Customer Reviews for

Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Average Rating 4.5
( 1457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(925)

4 Star

(286)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(74)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

This book is a blessing to be shared!

A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly voluntee...
A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly volunteers, at the insistence of his wife, Debbie, at a homeless shelter, where he meets Denver Moore, a homeless man. Thus the story begins and will stir you beyond words. There is such strength of the human spirit, super sense of humor and great heart. There's love, respect, admiration, and human dignity.

Some terms they used, "Guilt pierced me like a spike", and "Nearly drowned in the wave of regret."...were priceless!

I love this book because of the way it makes me feel! Buy tons of this book to give as gifts.a true gift of love!

Other books I've read that I loved because of the way they made me feel.THE SHACK, ROSEFLOWER CREEK, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.And I bought these books also to give as inspiring gifts.

posted by sweetpeaSP on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Evangelical Propaganda

Got to page 128 before my suspision kicked in and I realized where this story was heading. This is just an expanded version of the little booklets that the religious fanatics hand out in public. Redemption and eternal life if you worship their god.

posted by Mystert on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1467 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a blessing to be shared!

    A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

    A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly volunteers, at the insistence of his wife, Debbie, at a homeless shelter, where he meets Denver Moore, a homeless man. Thus the story begins and will stir you beyond words. There is such strength of the human spirit, super sense of humor and great heart. There's love, respect, admiration, and human dignity.

    Some terms they used, "Guilt pierced me like a spike", and "Nearly drowned in the wave of regret."...were priceless!

    I love this book because of the way it makes me feel! Buy tons of this book to give as gifts.a true gift of love!

    Other books I've read that I loved because of the way they made me feel.THE SHACK, ROSEFLOWER CREEK, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.And I bought these books also to give as inspiring gifts.

    50 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    A must-read for everyone!!

    Ron Hall and Denver Moore (with Lynn Vincent) have beautifully written their deeply touching, compelling story. These two men from opposite ends of society are drawn together by the faith and love of Ron's wife, Deborah. They become dear, lifelong friends who ultimately change the lives of many. In alternating chapters, each man describes his own background and later, their shared experiences from his own point of view.
    Ron Hall, who has an MBA, was a wealthy, international art dealer.rich in worldly goods but poor in spirit. Denver Moore, who grew up picking cotton in slavery-like conditions.later upgrades to life on the streets of Fort Worth, TX. Deborah Hall's deep desire was to live her Christian faith and to love others unconditionally. Therefore, she volunteered at a Fort Worth homeless shelter, insisting that Ron accompany her and befriend a reluctant Denver. As their friendship evolves, they teach each other about faith and love. Deborah's compassion and profound love for the Lord changes all their lives forever.
    This is an incredibly inspirational story overflowing with life's lessons and words of wisdom that captured my heart with the very first words. It demonstrates how helping others really does make a difference. I absolutely love this book. It makes me want to be a better person and inspires me to make the world a better place. Also, it's important to see people as God sees them and not as they might appear to me. This unforgetable story will live in my heart forever.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    INSPIRATION ALL THE WAY!!!!

    This is a heartwarming, soul-searching, gutwrenching masterpiece that will absolutely fill your heart!!!! HUMAN DIGNITY!!!!

    Two other masterpieces I'd like to suggest is THE HELP by Kathryn Stockett and EXPLOSION IN PARIS by Linda Pirrung....HUMAN DIGNITY!! YES!!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Prepare to Be Deeply Touched (read with a box of tissue)

    The Characters:
    Ron Hall - an international art dealer filled with preconceived notions about homeless people.

    Denver Moore - a homeless man who used to be a modern-day slave in a Louisiana plantation.

    Debbie Hall - the woman who persevered in bringing these two men together.

    The Story:
    Same Kind of Different as Me is the story of these two men, coming from totally different backgrounds, and how they have come together to build up a relationship that is filled with love, forgiveness and perseverance through hard times.

    My review:
    Seems like a plot from a movie, right? Amazingly, it is not. Instead, it is the true and amazing story of these two men and how their lives intertwined. Moreover, it is really the story of how God uses the unexpected, the unwanted to change the life of another.

