Customer Reviews for

Sam's Letters to Jennifer

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SHORT BUT SWEET!

Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sitt...
Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.
I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.
I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a s...
Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

posted by Jennifer09 on January 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    It is one of the best books I've read and I highly recommend it.

    If you like a good love story, then Sam's Letters to Jennifer is the story you're looking for. It gives two love stories from a grandmother and granddaughter. It all happens in the summer in Lake Geneva. Jennifer the main character of the book leaves her job in Chicago to go to Lake Geneva where her grandmother, Sam, lives. A family friend found Sam on the floor unconscious. Jennifer has been very close to her grandmother; it's like if she was her best friend. Jennifer feels lost because she doesn't want to lose her grandmother like she did her husband, Danny.
    This novel is different from any other novels because it has a lot of feeling to it as well as imagery. A good example of the imagery the book has is in page 102, "A cooling breeze gusted under a hazy sun, and the air was a perfect seventy-five degrees." I can really picture the way it would be out. It has a good story to it, and gives you two sides of love stories. Some of the surprise moments in this novel are when Jennifer finds letters to her from Sam. She reads them little by little while Sam is in the hospital. In one of the letters it tells Jennifer how Sam will be telling her secrets nobody ever knew about her. The first letter told Jennifer how Sam never really loved Charles, Jennifer's grandfather. Sam goes into detail how she met Charles. He was a gentleman at first but the 3rd day of their honeymoon Charles slapped Sam. Sam left everything for him and he slapped her, she felt like running away. Sam calmed down and told him next time he raises his hand to her she'll leave. After that nothing was the same, Charles was moody and always was working. Sam also says "These letters aren't just about my life, Jen; they're about yours." She wants to get Jennifer to move on and feel better. Sam tells Jennifer that only because Danny is dead doesn't mean she should shut love out of her life. This book has a good story to it.
    I enjoyed reading the book Sam's Letters to Jennifer. I usually don't read books but this book I am almost done with. It has a lot of imagery to it, tone and feeling. It makes you think about life and all the good things it has to it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Book Review

    James Patterson has a way of expressing the things in life that we take for granted in his writing. Published on June 30th, 2005 is where in this Fiction novel the main character, Jennifer is facing trials of guilt, love, sadness, and hatred. But, through her Grandmother (Sam) letters she is able to find a bit of herself in her Grandmother in a shocking twist she never expected. Patterson is able to dazzle the reader's in this captivating story of love and hardships. As Jennifer begins the new chapter in her life she is able to realize that she has taken many of things in her life too seriously and she decides to let loose. She is able to find true love, and lose a person she loves. This novel can really help you realize that you can meet and love so many people but they're always going to be gone before you can ever do anything. God has placed us on this Earth and he can take us at any given moment.
    I would have to say that Patterson has written many great novels. Another one of his novels that I have grown fond of is Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas. Also in this novel, a young lady named Kate falls in love with a guy but he winds up breaking her heart and then he shows her why these things happened between them through the Diary of his late wife and son. These two novels relate in a way of both having key reasons of why the things happen to such good people. Patterson really makes you fall in love with his characters in a way that he simply describes them and gives them problems that many of his reader's can actually relate to.
    I recommend that anybody and everybody should read this novel. You can really get a good vibe of how precious life truly is. I mean, do we as humans actually realize how precious life truly is? That we can be given true hardships and love? Or that we can actually lose the ones we love before we are ready? So in this story you would need to have a tissue on hand because it is so heartwarming. You get to learn of ones struggles through losing the man she loved and how her Grandmother went through many of the same trials that her Granddaughter is facing now.
    I can relate to this story in some ways because like Jennifer, I was close to my own Grandma. It's nice to have the love that your Grandma can show you. I mean, they are just like your moms except they tend to be a lot more fun. And like Jennifer, I have lost my Grandma and you really do grow to miss them. And as Brenden says in the book "I like to live my life to the fullest from sun up to sun down." We can all really get with that message. We truly should live everyday like it's our last because you never know, but it could be. So I say if you're the type who likes to read about romance love or a little bit of drama then this book would be perfect. It's filled with love, romance, happiness, and sadness which make a great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great story just too short

    Love James Patterson and this book, just wish he got more detail with the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amber

    This was a neat love story. A delightful and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Asdf

    Asdf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice to read a story from someplace 30 minutes away!!

    A verty touching story about tragic events that lead you to your destiny. Both Sam and Jennifer go on emotional journeys that leave you thinking about your life and what you are doing with the time you have. Also opens your eyes to love you take for granted everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching Story

    touching story that kept me going from cover to cover...could not put it down...i read this book within 2 days...took many unexpected twists and every time i thought i knew how the story was gonna end, i was wrong..keep the tissues handy, you will need them..:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love this one...

