Customer Reviews for

Sam's Letters to Jennifer

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SHORT BUT SWEET!

Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sitt...
Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.
I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.
I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a s...
Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

posted by Jennifer09 on January 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    Not the best

    Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    predictable

    This book was just not what I expected (sic).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    So-So

    My first James Patterson book. Thought it was corny, actually. Read the whole thing, just to make sure I wasn't missing something great, but there was this backdrop of I-don't-think-so throughout the whole of it, from the viewpoint to the situations to the timing to just everything about it. It missed the mark so badly for me I nearly put all books by James Patterson on my no-need-to-read list. Had I done so I WOULD have missed out on Patterson's Alex Cross series of books, which would have been a tragedy. After overhearing a conversation about favorite authors and series, wherein were mentioned JD Robb's In Death series, Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum novels, and James Patterson's Alex Cross books, on the strength of my great enjoyment of Robb and Evanovich, I decided to give Patterson a try--read Cat and Mouse even though it was out of sequence to read it first and found myself thoroughly engrossed and entertained. Patterson is VERY GOOD--just not in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    Unrealistic and Predictable

    This book was an easy, fast read, but the story line was very melodramatic and predictable. There was no depth to the story. The romance was a little too sappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    good but expected it to be bettte

    I liked the book but from what i had heard about it i expected it to be better. It seems to drag a little and i was able to predict what happened early on in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Unrealistic!

    I did not enjoy this book at all. I thought it was extremely unrealistic and overrated. I was very dissappointed because I heard so many good things about it; especially that it was even better than Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas.This is good if you enjoy fluffy romance books with no possibility it of ever happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2005

    No where near as good as Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas!

    This book was okay, it was a quick read, so I didn't feel that I wasted time on it, but over all it was just too predictable, and too sappy. Even when you find out who Doc is, it's not very gratifying. I do think that James Patterson just does not give people enough time between spouses that have passed away and falling in love again to make it completely believable. But I've read much worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    Is it just me or did this book not seem like JP wrote it?

    What an enormous disappointment. I am a huge fan of James Patterson and love his books. I even loved Suzannes' Diary for Nicolas even though the writing style was extremely simplistic, at least it was creative and kept you guessing. THis book was a totally different story. It seems like a bad romance novel. It is written for a young adult reader, not grown ups. If it didn't have James Patterson's name on the cover I would swear I'm reading a Harliquinn novel. The only reason I couldn't put this book down was because I kept waiting for it to get better, more exciting. It never did. Worst of all, the ending provided very little pay off. You find out who the mystery man was in Sam's life and you're thinking 'ok, who cares?'. I expected so much more at the end especially after having to sit through the first 230 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Disappointment

    After reading Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas and many other books by Patterson, I thought I would love this book! I was very disappointed. It felt like I was reading a cheap rip off of Suzanne's Diary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2004

    A disappointment

    I felt as though I was reading a cheesy Danielle Steele novel. I couldn't wait until I was done reading it. It truly pales in comparison to all other Patterson novels. If you think this book is going to be as good as Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas...like I did...you may be disappointed...as I was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    This was not Suzanne's Diary For Nicholas

    From the hype I was expecting something that surpassed SDFN. Patterson is my favorite author, but I was very disappointed. Perhaps it was me but I didn't feel anything for Jennifer. This book did not touch me in any way. I didn't find it 'boring' because I like the way Patterson writes, but I didn't find the Plot interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Not a spellbound read....just okay

    This book was a fast easy read. It did have some touching parts, but I feel it was truly written for a high school girl. If I had been 17 when I read this instead of 37 I would probably have LOVED it. It is quite juvenile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    so unlike patterson

    i was very disappointed with this book. the writing was rushed and did not have the careful detail that defines his style, very unlike him. suzanne's diary for nicholas cannot be topped nor equaled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    NOT HIS USUAL

    Was tremendously disappointed in this one. Have read most of his thrillers - all great writing. Always wondered how Mr Patterson, after the gory books, could also write a beautiful love story such as ('Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas'). That book stirred up emotions in me that I forgot were there. Expected this one to be as wonderful and moving but was definitely disappointed. Also found it boring and figured out the ending right in the beginning. Come on James, know you can do better than this...................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Sappy, predictable and disappointing

    Given the story line, this could have been a really good book. Instead, it was sappy, uninspired and completely predictable. I can't even count how many times 'You're beautiful' and 'I love you' dominated the dialogue. I kept waiting for a twist, a surprise or something original, but I got to the end to the book and it never came. The experience was kind of like going to a highly rated gourment restaurant and being served fast food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2004

    *yawn*

    I didn't care for this book at all. The story was predictable, and very slow paced. A disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Disappointing

    My first James Patterson Experience was Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas, which I loved. Having read that, I was very anxious to read his latest novel, Sam's Letters To Jennifer...I even preordered it! I think a lot of people fell into that trap. As soon as I received it, I started reading. I cannot tell you how disappointed I was. I felt like the whole story had a slow pace. I did not think the characters were convincing or realistic. I kept waiting for the plot to pick up, but it never did. Don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2