Customer Reviews for

Sam Saboura's Real Style: Expert Advice on how to Own It

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Yet another good one that actually has my body type

    It's not often that I read a fashion book that actually has advice for my body type. But here is one that does, and the advice works for me. I can't agree with everything in the book, but as Sam himself writes in it, 'this isn't the Constitution of style,' which means that I don't have to agree. It happens though that, as a fashionista, I do agree with a lot of what he has to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    A timeless and ageless reference for all body types

    This is the perfect book for all women of any age or shape. There are hundreds of helpful hints to finding your 'real style'. The book is also beautifully illustrated and very cleverly organized. I've bought several copies. It's a great gift for friends!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Sam's Saboura Real Style is a Fashion Find!!!

    I attended Sam's presentation and book-signing in Torrance, California, and had a wonderful, informative time. Sam is full of great fashion insights and has a terrific sense of humor. I broke out of my usual wardrobe style of jeans and boots for the evening, and really dressed for the event. Needles to say, Sam noticed the outfit and made some nice suggestions!! Of course I bought the book, and I'm delighted with all his practical style tips. I never realized how a little change here or there can make such a dramatic difference in the way an outfit looks. Now I need to purchase at least one more copy for my daughter's friend, because my daughter isn't willing to let go of ours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Fashionably Fun

    I don't normally read fashion books or magazines, but when a friend gave me a copy of this book I read it cover to cover. Why? Because Sam Saboura offers practical advice on how to have fun with fashion--no matter body type, budget or age. The book is written in a light-hearted style, but one senses that Saboura is on a mission to help every woman look and feel her personal best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Thank you, Sam

    There are lots of reasons this is a good book, but what matters most to me is that this is a helpful book. My body has changed in the last 10 years, and the style that¿s worked for a few decades no longer works. Sam¿s tips have got me trying different necklines, carefully avoiding certain cuts of pants, paying attention to various nuances of style, and not settling for something that¿s not right. And most important ¿ not giving up on finding what I need, or giving up on myself because I¿m older and larger than I once was. Some things are simple. For instance, I¿ve discovered I can wear a tank top. It¿s not my beefy arms that are the problem ¿ it was the V-neckline. Seriously! My conclusion is that it is worth it to re-train myself to dress the shape I have now. My experimental steps will be put to the test in two weeks at my class reunion. I¿ve used ¿Real Style¿ to guide almost every choice from neckline and sleeve-length to the foot petals in my gorgeous new shoes. I am going to that party confident, not self-conscious. Thanks, Sam!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    LOVE IT!

    Inspiring! REAL STYLE helps us REAL gals celebrate our curves and have fun with fashion again! Tons of tips, great illustrations and a fun read all around. I got my money's worth and then some!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    I never knew how easy and fun shopping could be!.

    I always hated shopping since nothing ever fit me the right way but for the first time I love it. Thanks to this book I can walk into a store and try something on that actually makes me look good. This book saved me a lot of time and frustration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Loved It!

    Where has Sam and his 'real style secrets' been all my life? He makes dressing well so simple with his tips and suggestions tailored to each woman's body type. Ok - time to shop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Truly for 'REAL' women!

    This book is great! I was a little skeptical that it would be written for all those size 0-2 figures but it truly covers all body types. I wish I could hire this guy to re-vamp my entire wardrobe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    We've Been Waiting for This

    At last: a book that shows women of all style and shapes how to look great whatever the occasion. Sam Saboura explains how to use clothing as a corrective tool, so that thick middle or short neck or flat chest fades into the background. It's the perfect read for any woman who wants to shine...without having to lose weight or go under the knife. This is definitely real style for real women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Wouldn't Be Caught Deadwith A Style Book--Until This One

    I've always had a sense of my own style--ask anyone. So my sister hands me this book and says she thinks it's pretty cool, I really didn't want to look at it. But I love my sister, and felt generous, so I took it from her and began paging through it. First picture I saw was the different length of pants...next I saw the different body types...and for once, I saw brown skin, black skin, and large curvacious women looking mighty fine. Then I referenced the text, laid out in graphically easy to glance at sections....cool. Over a few days I did this in twenty minute increments. Then I emailed my sister: You know, this book really has something. It's not just how to look good based on somebody's crackpot notion within a narrow body type. This is a book for women, glorious in all sizes and shapes, encouraging pride in beauty, with tips at all price ranges. And since I am one of those real women, I'll also say: I am fiftysomething, and it's hard to find anything that allows me to strut my stuff age appropriately...this book gives me hope and more importantly, tips that I can use. Thanks Sam, L.G. and Bunky (the illustrator, who is more than awesome). Hats off (not that I wear them) to you. M.G.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1