Customer Reviews for

An Avon True Romance: Samantha and the Cowboy

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    a fabulous book!

    i can honestly say that i normally hate romance novels. this one, however, i LOVED. it's fun and a great read, and i loved the historical accuracy. what i was REALLY impressed with, however, is lorraine heath's use of dialog and nicknames. its believable, because we (my friends, family, and I) talk just like the characters. we also use nicknames (like the characters Slim and Squirrel) that are very similar. i found samantha very easy to relate to, and admire her bravery on the cattle trails. i know from experience that men, women, and cattle dont mix without arguments! it's like the Amanda Bynes movie She's the Man with a classic, historical fiction twist!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Extremely Romantic

    This is a WONDERFUL book. It is so much like my favorite book of all time which is probably why I liked it. Matt is determed to hate Samantha when he finds out she's a girl but he can't and ends up falling in love *sigh*

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Sky

    Hey britta. Sierra got locked out of book she said to move to the next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Britta 7:49

    XD I still have 'I Wouldn't Mind' stuck in my heeeead. Did you look it up? O.O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Sky

    What is it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    I like westerns. Story kept my interest.

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    This book was written for teens

    Good book for teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Ehhh

    Pretty boring to me. The story was slow and it had no actual "hurray at the end" just "wow that's it".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!

    this was a superb book! i love historical fiction and romance and this had both! the romance was perfect cause there wasnt any bed scenes, but just enough for you to see the connection b/w the characters. i REALLY urge every one to read it! it is a book that you shouldn't miss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    An Amazing Book

    When I first picked up this book I was not sure that I would like it. I am not a big fan of westerns and cowboys because my dad tortures me with western movies. But after reading this book...I love cowboys! This book was so wonderful. I read it in one day when I was supposed to be cleaning my room. Everyone should read this book...well everyone who loves romance. Don't be afraid to try it like I was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    It might be me...

    It might just be me, but I didn't really like this book. I don't think I related with Samantha that much or something. Or maybe I just didn't like Matt. Either way, it is not my favorite in the Avon True Romance series (it's a tie between Anna and the Duke, Emily and the Scot).I couldn't believe this book was written by the same author as Amelia and the Outlaw, since that is my third favorite. Who knows? I maybe was just in a bad mood when I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Samantha and the Cowboy

    This is a wonderful book. I love Matt's shock at finding out that the Sam, boy he convinced his boss to take along on the cattle drive is actually Samantha, a girl! Although at first Matt is furious, he finds himself falling for the stubborn, strong-willed girl who dressed as a boy to save her family. And Samantha, in turn, finds herself falling for Matt. This book is a little less tame than the other books (nothing X-rated!!). I like that in a romance novel, it makes it more intersting, yet not disgusting as some adult novels are. (Hint on this: the cowboys on the drive usually go skinny-dipping... because of course they are all men... or so they think!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    oustanding!!!

    I thought this book was excelent!!! I love how sam gets to enjoy skinny-dippin with the fellas. lol I thought this book was great. It's my fav.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    This book is SOOOOOOOOO good.

    The book was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good. I could not put it down until I was finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Page Turner!

    I love this book! Everything about it, once you start reading you can't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    Samantha and the Cowboy

    This book was actually the second True Romance that i read. I really liked how the author write the story. In order to helped her family out, Samantha pretented to be a boy to help out in a ranch for money. She fell in love with a cowboy and tried to resist because he will be mad when he found out she is a girl. The cowboy eventually found out Samantha is a girl...and at first he was furious but he started falling in love with her too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Rockin' Romance

    Great book! Just the right amounts of comedy and romance. One of my personal favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    the best story ever!!

    this book will make you fall from you chair! it was the best story i've ever read. if you love romance i recommend this one 100% just read it. at the beggining you sort of doubt about it, but believe me, it deserves more that five stars. i read it three times in two days and i think to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2003

    Way Cool

    This book is amazing I loved it .It is a page turner .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3