Customer Reviews for

Sam's Letters to Jennifer

Average Rating 4
( 332 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SHORT BUT SWEET!

Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sitt...
Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.
I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.
I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a s...
Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

posted by Jennifer09 on January 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    SHORT BUT SWEET!

    Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.<BR/>Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.<BR/>I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.<BR/>I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    It is one of the best books I've read and I highly recommend it.

    If you like a good love story, then Sam's Letters to Jennifer is the story you're looking for. It gives two love stories from a grandmother and granddaughter. It all happens in the summer in Lake Geneva. Jennifer the main character of the book leaves her job in Chicago to go to Lake Geneva where her grandmother, Sam, lives. A family friend found Sam on the floor unconscious. Jennifer has been very close to her grandmother; it's like if she was her best friend. Jennifer feels lost because she doesn't want to lose her grandmother like she did her husband, Danny.
    This novel is different from any other novels because it has a lot of feeling to it as well as imagery. A good example of the imagery the book has is in page 102, "A cooling breeze gusted under a hazy sun, and the air was a perfect seventy-five degrees." I can really picture the way it would be out. It has a good story to it, and gives you two sides of love stories. Some of the surprise moments in this novel are when Jennifer finds letters to her from Sam. She reads them little by little while Sam is in the hospital. In one of the letters it tells Jennifer how Sam will be telling her secrets nobody ever knew about her. The first letter told Jennifer how Sam never really loved Charles, Jennifer's grandfather. Sam goes into detail how she met Charles. He was a gentleman at first but the 3rd day of their honeymoon Charles slapped Sam. Sam left everything for him and he slapped her, she felt like running away. Sam calmed down and told him next time he raises his hand to her she'll leave. After that nothing was the same, Charles was moody and always was working. Sam also says "These letters aren't just about my life, Jen; they're about yours." She wants to get Jennifer to move on and feel better. Sam tells Jennifer that only because Danny is dead doesn't mean she should shut love out of her life. This book has a good story to it.
    I enjoyed reading the book Sam's Letters to Jennifer. I usually don't read books but this book I am almost done with. It has a lot of imagery to it, tone and feeling. It makes you think about life and all the good things it has to it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Romance must-read!

    I picked up this book not sure what to expect...I could not put it down. It was three love stories in one! The chemicals between all of the characters was phenomenal. For anyone who is a sucker for love stories, this one hits the spot!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Book Review

    James Patterson has a way of expressing the things in life that we take for granted in his writing. Published on June 30th, 2005 is where in this Fiction novel the main character, Jennifer is facing trials of guilt, love, sadness, and hatred. But, through her Grandmother (Sam) letters she is able to find a bit of herself in her Grandmother in a shocking twist she never expected. Patterson is able to dazzle the reader's in this captivating story of love and hardships. As Jennifer begins the new chapter in her life she is able to realize that she has taken many of things in her life too seriously and she decides to let loose. She is able to find true love, and lose a person she loves. This novel can really help you realize that you can meet and love so many people but they're always going to be gone before you can ever do anything. God has placed us on this Earth and he can take us at any given moment.
    I would have to say that Patterson has written many great novels. Another one of his novels that I have grown fond of is Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas. Also in this novel, a young lady named Kate falls in love with a guy but he winds up breaking her heart and then he shows her why these things happened between them through the Diary of his late wife and son. These two novels relate in a way of both having key reasons of why the things happen to such good people. Patterson really makes you fall in love with his characters in a way that he simply describes them and gives them problems that many of his reader's can actually relate to.
    I recommend that anybody and everybody should read this novel. You can really get a good vibe of how precious life truly is. I mean, do we as humans actually realize how precious life truly is? That we can be given true hardships and love? Or that we can actually lose the ones we love before we are ready? So in this story you would need to have a tissue on hand because it is so heartwarming. You get to learn of ones struggles through losing the man she loved and how her Grandmother went through many of the same trials that her Granddaughter is facing now.
    I can relate to this story in some ways because like Jennifer, I was close to my own Grandma. It's nice to have the love that your Grandma can show you. I mean, they are just like your moms except they tend to be a lot more fun. And like Jennifer, I have lost my Grandma and you really do grow to miss them. And as Brenden says in the book "I like to live my life to the fullest from sun up to sun down." We can all really get with that message. We truly should live everyday like it's our last because you never know, but it could be. So I say if you're the type who likes to read about romance love or a little bit of drama then this book would be perfect. It's filled with love, romance, happiness, and sadness which make a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Anonymous

    What a lovely story! Touches many parts of love/life... smiles,tears and all. I highly recomend! Read this in one sitting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Love

    Love love love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Very good!

    I would recommend this book to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    Not the best

    Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm not a big reader but my cousin had recommended the book so i read it and let me just say i could not put it down. i spent the whole day reading it and i just loved it, i would recommended this to anyone and everyone i can't wait to read another one of his books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    not a big reader

    I get easily distracted when reading a book and I tend to never finish a book when I start reading one. But I could not stop turning the pages of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great story just too short

    Love James Patterson and this book, just wish he got more detail with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Great sentimental read!

    Great sentimental read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Love

    I love this book. I had never read anything by James, but now look forward to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2013

    Highly recommend.

    I enjoyed this story but was surprised the outcome as far as Sam was concerned. Patterson definitely has a soft romantic side. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    highly recommended

    on of the best books i have read. I would recommend it to everyone!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    I couldn't put this book down!  I thought is was a great read an

    I couldn't put this book down!  I thought is was a great read and a great reminder to never turn away from love.  Plus, it was pretty cool to know that I knew Lake Geneva, Alpine Valley, Chicago and Medinah CC. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    predictable

    This book was just not what I expected (sic).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    ?..

    I just finished reading this book on paperback. And I now have a new favorite book.
    I seriously couldn't put the book down! I finished it in 4 hours! Not because "It's a short read" but because I couldn't put it down. Whoever says "it's a short read" and "the love story sucked" It wasn't and it didn't! Love this book along with its author!

    New favorite book, and my new favorite author!

    -Shea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amber

    This was a neat love story. A delightful and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Good light and short summer read story to enjoy in one day relax

    Good light and short summer read story to enjoy in one day relaxing. Not my favorite but still very nice. Filled with love in many forms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 332 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17