Customer Reviews for

Same Kind of Different as Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Average Rating 4.5
( 1468 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(931)

4 Star

(291)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(74)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

This book is a blessing to be shared!

A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly voluntee...
A MUST READ!! TRULY LIFE-CHANGING! This excellent, witty, honest, unpretentious, poignant true story will bless all who read it. It will encourage, inspire and move you beyond sitting in church for years.

A wealthy international art dealer, Ron, reluctantly volunteers, at the insistence of his wife, Debbie, at a homeless shelter, where he meets Denver Moore, a homeless man. Thus the story begins and will stir you beyond words. There is such strength of the human spirit, super sense of humor and great heart. There's love, respect, admiration, and human dignity.

Some terms they used, "Guilt pierced me like a spike", and "Nearly drowned in the wave of regret."...were priceless!

I love this book because of the way it makes me feel! Buy tons of this book to give as gifts.a true gift of love!

Other books I've read that I loved because of the way they made me feel.THE SHACK, ROSEFLOWER CREEK, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and WHISTLING IN THE DARK.And I bought these books also to give as inspiring gifts.

posted by sweetpeaSP on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Evangelical Propaganda

Got to page 128 before my suspision kicked in and I realized where this story was heading. This is just an expanded version of the little booklets that the religious fanatics hand out in public. Redemption and eternal life if you worship their god.

posted by Mystert on August 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Pretty good

    Amazing start, life changing as people say. I felt the characters were portrayed as too saintly. They did not feel real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    OverRated

    Nice story but very predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Good story, narrative was off...

    Ehh...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    This book is a for sure read!

    Highly recommend this book- I could not put it down- what a great story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Sweet Story, But Not Quite for Me

    It's hard to argue with a book that has such a cheery outlook on life. "The Same Kind of Different" tells the story of two very different men - one rich, one poor - who end up becoming friends and working together to create a better world for the homeless.

    On the one hand, this book presents Christianity in a good light. Nowadays, that's not always an easy task. And if Christians acted half as loving and generous as the ones in this book, I think the religion would certainly be better for it. The stories in this book are compelling, and the narrators are humble which makes much of the God talk easier to bear.

    On the other hand, it is a very Pollyanna-ish story, and one that I personally found difficult to fully believe. I can't help but wonder if the facts bear up to the legend. As a natural-born cynic, I'm putting this book in the 'things too good to be true' category.

    But if you enjoy uplifting stories, and you can appreciate the fact that maybe God really does work in the lives of ordinary men and women, then you will probably enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    interesting informative

    i enjoyed about the first two-thirds of this book. It became a bit
    too "full of angels and special powers to see the future".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Inspirational Book

    I read this book as part of a book club. I was not excited about it at first, but was quickly shocked by the amount of processing it made me do. It is not a book you can just read and enjoy, this book requires reflection and delving into the story. Although inspiring, it was also heartwarming and heartbreaking. I really enjoyed the book, but others have enjoyed it even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Sentimental

    Its a sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    good book

    wow! I find the spelling in some of these reviews really embarrassingly bad. Miricle? Insirational? Serioulsy? Chanbe? As my mother taught me many years ago, look it up in the dictionary if you are not sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Excellent!!

    This book makes you stop and think. No matter who you are, remember that we are all the same. Some valuble lessons are learned by the most unexpected people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Worth Reading

    The story is on the lines of the Blindside. Has a strong religous undertone. It took me several chapters to get into the book, but then I was hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Same Kind of Different As Me

    What will -I- do when -my- beloved dies? I hope bear it with the grace Denver does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Moving

    This was a very well written book! It had a slow connecting plot, but the end was worth it! I give this book a three star rating. It doesn't compare to the Help!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Review

    I read the Same Kind of Different as Me a while ago but am just now reviewing it. It is the story of an art dealer with a zealous wife that had her life dramatically altered by helping out with the homeless through their church. Along the way, he meets Denver who was a former slave but was now a runaway after various issues he encountered earlier in life. Ron's wife Deborah was the one to really initiate the beginning of the family's relationship with Denver and it ended up being one where they were able to bless each other in different ways. Eventually, Deborah gets extremely sick and ends up dying yet the relationship with Ron and Denver goes on.

