I was educated in Catholic school from K-12 grades), thrilling, joyride of a mystery. Eve is definitely at the top of her game, and I cannot WAIT to read about Louise's bachelorette party/wedding shower, and the wedding of all weddings. It bummed me that Nadine and Mavis were merely cameos this time, but I still eagerly await the next title, and her adventures in a very realistic New York City 50+ years from now.

posted by chefgee on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The wait was a disppointment

I've read all the "in Death" books and this one was a bit of a disappointment.I love the character development of all the previous books and this one didn't seem to build on them. I liked the idea of Morris with a love interest, but very little of the supporting charact...
I've read all the "in Death" books and this one was a bit of a disappointment.I love the character development of all the previous books and this one didn't seem to build on them. I liked the idea of Morris with a love interest, but very little of the supporting characters was mentioned. I love Peabody and McNab's relationship, Nadine's friendship, Mavis' colorfulness, Sommerset's snarkiness, but quiet concern and all the others. I especially love her relationship with Roarke. I felt like this story was all murder case with none of the extras that affect Eve. The second murder in this story didn't seem necessary. I'm still excited about the next book, but hope it's not all case and a lot more of the outside influences.

posted by 775842 on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    the book was good, but follows the same pattern for Robb.

    I have always been a Nora whether she writes as Robb or Roberts...I originally found Eve when there were no other books of Nora's to read. I like the way Eve and Roarke are together and how well they function as a team, but this book seemed like it was written on auto-pilot and I found myself at times bored with it and it took me longer than it usually does to read it (I usually finish a book in 2 days and this read took me a week). As I said it was a good book, but it was not her best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Highly recomend this series of books

    Any J.D. Robb in death book is well edge of your seat suspenseful, funny in a good way and downright sexy. Check one out and you will want to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    Comfort food

    Comfort food, or should I say, comfort reading, is how I describe the J.D. Robb books. I make it a point to buy (in paperback) and read every one as soon as it's available. This one did not disappoint; I finished it in one day. Longtime fans of Eve and Roarke will not be disappointed, and as one of the other reviewers noted, I particularly liked Eve and Roarke's (uncomfortable) exploration of religion. My only complaints are the sex scenes (to have such amazing, earth-moving sex EVERY time is quite unbelievable, but hey, it's fiction), and the fact that we didn't see enough of the other supporting characters: Mavis, Nadine, Dr. Mira, Feeney, Baxter, and Trueheart. On that note, though, I'm sure the prolific Ms. Roberts will make up for that at a later date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    I love this series!

    I just love this series. I have read all 27 books.(Now 28) Eve & the gang are wonderful characters. I get hooked everytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    Being an avid Nora Roberts/JD Robb fan, I eagerly await all releases of her books. Unfortunately, I must agree with several other reviewers in that this book was somewhat lacking. The plot was on point, yet the story seemed to drag a bit. Normally I devour the pages and complete her books in at most 2-3 days. This one took almost a week. While the storyline was very interesting, Eve didn't seem to be on her "game". I suppose even she has rough days! Still a good read if you are an "In Death" follower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    A bite tamer than usual still a great read

    First off this is a great read and I highly recommend. The crime and investigation was well written, just enough detail and had good intrigue. That being said the book overall was on the tame side and the story line was rather linear compared to previous installments. I still loved the continued growth of Eve and Roake and their love and chemistry. I look forward to the next book and hope to see some of the zanny characters back on the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    Disapointing

    I just finished reading this book and to me it was not as good as her other books in this series. I have all of her books in this series and will probably keep on buying them, I just hope her next one is a little better. Mavis was just barely mentioned and she always adds to the books. I just wish she would have had more of her usual characters in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    Not one of my favorite of the "In Death" series

    I have read all books in the "In Death" series and will continue to do so. However, "Salvation in Death" was a disappointment for me. The crime story line itself was good. However, there were really no other underlying story lines, other than the upcoming bridal shower, which hadn't yet happened by the end. To me, the book really did not deal with any on-going character development or relationship growth. Often, I am just as excited about "who done it" as I am about interplay of the characters-- McNab and Peabody's next step in their relationship, the latest fashion rage that of course, Mavis will wear, what dress-up event that Eve has to grudgingly attend. But, I can't wait March 09 for #28.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Thrill a minute

    Eve Dallas mid 21st century NY cop and her multi-billionarie husband Roarke are on the case of a murdered Catholic Priest where they immediately have more questions than answers another murdered religious icon and thrills that don't stop until you read the last line.<BR/>If you follow the series this is the 27th in the series where you'll get to catch up on all your favorite supporting characters and find out what they're up to now.<BR/>If you prefer stand a-lones this one stands all by it's self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2