Customer Reviews for

The Same Sweet Girls

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fab Read

I couldn't put it down right up to the outstanding ending. Character development was well thought out. I never had trouble following it and it was a delectable summer read. Kept me wanting more. It delivered.

posted by Salgal on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just okay

I guess if your looking for a fluff book its okay at best. But there's certainly no susbstance or humor to the book. Our book club gave it a thumbs down.

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Fab Read

    I couldn't put it down right up to the outstanding ending. Character development was well thought out. I never had trouble following it and it was a delectable summer read. Kept me wanting more. It delivered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Just okay

    I guess if your looking for a fluff book its okay at best. But there's certainly no susbstance or humor to the book. Our book club gave it a thumbs down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    A TOUCHING STORY OF FRIENDSHIP

    The word 'girls' is often used as an euphemism, and it is again in Cassandra King's touching second novel. The girls are six women who have been friends since college. To celebrate this bond they meet twice a year to fill each other in on what has gone on in their lives and enjoy each others' company. This story is told by three of the women whose voices are adroitly captured by actress Patricia Kalember. A veteran of stage, screen and television, Ms. Kalember inhabits the personas of a rambunctious, fun loving gal, a rather proper governor's wife, and an avant garde artist. She does all of this with grace and charm. Ms. King is an author of considerable talent as she has the ability to both move and amuse with a turn of her pen. Many will remember with pleasure 'The Sunday Wife,' in which it was discovered that she had the ability to evoke Southern scenes as skillfully as her husband, author Pat Conroy. The girls in Ms. King's latest novel are now reaching 50 and coming to terms with many of the decisions they have made in life. The first lady of Alabama, Julia Stovall, has joined her husband at the pinnacle of their state's political life, yet she has obligations that either bore or weary her and her husband's bodyguard may be irresistible. Lanier Sanders is separated from her husband. Evidently, temptation was too difficult to resist. And, Corrine Cooper, while she has attained success as an artist is plagued by depression and an ex-husband who seeks to keep her from her son. While these problems are challenging, they become almost inconsequential when one of the group faces what for all of us would be the most difficult crisis of all. How they band together at such a time is warm reminder of the value of true friendship. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    MagiKKal

    Okay. Stop trying to lose weight and start tryig to gain it. I'm 12 and 100 pounds, give or take, and I'd been the skinniest kid in my class until sixth grade. I'm in seventh now and at a healthy weight. I know someone who weighs 65 pounds. She'a also about four and a half feet tall, but she's still super skimpy. Your weight shouldn't matter for your age. It's height. I'm 5' 2", so my weight is fine. If you're four and a half to five feet, you should be at least 90 pounds. If you're five to five and a half, at least a hundred is healthy. If you're five feet or taller, you should NOT be under 90 pounds, because that's very unhealthy. <p>Still, I think the chapter is good. Keep going, girl!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Once Upon A Life- Chapter 2

    I walked through the doors of Oblock Jr. Highschool, and was immedietly overrun by people. I pushed through crowds and finnaly made it to my locker. I put in my combination, 3-21-13 , and out of the corner of my eye he was standing there. He stood there knawing on an apple, his perfect hair and his freckles....mmmm. He was standing by my locker. <p>I looked up at him and smiled. He smiled back. "Hey, my name is Brady, need help with your stuff?" He said. <br>"Oh, um no thanks," I said. He looked at me "What do you call yourself?" He asked. Im a mess. What was I doing? "My name is Marlena. Call me Mars." He laughed. He flicked my nose and stalked off calling "Mars, see you around"<p>As you can proably tell, we started dating. All was good until....<p>"Yah he said how he doesn't even like you", "He wishes you were skinnier" were a few thing my friends Luke and richie told me. I went to my friend John. I love him like a brother. He let me cry on his shoulder, he hugged me, sent me texts. Brady got worse, and so did I. You wanna know why Im 14 and Im 85 pounds. Ask Brady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Great read!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite Read!

    I love this book. I have read it a few times and it's a book that I can continue to go back to every few years. This book sends you on an emotional roller-coaster. I cried, I laughed, I got mad, hurt and hopeful. The friendships are very real and true to life and most times enviable. While reading you feel like another member of their tight knit little group and I haven't read a book since this one that invited me into their world and enveloped me in it. I can't imagine anyone not liking it, but to each his own I guess. I would really suggest reading this to anyone who loves to get lost in another world when they read a book, I don't think you'll be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Unanswered Questions

    This book was great the first few chapters in but became a disappointment in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Great Summer Read

    I thought this book was really good. Sometimes it is hard to follow because each chapter is by a different character which I found distracting at times. But overall, I really enjoyed the friendship between the SSG's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    The characters in the book were totally real to life. I felt all the way through the book that I was on vacation with my best friends. I was very sorry the book had to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Well, overall it was mildly entertaining. I found it to be rather bland and anti-climactic. A good read if you are bored and have nothing better to do, but not a real page turner. I was expecting more spunk and stronger ties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    Nothing Special

    I was anxious to read this book because I too have a strong core group of friends, but was disappointed in the story line. It was kinda boring and there was too many undeveloped stories mixed in. Found it to be drawn out and I never felt connected to these women

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2006

    Good Read

    I liked this book. It was easy to get into and the characters were like normal people that you have relationships with throughout your life. They deal with problems that most of us have/will come across. This is a book about friendships and life relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    An endearing story

    Same Sweet Girls is a fascinating story of five friends who share bi-annual moments together. For so long, the friendship has been tested and proven to be deep and genuine. It portrayed their different lives, failures, sucesses, hopes, dreams, regrets, pains and convictions.An inspiring page turner, Same Sweet Girls has a great plot and marvellous characterization. Above all, it shows the strength of friendship, of having someone who has your back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Our group agreed

    Because this book got such raves, everyone in my book club was disappointed. The characters were unbelievable and their situations all failed to come to any sort of satisfactory result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2005

    A must read for anyone who values their girlfriends!!

    This book had a 'Ya-Ya esque' feel to it. It is witty and heart warming, as well as heart breaking. The friendships in this book are poignant. It is a must read for anyone who thinks your friends need to be just like you....to be your best friends. It exemplifies acceptance and forgiveness...a lesson I needed to be reminded of!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    A Glimpse into Humanity

    This is a lovely tale and it takes you into the places of your heart that are not easily accessible. You want to know these women and perhaps be friends with each one, given the opportunity. There was much reality written in these pages, yet it was not too over the top or overdone. A pleasant reading experience that left it mark and made you feel good in general. No aftertaste of 'what ifs' or 'maybes', just an enjoyable story that could have been anyone's life, only with magnificent friendship attached.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2005

    A precious story.

    Any time that a story makes me cry - it's a good one - this is one of those. I am a southern woman, middle-aged and this is my kind of book. AMEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    A must read!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am almost finished with this book and can not put it down. It grabs you from the first chapter and does not let you go. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read but has a hard time finding a book worthwhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Fantastic!!!

    I simply could not put this book down. Even when the tears came. She's right up there with Siddens and the rest! I'm going to get her other two books and can hardly wait to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2