    In general, the book tended to carry with it a fairly sappy tone that was fairly hard to shake throughout reading it which was unfortunate because this truly was an incredible story of two polar opposites(seemingly in every way) forming an incredible friendship. I think part of this stems from it being responsive to the death of Deborah because she is made out to be a little too perfect, which is understandable given the relationship they each had with her, but it detracts from the title(and hence, purpose) of the book. I think the biggest thing to take from this was that we have the ability to learn so much from our interactions with people of all different kinds. Our shared humanity with others is enough to not simply write them off or assume who/what they are but to fully seek to reach out to others. This is a crucial takeaway from this book that hopefully encourages many people to look into strangers eyes and look beyond their exterior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A different kind of book

    Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore with Lynn Vincent is the heartrending story which makes you realize what you are doing in your life and what is your purpose. I have not experienced such a gracious writing in any other book while showcasing three different characters and their exciting intersection of lives. This is the story of Deborah, Ron and Denver, three people from completely different backgrounds and the way their life interests marks an exciting read. From twentieth-century slavery to multi-million-dollar art sales and everything in between, it is hard to keep this book down.
    This book is a tribute to Ron's wife and Denver's mentor, Debbie. The way she decided to follow the way of God, Ron's belief and Denver's share of faith makes it a must read. An act which emerges from the faith of Debbie not only roots the freedom to Denver from a life of slavery but also strengthens the faith of her husband Ron.
    The part of the story describing the last days of Debbie are very emotional. It won't be surprising if you start crying out loud while reading this book. This book contains a very important lesson which if we learn can make our life happy and useful to us and others. This masterwork inspires you in the life to live everyday as it is the last day of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Don't Judge; Just Reach Out

    PROS: This is a true story of a wealthy art dealer and his family and a homeless man from the streets of Fort Worth, TX. The book was collaboration by the two men to tell the story of how Debbie Hall, wife of Ron Hall, was responsible for bringing them together and how their lives were changed forever. Denver Moore tells his story of growing up in Louisiana as a virtual slave on a cotton plantation, and his eventual escape to the frightening world of the homeless people of the cities. Ron Hall tells of his lower middle class upbringing, and his education and introduction into the world of art. We are also introduced to Debbie Hall, and we follow the events of her work and dedication with the homeless and her subsequent battle with colon and liver cancer that takes her life. This story encourages us to step out of our comfort zone and help others and to remember that people are people: some just don't have the same opportunities as others -sometimes due to birth and sometimes due to poor choices. "Don't judge; just reach out" is the theme of this book.
    CONS: The book can be tedious because of long, drawn-out "preachy" sections. I felt these sections of the book detracted from the story and made the book seemingly endless. I also had problems with some of the emotional and religious views expressed concerning the illness of Debbie Hall. I think, however, that this is a personal thing for each reader to determine.
    These two men have been interviewed on several television shows, and they have made public appearances at numerous events in Texas. Some are chronicled in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    A little disappointing

    Same Kind of Different as Me wasn't a "bad" book, just not amazing either. A good read nonetheless.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Lessons learned from making new friends

    Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall and Denver Moore is a story worth reading. It is a great encouragement to befriend people you typically might not. Everyone has a story and God is interested in it and so should we. The story of Denver is the story of a modern day slave who escaped from a plantation. He becomes a share cropper who become stuck in the same cycle that had enslaved his family for generations. Ron Hall is a man with a radically different life. He grew up poor in Texas on the farm. After college he married a lady who would become a Christina in their first two years of marriage. Ron's wife's desire to give back to the community causes the condition where Ron and Denver meet. Ron is better better able to learn more about himsled from learning about Denver's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7