Customer Reviews for

Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Average Rating 4.5
( 1468 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(931)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(74)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

55 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

This book is a blessing to be shared!

A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly voluntee...
A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly volunteers, at the insistence of his wife, Debbie, at a homeless shelter, where he meets Denver Moore, a homeless man. Thus the story begins and will stir you beyond words. There is such strength of the human spirit, super sense of humor and great heart. There's love, respect, admiration, and human dignity.

Some terms they used, "Guilt pierced me like a spike", and "Nearly drowned in the wave of regret."...were priceless!

I love this book because of the way it makes me feel! Buy tons of this book to give as gifts.a true gift of love!

Other books I've read that I loved because of the way they made me feel.THE SHACK, ROSEFLOWER CREEK, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.And I bought these books also to give as inspiring gifts.

posted by sweetpeaSP on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Evangelical Propaganda

Got to page 128 before my suspision kicked in and I realized where this story was heading. This is just an expanded version of the little booklets that the religious fanatics hand out in public. Redemption and eternal life if you worship their god.

posted by Mystert on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A beautifully written book touched with spirtuality, love and passion for mankind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    hkd

    Hsknduxid

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Best book I have EVER read

    This should be required reading for all! The other reviews got it right, this book is AMAZING, engaging, and life changing! I am passing it around to my family, then I want to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Disappointing. Would not recommend.

    I was hyped up about reading this book from reading the many excellent reviews. I did not enjoy the book. I did not connect with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Not a good read for an agnostic or atheist.

    It was a nice story, but for someone who just doesn't believe that a god in the universe is participating in my life, I found it mythical. I would say that a 'psychology of religion' is working for the people in this story. I believe that the mind is very powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    Not as good as it claims but still a good read

    From the beginning I was a bit skeptical of this book as it claimed to have a story that no fiction writer would dare to tell. This is quite the claim and I must say that I was a bit disappointed to find that the book did not live up to its claim.

    Don't get me wrong it is an interesting story and one that isn't often on a best seller list. But it is a story that repeats itself time and time again in the lives and hearts of many people who work with a population that is less privileged than your "typical" American family. From that point of view good on you Ron and Denver for sharing your story in a way that the general American public will wake up and say HEY there are people who need loving and that by loving them I will actually be the one that is getting the blessing just by knowing someone outside of my safety zone.

    The style of writing in the book I found a bit repetitious at time as the same time point was retold a minimum of two times by two different speakers. This is a tricky voice in a book to pull off successfully and while some events I found that the retelling enhanced the story others made me what to skip a few pages and continue with the real meat of the story.

    Finally I felt that some of the stories shared (for example: the something in Denver's old shack) did nothing for character development or for the story itself.

    Those comments aside it is a moving story and one that does make you think about your comfort zone and how you can go about increasing your circle of love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    Disappointing

    Does anyone see a resemblance to The Soloist?

    I'm so bored with this book that I won't even bother looking up which book came first. Same premise: haughty self-centered rich white guy feels guilty for having money, befriends a black homeless guy for the wrong reasons at first, but learns to love the man in the end.

    And can anyone speak the truth about this book?

    The homeless man says all the profound stuff, turns out to be more worldly and wise than the rich man. The woman is an almost fictional Super Woman, who dreams about the homeless man and the great things he will one day do and forces her husband to befriend him. From then on, the rich man learns many life lessons and becomes a better person. Then the book turns into an easy tear-jerker.

    I read this on my Kindle and when I read the reviews, found that most gave the highest rating. But then I realized that many of the reviewers were mostly friends, family and members of the same church as the Halls.

    While I appreciate the family's tragic story and wish nothing but healing, strength and great faith to the Halls, I don't think it makes a very original book. I'm tired of making sure all the white rich people feel guilty. Can we move on to the next trend?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4