    Inside the house, Jennifer finds a stack of letters written by Sam and addressed to her. Even as Jennifer daily visits Sam in the hospital, encouraging her to wake up, she comes home to read the letters in which Sam discloses some deep secrets and by example encourages Jennifer to give love and life a second chance. Providentially, Jennifer meets with an old childhood friend, Brendan, and things soon heat up between them. But when Brendan reveals the truth, will Jennifer be shattered by life's repeated cruelty, or will she fight to keep love in her life?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD BOOK

    I LOVE THE WAY THE AUTHOR MAKES THE LOVE FROM THE COUPLES ALIVE. YOU CAN ACTUALLY FEEL IT IN YOU'R VEINS. THE WAY BRENDAN FEELS FOR JENNIFER MAKES YOU THRIVE FOR THE FEELING OF THAT KIND OF LOVE. AND THE MYSTORY OF "DOC" IS ANOTHER BOOST TO THE BOOK. THE LETTERS THAT SAM WROTE TO HER GRANDDAUGHTER MAKES YOU WANT TO REACH FOR THAT CONNECTION WITH YOUR GRANDPARENTS. ALL IN ALL ONE GOOD BOOK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Pretty Okay

    I wasn't expecting Sam to be the character he/she was, but the unexpection made the book more touching. However, I was hoping for a much better book. Sam's Letters to Jennifer vaguely remind me of Sparks's Nights in Rodanthe, but in comparison, much better. However, when compared to Sparks's Dear John, Sam's Letters to Jennifer falls short. While I enjoyed the book, I felt that it lacked a sense of feeling and that the characters' feelings were too vaguely described. There was nothing for the reader to immerse in. Many people recommended this book because I loved Dear John so much. If you ask me, read this book first, then Dear John. Then maybe you won't be as disappointed as I was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    Great Book

    'Sam's Letter to Jennifer' is an interesting book because it has to do with two different love stories one from the grandmother and another from Jennifer. Jennifers grandmather left her stories for Jennifer to read becasue Jennifer wanted to know her grandmothers story. It is about how Jennife feels that she could never love annother man again and how she overcomes to love again. It also has to do with Jennifer leaving to go and visit her grandmother since she has been blaming herself for something that wasn't really her falt. This book will show how hard it is to fall in love with someone who she could possible lose.It also shows how two people who love each other but never married but still have feelings for each other but never acted on it and she still stays faithfulto her husband tell the very end but she just has a fling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    nice book

    A quick and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    WOW!!!

    This was a great story, I have to tell ya. It's a tear jearker, but what a wonderful story. I think it's a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2006

    Fast Read- Mediocre Story Line

    As in all of James Patterson's books, the novel was a fast read, however, this was one of the few times where I didn't finish the story in less than a few days. I felt that this particular book was very predictable and not as well written as his other books. Overall, it was a good read but I would be hesitant whether I would recommend it to others who are looking for a true romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    This book was truly amazing.

    Even though this book started off slowly, it had me in tears by the last lines. James Patterson's style of writing is one of mystery and suspense so I was very hesitant and skeptical about picking up this book in the first place. I found it very hard to read at first, because it went very slow and didn't really strike my attention as anything amazing. I didn't think that James Patterson would make a good book writing from a girl's point of view, but I was extremely wrong. After the book picked up a little I found it very hard to put down, I would read it when I could, even if it was just for a few minutes at a time, I could get through at least 7 chapters. The book was very interesting and made me think a lot about what would happen if something like this happened to me. It is your typical love story, except it has a twist, which is what I love about James Patterson's writing. I would recommend this book to anyone that is in for a quick read, even though it is more then 200 pages you fly through it. It is very inspiring and is a tear jerker, but don't put it down after the first few pages, you will be sorry! It is inspired me to live every day to my fullest, because you never know when it could be your last. If you love James Patterson then I guarantee that you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Are Sam and Jennifer really Sam and Jenifer?

    I guess this is not really going to be much of a review but more of a commentary. Am I the only one who noticed some odd similarities between the characters in this novel and the characters in Why I Committed Suicide by Sam Paul? Even thought the writing style is comepletely different I can't help but wonder if these authors collaberate or are friends? I mean Sam and Jennifer and Sam and Jenifer...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    I loved it!

    ¿How could this have happened?¿ thought Jennifer as she raced to the hospital. Jennifer is a young woman who has faced a lot of troubles in her life. When she was little, both her parents died. Then, Jennifer¿s fiancé died in a terrible accident. All Jennifer has left is her Grandma Sam. She is a strong woman who has always been there for Jennifer. When Sam is rushed to the hospital, Jennifer discovers more than one hundred letters that she has written to her. These letters are full of stories that tell who Sam really was and help Jennifer to overcome all her losses and find new love. I loved Sam¿s Letters to Jennifer. It is an inspirational book that helps people discover how precious their lives are. The book is written so well and relates to many people. Sam¿s Letters to Jennifer was so good that I couldn¿t put it down. It is filled with sadness, happiness, and life lessons. This is definitely one of James Patterson¿s best fictational books. He captures the soul of anyone who reads this and it is fun to read all the letters. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good, sad love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    A gratifying, quick read

    After hearing all abour Suzanne's Diary (a friend spoiled the ending for me) I was excited to find Sam's Letters to Jennifer. I was a bit confused in the first chapters as I was not placing 'Sam' correctly. Once I placed all the characters, I enjoyed this book. I read it in a day and although my husband caught me tearing up towards the end, I was comfortable with the resolution. It left me with an appreciation for true love and a lesson to take nothing for granted. Even things as solid as elder relatives and their relationships with one another. Nothing is ever what it seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Not as good as Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas but...

    I still cried! That is what you should expect. And I'm sure that is why you are thinking of purchasing this book! How does James Patterson change his styles of writing and do such a great job? Regardless, the book is still recommended. Great story and great characters...tear jerker...memorable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!!

    THIS WAS A TRULY GREAT BOOK. IT TOOK MY ONLY 2 DAYS TO READ IT I COULDNT PUT IT DOWN. THE STORY WITH ITS TWISTS KEPT ME HOOKED. IT ALSO MADE ME REALLY APPRECIATE EVEN MORE THE REALTIONSHIP WITH MY GRANDMOTHER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4