Customer Reviews for

Salvation of a Saint

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    Entertaining Mystery

    This is the second book in a series but stands well independently. (I haven’t read the first in the series, but plan to.) The characters are very interesting and the book is well-written but this mystery is not an action-packed thriller if that is your interest. It reminds me of a Columbo-style story in which how the murder was committed, what the motive was, and gaining evidence against the perpetrator are emphasized. I am also impressed by the translation. It reads rather smoothly for a book originally written in Japanese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    it is a must read.....is magnificently intricate and nail biting

    it is a must read.....is magnificently intricate and nail biting suspense from keigo higashino....with the perfect tinge of turmoil  in  inter personal relationship.....
    . this is an essential reading for all exceptional crime fiction buff...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Not as engaging as The Devotion of Suspect X but still an extrao

    Not as engaging as The Devotion of Suspect X but still an extraordinary story of moves and countermoves...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have read this and the earlier Devotion of Suspect X. I prefe

    I have read this and the earlier Devotion of Suspect X. I preferred this one I believe. Unlike X, in this book you aren't told from the get-go who the murderer is. You have a good idea, but there is a still a chance that you don't know. I think it added a bit more depth to the plot. Much like the earlier novel, it's a very complicated decision tree that one must be led down to understand the crime. I enjoyed the novel and didn't feel frustrated by the false leads that others complained of. I would recommend the read because it's a departure from the formulaic murder mysteries that are so popular today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Frustrating - I am so baffled by positive reviews of this

    This was a halfway decent idea for a short story that was unforgivably stretched and padded into a novel. I'm not going to give anything away but for safety's sake I'll say SPOILER ALERT here. This is more of a How-Done-It than a Who-Done-It. But a How-Done-It generally can't take up more than 50 pages, and the author wants to make a hardcover bestseller score here. So he has the detectives in this story go into several lines of inquiry that you KNOW are going to end up being irrelevant to the solution. Do you know how frustrating it is to read an account of a charisma-free detective on a wild goose chase that you know as you're reading it is a wild goose chase? I hope you never find out. And even though the author tries to justify all his padding by tying all the irrelevant information together into the final solution (shame on anyone who was fooled by this), the fact remains that the detectives have all the evidence they need after the opening chapters and the rest of their investigation (and their interminable arguments with each other and insufferable inner monologues) is fluff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Problem Solving

    What’s more effective in solving a crime: a detective’s intuition and police skills, or the scientific method? This theme seems to be a recurring one in the author’s approach to crime fiction. In “The Devotion of Suspect X,” Mr. Higashino’s last book, a mathematician was pitted against physics professor Yukawa, also dubbed “Detective Galileo,” while an actual detective, Kusanagi, plied his trade using his intuition and other skills. In the present mystery, they repeat this dance in trying to solve what at first appears to be a perfect murder.

    The crime revolves around the death of a CEO by poisoning, and the investigation turns up no evidence of the source of the substance. It is quickly determined that this was not a case of suicide. The wife, usually a prime suspect, was thousands of miles away, and the paramour is also cleared. A junior detective, Kaoru Utsuni, stubbornly pursues the case, finally turning to the professor when neither she nor Kusanagi make any progress in solving the murder. And then the fun begins: logic vs. gut feeling.

    The author demonstrates a wonderful ability to wrap a puzzle within an enigma, supplying twist after twist to keep the pages turning, raising the tension as the investigation progresses. This is one clever plot, and the novel is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1