    At first glance, I honestly thought that I would be bored with this book. But after reading the first few chapters, I found myself hooked and can hardly stop to put the book down. The story of these two men is so profoundly moving that it also posed a challenge in how I live my own life.

    This is a truly wonderful book and must be read by everyone. You will be encouraged and inspired to make the most of your life as you read Same Kind of Different as Me.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Booksneeze as part of their Book Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    I Loved this book!

    Not too many books effect me enough to make me cry but this one did. Again it reminds us that there is goodness in people and that there is more to people than what we asssume them to be.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    A beautiful book and a real blessing to read

    I could not put the book down once I started reading it. Ron Hall weaves a powerful story of three people whose backgrounds could not be more different and you can't wait to see how their lives intersect. However, I found myself dreading to read the part of the book about Debbie's diagnosis, treatment and death. Ron handles all of this and more in such a poignant way in telling the story of these amazing people. The dying process is not beautiful but the way that it was borne by Debbie and her famly is beautiful and is clearly shown in the book. It is truly a blessing to read. I hope we will hear more from Ron Hall and more about the legacy that Debbie left.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Same Kind Of Different As Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore

    An unlikely friendship formed between Ron and Denver, at the urging of a woman listening to God. Ron is an art dealer and hobnobs with high society. Denver was an uneducated black man from the cotton fields of the south who hopped a train one day. The woman was Ron's wife, Deborah, who to Denver became known as Miss Debbie.

    When "Same Kind Of Different As Me" first arrived at my house, my ten year old son snatched it up and took it away to read. He kept trying to tell me all about it, but I told him to wait until I had a chance to read it and not spoil the surprise. Let me just say that he loved it.

    When I first picked up this book to read, I had a hard time getting into it, but as I pressed on. The story pulled me in and by about half way through, I couldn't put it down.

    This book was raw, real, and revealing. In places, it drove me to tears. This book inspired me, challenged me, and caused me to think deeply about a great many things. It drove me out of my comfort zone by the words of a black man with a heart of gold. True friendship was forged through struggles and tragedy, and polished by heartache.

    If you are looking for a good read or need to be shaken out of complacency like I was, then I would highly recommend this book.

    Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Amazing Read!! Highly Recommend

    What an amazing book! Same Kind of Different As Me is told by Ron Hall - a wealthy art collector - & Denver Moore - a man who escaped slavery from a Louisiana plantation. The books goes back & forth between both men's lives to show how they are intertwined. Denver has become a transient after leaving the plantation & meets Deborah Hall (Ron's wife) who graciously helps him. When reading Ron's parts of the story, you will meet a man who is so in love with his wife as she is battling cancer.




    This book truly shows you both sides of the coin - rich & poor, black & white. But it also shows you just how compassionate people are. I highly recommend this amazing book. Once you start reading it, you won't want to put it down!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Inspirational true story!

    Same Kind of Different as Me tells the story of two men: an older, black, homeless man and a wealthy, white art dealer. Denver Moore is a vagabond who made his was to Fort Worth, Texas several years ago, leaving a life of modern day slavery, sharecropping, and crime back in Louisiana. Ron Hall is a wealthy, international art dealer who drives a Rolls and wears Armani. They are brought together by Ron's wife, who has a heart for the homeless in their area, and isn't content to stand by and do nothing.

    Themes such as love, commitment, friendship, loyalty, forgiveness, and dedication are all addressed in this amazing true story. Along with it, though, are stories of pain, heartbreak, and turmoil. It is a testament to the faith of one woman who brought together two unlikely men in a unique friendship. A friendship that not only would survive the tumultuous waves of life, but that would make huge strides in changing the world.

    Above just being an inspiring story, this book is a challenge to those of us who live comfortable lives. A calling to those of us who wake up, drive to work, and come home to dinner and a sitcom. It is a call to stand up and do something for humanity. It is a challenge to change lives, and in the process, maybe reform our own.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    A good read

    Same Kind of Different as Me: a modern-day slave, an international art dealer, and the unlikely woman who bound them together

    Ron Hall & Denver Moore with Lynn Vincent

    As I started this book I first struggled to connect with the characters: one very wealthy, one very poor. I was able to get through that. The book alternates between the two authors leading us their separate paths that eventual join together.

