Customer Reviews for

Sammy's Hill

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    MY FAVORITE!

    I love this book. It is funny and adorable and realistic all at the same time. a truly unique character. Adore it! Read it and fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Hilarious.

    This is one of my all-time favorite books. I re-read it every summer and I just came on here to download it for my new nook and it's not available in ebook format! Nooooooo! I am hoping it comes out for the nook soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my all time favorites

    This book made me laugh so hard I cried. Sammy is one of the funniest characters I have ever read. I let my dad read it and he couldn't put it down either- despite the fact that romance in it, it is an all around great read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So funny, you will laugh out loud

    Funny, funny, funny...

    The main character could be your quirky best friend. A hilarious fictional work that shows a funny perspective of capital hill.
    The plot thickens as the main character finds herself on a political roller coaster supporting her employer..one of the only honest politicians in DC, while he rockets forward in the political arena.
    The main character finds her in hilarious predicaments that she solves with the help of her also quirky friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Twist on Real Life in DC

    Gore starts the book off as though the characters were in mid-sentence with you which is a great feeling! Immediately understanding the protagonist, Sammy, and her issues is a great insight to the novel. With recent events in Washington, the discussion of healthcare reform should resonate loudly with the reader. Learning more about her romance with Aaron Driver and the repeated run-ins with Charlie Lawton while balancing a full-time staffing job of a US Senator is full of laughs and "I can't believe that really happened to her" moments. Sammy's promotion to work for her boss as her party's Vice Presidential candidate brings yet another level to the amount of work she tries to accomplish in a mere 24 hours a day. From the opening lines to the ending, Sammy's Hill is an engrossing read and will definitely give a lift to your day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A really fun read - especially for Bridget Jones fans

    This was so close to Bridget Jones, that at first I was turned off, but I warmed to it very soon. Sammy is a kinder, gentler Bridget Jones. Whereas Bridget doesn't have much going for her, Sammy is at least very efficient at her job, even though she's got the klutz thing going on. Although I knew right where it was going, I enjoyed the ride. It was also interesting to speculate what fictional American political figures in the book might be patterned after real political figures. It gave me hope that perhaps not every politician is a jaded player. There could be some out there who are interested in decency and who feel they really do work for and are accountable to the people. Or members of the "pubic" (read the book!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    Loved it!

    Couldn't put it down! From cover to cover, it took me less than 24 hours. There are pieces of Sammy that everyone can identify with, be it her addiction to the man that is clearly wrong for her, her affinity for sticking her foot in her mouth, or her self-proclaimed status as a hypochondriac. I must admit, after reading the first chapter, I wasn't that excited about the book, but it quickly took off from there. Sammy's Hill was a fabulous read - thank goodness I also bought Sammy's House so I can follow Samantha Joyce to the White House!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!!

    Really funny book that I truly enjoyed from cover to cover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amber Gibson for TeensReadToo.com

    SAMMY'S HILL throws young and idealistic Sammy Jones into the fiercely competitive, smooth-talking, back-stabbing world of D.C. politics. While at times it can be a struggle just to keep her head above water, Sammy never wavers in her commitment to serving the public good and bringing about honest change through the democratic system. <BR/><BR/>Working as a domestic policy advisor for a U.S. Senator is by no means easy, but Sammy adores her boss and works her butt off to make sure that he has the best information possible to make decisions about health care policy. Sammy is on a quest to make health care affordable for all Americans, and she will do whatever it takes to pass the necessary legislation. Pulling all-nighters fueled only by coffee and calling in weed-addled senior citizens to give testimony at Senate committee hearings are par for the course. <BR/><BR/>When she starts dating a staff member of a rival Senator, Sammy's professional and personal lives intertwine, with occasionally disastrous consequences. With her quirky and klutzy character, Sammy is lovable and easy to relate to. Who hasn't been conned into buying far-too-expensive Japanese fighting fish from a secret agent of the North Korean regime? <BR/><BR/>Kristin Gore is genius at crafting a witty storyline, too complex to be deemed merely chick-lit, but hilarious and with a proper dash of romance nonetheless. For anyone who adores romantic comedies but finds them often all too predictable, SAMMY'S HILL is a more intelligent alternative, with underlying messages about politics and life effortlessly woven into fast-paced entertainment. <BR/><BR/>Sammy's optimism and perseverance are inspiring and refreshing in a world that most associate with dirty money and personal agendas. If there were more Sammy Jones' in Washington, the world would be a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    I was expecting more

    After reading the great reviews on Sammy's Hill here, I was disappointed. I found Sammy to be seriously neurotic and superstitious, and the whole book preachy concerning the health care system in the U.S. I just couldn't identify with Sammy at all, although parts of the book were funny. For those reasons I'm only giving it two stars. I had hoped it would be something more than it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    First Time I've Ever Reviewed a Book!

    I just got done reading Sammy's Hill today and it was one great romp around the country. I am so glad that the follow up, Sammy's House, is available. I'm not done with this character yet, that's for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Great first book

    I thought Sammy's Hill was great. Gore shows how females are making their way into the political picture with a witty sense of humor and realistic stuggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    surprisingly good

    i love politics, but i wasn't sure what to think of this 'political chick lit' book. i was very pleasantly surprised. the author's voice is warm and hilarious, and although it is 'chick lit' it has some substance to it, as well as brains. i can't wait to read her next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2006

    Very funny!

    I loved this book! I just finished it and am totally bummed there's not another one to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Hilarious read!

    Sammy's Hill is a hilarious, 'laugh out loud' read. If you are having a bad day, week, or year, pick up Sammy's Hill and it will pick you up! If you have ever done anything embarrasing you will feel better reading this book as Sammy has done much more humiliating things than you dreamt imaginable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2005

    This is life on the 'Hill'

    This book is wonderful, Kristen Gore could have been reading out of my diary of life on the hill. This is a must read for every twenty-something looking for romance and a career, especially for those of us living in DC!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Absoultely Loved It!!!

    I read this book and I absolutely loved it!! I work on the Hill and 'Sammy's Hill' was a somewhat true depiction of life on the Hill. Although, life on the Hill is not that dramatic, as it was depicted in the novel(ie: man gets high before testifying at a committee hearing or someone is accused of being a spy just because he/she shops at a certain place all the time), I loved it because I knew of the many places Kristin Gore talked about and the fact that it took place in DC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Hilarious Read

    Sammy Jones and her wildly aloof imagination had me rolling on the floor laughing and rushing to turn the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Page turner filled with excitement, laughter, and love

    This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. The author does a great job of telling an entertaining story with lots of laughs, love, and hope. I felt like I was right in the middle of Washington D.C., going through everything with 'Sammy'. Thanks for a great read, and please, write another one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    Sammy's Hill

    I loved this book. Kristen Gore is a wonderful author who kept me laughing. I simply could not put the book down. When is her next book coming out? The characters were so human, so real - at times I felt like I could relate to Sammy. This book was recommended by my sister, who also loved it, I am SO glad I borrowed it. Definitely worth reading and sharing with others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3