Customer Reviews for

The Same Stuff as Stars

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    The Same Stuff as Stars

    The Same Stuff as Stars HarperCollins, 2002, 265 pp, $6.99
    Katherine Paterson ISBN 978-0-06-0555712-5

    Abandoned. Does that word sound familiar to you? This book is a powerful look at how children are abandoned by their mother and left at some relative's house that they barely know. An eleven year old girl Angel and her seven year old brother Bernie have to figure out how to live in their current conditions with their great-grandmother's house without her mother.
    Verna, Angel, and Bernie live in a bad situation. Angles and Bernie's dad is in jail and their mother doesn't really know how take care of Angel and Bernie. One day Verna abandoned Angel and Bernie at their great-grandmother's house. I felt really bad for Angel and Bernie when I heard this news. Along the way, Angel meets a star man who teaches Angel about the stars and constellations.
    I thought the way the author described how a young girl could become a leader was really excellent. I was really into this book and the author helped make the book emotional. The book really touched me in the heart. This book is pretty heavy. The author used many descriptive words to explain a character. I would recommend this book for people who like to read heavy books and people who like to read realistic fiction.
    Will Verna ever come back for Angel and Bernie? Will Angel and Bernie's dad get out of jail? Read this book to find out!

    -Joel James

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Probobly the best book you will ever read

    This book was an excelent story. I just never wanted to put it down! It was so interesting! It was writen extremely well, too. I loved it so much!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    super good

    i really recommend this book because it is really intersting. this book makes me want to keep reading and hardly anybooks make we want to keep read. i am really picky about what books are good and this is a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    'Wanna Know What A Real Book Is?...Well Here It Is.'

    Ive read many books in my life, comedy, romance, mystory, scarey, stupid, inmature, but nothing like this. This book really touched my heart in many ways. Before I read this book, I thought that my life was a total waist. Now beleiveing that others have a more worse life than I. I have came to a thought that lifes a game.......sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. But in the end it all depends on you. And if you dont want to fight, then why are you here? sincereley, Danielle Martin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    A MUST READ BOOK!

    I loved this book! I laughed and cryed through the whole thing! Angel Morgan is a girl you can relate to, even my friends agree. There is really no specific age group for this. My teacher recommended it to me because she loves it! You might even want to go grab some Sugar Pops to eat while reading. Bernie certainly would!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    READ IT READ IT READ IT!!!!

    This book definitley made me cry. I recomend this to anyone! I would hate to be Angel! Daddy In Jail, Mama is always gone...poor thing!I think evryone should read this book so they can realize how good they have it in their own life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    Grace 12 yrs old CT

    Great book. I loved the reality. It made me realize how lucky i was not to be in this girls position. I would recommend it to ages 10-13. If you luva book you cant put down, and makes you want to cry, ......read it.........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Haven't read it but sounds good. Haven/ Haven't read it yet bu sounds good?

    Just read it awsome or what????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2005

    Sad, Touching AND Lyrical

    This book was very good, and I couldn't put it down. The sappiness wasn't overdone, the book was heartwarming, a sure classic to treasure! 10 A+ 98

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Awesome Book!

    Katherine Paterson does a great job at putting a real life problem into a story. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    Miraculous and heart-warming

    This book was both miraculous and heart-warming. Everything about it seemed so realistic.I would definitely read another book by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    Very good

    This book is about Angel and her family. I would recommend this book to any age. Highly Recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Where were these books when I was a kid?

    I recommend this book with passion to all my students. Even the ones with idyllic homelives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    the magnificent

    this book was absolutely marvelous. i enjoyed every second of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Predictable Paterson

    This reads very much like most Katherine Paterson books, but it is still worth the read. I'm part of a mother/daughter bookclub (I'm a mom) and I'm hoping they will decide to read this, mostly because the main character's life is so very different from the life of our daughters and it's good to be exposed to other's lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    BORING!!!

    This book was so boring! I did not enjoy it and it was not moving. It was a typical boring book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A GREAT STORIE OF POWER AND STRENGTH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Great Book!

    This is a great book! Recomended to all! It just sucks you in and you don't want to stop reading it! Love Katherine P!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Awesome Book!

    At first I only chose the book because i needed to read a book for AR points but once i started to read the story it just draws you in, and only a good book has that capabilty! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Read this book!!!!!!!!

    Reserve a spot on a long car trip for this book! It is very captivating and moving. I loved all the characters, Angel, the 'Star Man.' I even cried at some parts . READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2