Customer Reviews for

Sam's Letters to Jennifer

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SHORT BUT SWEET!

Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sitt...
Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.
I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.
I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a s...
Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

posted by Jennifer09 on January 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Asdf

    Asdf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Beautiful!

    What a beautiful story filled with hope, love, and healing. I couldn't put this book down and was so hooked to the characters needing to know what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Amazing

    I have read this book atleast 6 times..it never gets old nd will forever be my favorite. It is such a beautiful story full of emotion nd surprises. I laughed, cried nd seriously gasped during reading it. Still havent found a book since that could do that to me..which is a bummer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Infuriating

    This book frustrated the HELL out if me, the writing ( especially in the dialogue) was both amateurish and feeble. The conversations were forced and unnatural and therefore extremley hard to overlook. If you dont mind reading a mediocre story with horrible writng then definitley give this a read. If not dont bother wasting your money

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Beautiful Read

    A very touching story that kept me reading to the end. Could not put it down, yet it was a love story. Enjoyed it immensely. BTW, I don't read James Patterson's thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    sad and great at the same time a chick lit book

    great read. i read it in one night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I would recommend this book

    It was another great book from a great author. I will always recommend all of James Patterson's books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Wonderful book

    Lovely, interesting and beautiful story with a few twists to keep you hooked. Warning, this will make you cry so keep the tissue handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    James Patterson Surprises

    WhenI think about James Patterson the words thriller, murder, mystery come to mind deffinitely not love and passion. When my friend recommended this book to me I honestly thought it was going to be bad. But James Patterson surprises. This book is a love, mystery, and suspence tale with a littlesome family vaues all mixed into one. It is a truely inspiring novel that makes you stop and think, "am I living my life the way I want to live it?!?" It seemed like a short and sweet story but thats only because i couldn't put the book down! This book won't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Great Book

    I enjoyed reading this book. It was great that Sam was able to share her relationship and life issues with Jennifer to keep her from making life mistakes. It is nice to see James Patterson writing a different style of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Great book! Reminds us how short life can be but love is never far ifwe let stay close

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice to read a story from someplace 30 minutes away!!

    A verty touching story about tragic events that lead you to your destiny. Both Sam and Jennifer go on emotional journeys that leave you thinking about your life and what you are doing with the time you have. Also opens your eyes to love you take for granted everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read

    I couldn't put this book down - finished it in 5 hours.
    Great love/romance story that touches the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    sounds good

    it is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    TOTALLY A FIVE STAR BOOK!!!

    Well if there ever was one that rated 5 stars -- this one qualified. It was meaty and suspensful -- romantic without the usual sappy stuff -- clean cut dialog and a complete page turner! I happened on this book a long while ago and just now picked it up to read -- first one of JP's I have ever read -- but surely will NOT be the last!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Sam's Letters to Jennifer by James Patterson

    A story about a grand daughter and her close relationship with her grandmother. A tale of life, love, and death. I enjoyed reading this book. It brought to light the possibility of second chances for love. There are many good points in this book. It is a very uplifting story. A little corny at times but overall a quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching Story

    touching story that kept me going from cover to cover...could not put it down...i read this book within 2 days...took many unexpected twists and every time i thought i knew how the story was gonna end, i was wrong..keep the tissues handy, you will need them..:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this one...

    Inside the house, Jennifer finds a stack of letters written by Sam and addressed to her. Even as Jennifer daily visits Sam in the hospital, encouraging her to wake up, she comes home to read the letters in which Sam discloses some deep secrets and by example encourages Jennifer to give love and life a second chance. Providentially, Jennifer meets with an old childhood friend, Brendan, and things soon heat up between them. But when Brendan reveals the truth, will Jennifer be shattered by life's repeated cruelty, or will she fight to keep love in her life?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MUST GET!

    very good! i recommend to everyone that i know to get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as his other books...

    I thought the book's characters were flat and typical. I also thought the first chapter was confusing (prologue) as it sounds like a romantic relationship instead of a close family relationship. I wish I had read something else to fill my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17