    I appreciated the look into not only urban poverty and homelessness but perpetual rural poverty. It made me think about some of my Kenyan friends who claimed all Americans are rich. Many of us forget running water is not ubiquitous even in the US.

    I enjoyed the vernacular writing of Denver, who made me read his parts in the voice of my great-uncle Bob. Deborah and family's battle with cancer, told through her husband, will bring tears to any married man.There is so much this book touches, and I suppose that is because it is a story of lives.

    Most importantly, it shows honest relationships among people and with God. The book reveals the love of God pouring through those who will let Him to actually alter the course of another person. I am thankful for the sacrifices of those written about, such as Sister Bettie, selling her home and moving in to the shelter to care for the homeless.

    This book gives me hope that relationships of radical love can open pockets of God's kingdom on earth.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    A look into the life of a homeless person and know that they are people too.

    I work with a homeless outreach program and this really touched home. Everyone thinks that all homeless persons are bad. There are many out there who will give you the shirts off their back. Maybe this book will make people think twice before judging people by their looks.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    An Inspiring Story of Love, Forgiveness and Faith

    This is such a wonderful story it touched my heart and my social consciousness. I found the author's introspective to be a honest reflection of many of our own personal lives. To see all three of these real people trimph, in their own way, over their personal, social and spritual road blocks was inspiring. Oh, you should also be ready to laugh out loud...after all, life is filled with lots of joy and sadness. This book gives you both!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    WHO THEY ARE TO ME

    Three people, different lives, knit together in time. As you read the pages of these lives, and see the struggles and victories. You will cry, laugh,and get angry at the injustice. This is a book that shows lives can be brought together,and used in a very glorious way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    A Heart for God: A Heart for Man

    This is the most moving book I have ever read. I was so inspired that Ron and Deborah determined not to be 'put-off' by the outward appearance, but to know the soul of the man, Denver. And what a treasure they did find! The wisdom that pours from Denver is overwhelming. I would love to sit at his feet and have him teach me. I have already purchased 10 books to give away and I need to order more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Read a book that will make a difference in your life

    This book should be required reading for every American as soon as he or she can read and comprehend. This story of friendship, hope, sadness and courage is what we need more of these days when our nation is threatened by those who would seek to divide us along the lines of color or language, wealth or poverty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    LOVE this story

    The story is told alternately between two very different men brought together by an amazing woman. It's a good book that can change your perspective, and this one does. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Great Read

    Excellent book to read. This book will help with understanding the blurred lines between culture and race.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    I loved this book. Coming from the Midwest we have no idea what

    I loved this book. Coming from the Midwest we have no idea what life was like in the South and reading how this happened in my parents' lifetime was amazingly eye-opening. The book keeps you wanting to find out what happens next; it is full of inspiration and faith, yet also portrays prejudice and anger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I haven't even finished reading the book yet but I would highly

    I haven't even finished reading the book yet but I would highly recommend it to anyone! A beautiful story about God's love, forgiveness and His perfect plan in bringing two very different men together in a friendship to last a lifetime. The book has already challenged me to look at people through God's eyes and not my own and to reach out to someone who I might feel is unreachable because God's limitless love knows knows bounds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Loved this book so much I read the follow up book "What dif

    Loved this book so much I read the follow up book "What difference do it make." I was curious as to why some would give a 1 or 2 star rating. I was disappointed to see those that did so only did because they did not believe in God therefore the story was not a good book. This is a heartwarming, endearing book. Someone said only the Hall's church friend and family gave this a high rating. Sorry, I do not know these authors at all. I stumbled upon the book myself and fell in love. I even googled Denver wanting to meet and chat with the man but sadly found that he has passed on. Yes, if you are an atheist or agnostic, you may not believe the book. However I suggest reading it anyway. I enjoy reading how those with troubles pull through hard times; it is sad to think others simply think it is hogwash because of a difference of opinion. Talk about needing to open your eyes. I realize any book based on fact is still fabricated here and there-how can you possibly remember everything/every word? But this book is based on learning to accept life and be happy with what you have. And yes, this man has God in his life. I recommended this book to many people. I walked away feeling better about life, circumstances and it lifted my spirit up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1467 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74