Customer Reviews for

Sam's Letters to Jennifer

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

SHORT BUT SWEET!

Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sitt...
Mind you, this was my first James Patterson novel and compared to all the other reviews I have read I am sure there are other great books by him. I am now reading "The Lifegaurd" and so far it's great.
Sam's letters to Jennifer was a good read. I read it in two sittings and it kept my attention the whole time. I thought it had a good story line and I enjoyed to two love stories.
I believe the story could have been played out more. But you can tell it was a get to the point story. I wouldn't surprise me if Mr. Patterson wrote it over the weekend.
I recommend this book to someone who is taking a long flight or isn't a avid reader, because it is such a good short read. Not a disappointment,

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not the best

Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a s...
Not the best romance book I've read. The characters weren't very well formed, making the things happening to them less relatable and emotional. Situations that could have been made into chapters themselves were skipped over with a few sentences. It's a good idea for a story, but not well executed.

posted by Jennifer09 on January 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Great book! Reminds us how short life can be but love is never far ifwe let stay close

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read

    I couldn't put this book down - finished it in 5 hours.
    Great love/romance story that touches the heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    sounds good

    it is good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    TOTALLY A FIVE STAR BOOK!!!

    Well if there ever was one that rated 5 stars -- this one qualified. It was meaty and suspensful -- romantic without the usual sappy stuff -- clean cut dialog and a complete page turner! I happened on this book a long while ago and just now picked it up to read -- first one of JP's I have ever read -- but surely will NOT be the last!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MUST GET!

    very good! i recommend to everyone that i know to get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a powerful story about LOVE

    The characters come to life and although it starts off a little sad (sometimes morbid) it picks up and you are thankful for the beginning. Just like the author James Patterson, he seems to know all about human soul and love. All about love.

    This story is about a woman, Jennifer, who seems to have lost everything: Her husband and child almost at the same time. Jennifer gets a phone call that Sam, her grandmother, is in a coma and she has to come back down to the Lake to be with her. Jennifer has lost all of her family and only has Sam left. Jennifer is devastated but in light of the events unfolding in her life, she finds a friend, Brendan Keller. Dr. Brendan Keller. He is a nephew of Sam's neighbor, Shep. While Sam is in a coma, Jennifer continues to hold hope in her heart and visits and talks with Sam while at the hospital. Sam writes these letters to Jennifer and as Jennifer begins to read it, the life she thought she knew about Sam changes ... then little does Jennifer know that love is knocking on her door once again and she begins the next chapter of her life full of love and wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Patterson Rocks

    Sam's letters I absolutely LOVE. This book is filled with the love and mystery that is missing is so many other books. Patterson has outdone himself on this book, as with most of his other works. My advice is if you have the time to sit down and with any book, pick up a Patterson because you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great relaxing read!

    This book was a new twist from all the other James Patterson books I have read. Like all his books the storyline was comsuming and enthralling leaving me not wanting to put it down once I began reading. If you like James Patterson's style of writing this book will not let you down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    Sam's letters to jennifer

    I thought it was one of his better writing I couldn't put the book down I loved it. I would recomend it highly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Sam's Letters To Jennifer

    I have read many of Mr. Patterson's works, am a big fan. The fact that he wrote this book from a woman's perspective is amazing in itself, to have pulled it off so well is an even greater accomplishment!!! Definitely worth reading. I have already borrowed my copy out to a friend and have others waiting to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book filled with permission to partake of life!

    Beautifully written - a surprizing story of permission to live life to the fullest, without apology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Beautifully written, wonderful storyline.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's characters are intelligent and warm, and they bring you right into their lives. As the grandmother of a writer, I am going to give this beautiful book to my granddaughter. I am also an avid James Patterson fan, and as with all of his book, he has done it again! It is well worth reading. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    Wow, such a touching,warm-hearted novel.

    Wow, Where do I begin? This was such a good story. It's the kind of novel to touch and warm your heart. One thing lead to another and everything worked out how you wanted it to. I recommend this story to anyone!

    Read it- Trust me, you'll love it as much as I did!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Hey curious readers!

    James Patterson has done it again! This very talented author has yet again shared with us one of his amazinig stories on love and second chances. For those of you who've never read a book by James Patterson you've come to the right place! If you are looking for a book with faith and miracles that can actually happen in life keep reading to get your insides scoop on this powerful romantic story.

    Jennifer is a journalist from Chicago who one day receives a phone call from Lakes Geneva that her beloved grandmother Sam is in a coma. While Jennifer takes a break from her workaholic life and settles into her home town at her grandmothers house she ends up experieinceing not one but two amazing love stories. As she enters the house and looks around at the place she grew up in, she finds a stack of letters left from her grandmother for her to read. This simple story flies back and forth from their lives to the letters that Jennifer is reading in short chapters. In the first couple of letters sam tells jennifer to not read all the letters at the same time and to just take it little by little. Meanwhile, Jennifer is reunited with her old friend Brendan and she soon finds out that not only does her grandmother have a secret but he does too.

    Their life changing secrets puts a very important theme in this book, not only is nothing set in stone but life does have its extraordinary miracles it all just depends on whether you believe in them or not. Patterson establishes this theme so well in this sotry with his wonderful writing technique that is used in all his romance novels. When it comes to turning the pages he never fails. He will reel you in with the suspense that has you tossing and changing your ideas of the ending around all the time. I really liked how he made the story so simple but so surprisingly touching. It felt like I was watching a movie because the characters are so vividly painted inside your head. He also does a very good job at keeping the letters and the present parallel to each other it makes it run through very smoothly. At different times in the book I got a little teary, scared, nervous, but still gave me hope through the whole thing (I don't know how but he did.) There was not one thing I did not like about how he wrote this novel because I'm a sucker for romance books and I read them to pass some time and keep me enteretained. So usually I kind kind of just guess what's going to happen becuse okay happy ending right? Easy to come about when the story is set within the first chapert but in the two books that i read by him i was wrong, I was wrong more than twice and that is what makes his books so desirable. I give this book two thumbs up and recommend it to anyone who wants some sunshine on their cloudy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sam's Letters to Jennifer

    It was an enjoyable book; pleasant reading and a nice love story. I would recommend it as a quick, pleasant read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    Outstanding

    This book was good from the beginning to the end. Once I started reading this book I couldn't stop. This is first book, I ever read from James Patterson, and it was worth it!!! Beautiful love story, it makes you not want to take any thing for granted. Especially your love ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Great book for a summer afternooon!

    I could not put this book down! It is definately one of those books when you can't stop reading because you want to get to the next chapter to read what happens next! I enjoyed reading this book on a lazy summer afternoon. I would recommend this book if you like a sense of adventure and destiny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Very Touching

    At first I wasn't sure about this book or reading anything from Mr. Patterson. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down & done w/in two days. It's very touching!!! I plan on reading 'Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Best Book to read for the summer

    I am a slow reader, but I could not put this book down and wanted more. I love really good love stories. It reminds you to not put off today what you could have done tomorrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    Amazing

    Beautifully written and a million years away from 'Suzanne's Diary for Nicholas' in the fact that it's more real. Romantic without being fluffy. Deep. I actually loved the characters and it's an easy read that's hard to put down. I'm glad he went in a different direction and shyed away from the fairytale love story who's only saving grace is the heartbreaking ending. The beginning, middle and end is perfectly balanced and compelling. This is by far one of my favorite books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10