BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Samurai's Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    AP World History Review

    This book, I thought, was amazing. The utilization of the different character's own lives to benefit the main characters' experience in Tarumi was superb. The fact that I actually became absorbed into the book was amazing, considering that has only happened when I have been reading James Clavelle's Asian Saga books. I honestly thought that this book would never end it was so good. I wish there was a sequel and that it was not just a novel.

    After reading it I felt like I had been in Tarumi myself. How I wish it were real so that I could visit. I love the fact that Tsukiyama used the garden as a way to reveal a lot about the characters. The fact that she even spoke of the conflict between the parents of the main character was amazing. Tsukiyama pulled of this topic with sucha short amount of pages with superb aplomb. I really reccommend this book to anyone who wants to have a good book for a change.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A quiet, lovely story

    It may take a while to get into this novel. Initially, I was concerned t this book would be a little to "fru fru" for me but after a while I became immersed in the Japanese culture and began to appreciate the peacefulness (that's the best word I can find) of the story. It is a different type of coming of age story. A story where honor is solely not admired but can also be very painful and can give a death sentence (well, that didn't sound peaceful but read the book and you will understand). Although it is basically a love story of sorts. The emotions in Tsukiyama's story are hidden--yet my eyes were welling up towards the end. I found the author's writing soft and picturesque. Well done!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    An almost perfect book

    THE SAMURAI'S GARDEN is an almost perfect book. Not only is it well written, also it deals with significant issues: friendship, loyalty, love, cultural differences and biases, judgments that both hurt and heal.
    It reveals even more on a second reading--my test for judging a book as excellent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    AP World History Review

    The Samurai's Garden written by Gail Tsukiyama is a beautifully written novel that takes place during the late 1930s while a war between Japan and China occurs. The main character Stephen is a young Chinese man who becomes diagnosed with Tuberculosis and is talked into visiting his family's vacation home in Tarumi, Japan to help him recuperate quicker. During his year long stay in Tarumi, Stephen learns about his housekeeper, Matsu who plays an important role in helping Stephen develop on a personal and spiritual level which allows him to grow in many ways. During his stay, Stephen also meets a woman named Sachi who was diagnosed with leprosy at a young age and has suffered greatly throughout her life due to the Japanese culture. Not only does he meet many friends but he also meets a young girl named Keiko who he becomes deeply close with and a man named Kenzo who plays an important role not only in Stephen's life but Matsu's life as well.
    Overall, I would most definitely recommend reading this book because it's a great story of life, love, and happiness. I think I enjoyed this book so much because I really connected with all the characters and I was easily able to pull many experiences out of this book that connected with history and allowed me to see a story from many views. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great story about personal growth, love, and a little bit of history. I hope that everyone enjoys Tsukiyama's novel as much as me!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    This book is a good read.

    My son is reading this for a History book and thought it would be boring, but he said it starts fast, and he doesn't want to stop reading it. The main character is a guy, but both male and female readers would like it. It is well-written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Beautiful touching story

    This is a beautifully written book that engages the reader from beginning to end and leaves you wanting to read more about the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Good book

    I had to read this book in school when I first got it i figured I wouldnt like it im a 16 year old guy seems kind of like a girly book but I ended up enjoying it very much and am glad I read it I dont really want to say alot because I dont want to spoil it for anyone who decides to read it

    but if your not sure if you want to read it I strongly recommend you getting it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    Touching and Moving

    Gail Tsukiyama makes the reader care about what happens to her characters. While this is true for all her books, it is especially true for this one. We share a special time in the life of a Chinese young man who is sent to live in Japan with the caretaker of his grandfather's property. This unlikely pair forms a strong bond as secrets are revealed. You will love every minute you spend with them and feel a bit sad when the book ends just because it is over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A beautifully written story of honor, tradition, love and friendship. I am looking to read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my favorite book of all time. I read it to escape into t

    This is my favorite book of all time. I read it to escape into the beautiful imagery and slow flow of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book is simply amazing in the way it vividly captures all the details and makes us the readers feel like we were actually one of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Amazing

    We had to read the book last year in my english class. It is a truly beautiful and well written novel. Tsukiyama also came to our school and discussed the book with us. I highly recommend it! You will not regret reading it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Excellently crafted story that defies your ability to put it down!!

    The Samurai's Garden transforms the reader to a Japanese coastal village in the 1930's during the Second Sino-Japanese War. Gail Tsukiyama weaves a delicately crafted story that carries the reader though conflicting harsh traditions and war, as experienced by a Chinese boy while he recovers from tuberculosis. A complex life-changing friendship develops between this Chinese boy, his family's Japanese caretaker (the Samurai), and the caretaker's special friend who is suffering from leprosy. The simplicity and clarity of the writer makes this novel unique and an enjoyable read. Each page is thought provoking and would make an excellent choice for book club discussions. It is a book for those who enjoy the conflict of humanity, learning about other cultures and history. One thing is for sure, it will leave you yearning for the next by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Loved it.

    I felt transported to another time and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    A Beautiful Book! Highly Recommended!

    This was by far one of the most amazing books I have read. The writing is so beautiful it is almost musical! I have read several of Tsukiyama's books and they are all wonderful... But this one is a gem. The characters are well written and the descriptive writing is engrossing... You will not want to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    One of the Best Books I've Read!

    This book is a great love story wrapped up in historical fiction which gives a taste of the psyche of Japanese leprocy victims during the war. It would be great for a book club discussion. Gail Tsukiyama always gives a window into the souls of her characters. She is my favorite author. I recommend any book written by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    Thanks, guy.

    After reading the review by the 16-year old guy that thought this might be a girly book I've decided to buy it. Of all the reviews I've read his was the best recommendation using just a few words to convince me I'll enjoy this book. Thanks, guy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well worth reading! Rich main characters.

    This book was about the maturing of a young Chinese man as he convalesced at the Japanese summer house of his family, although in saying this it seems like oversimplification. It was a book rich in human drama, family secrets, tragedy, betrayals, deep devotions, and love. The way loyalties and their conflicts played out was a major factor in keeping the interest level high. The author's writing style is superb. In spite of deep sorrow and pain in the book, the writing style evokes calm as in a Japanese garden, of which there was an important one in the story as well. The characters of the caretaker and the woman he loved were strong and inspiring, and these are the two that have the greatest impact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    Excellent

    Excellent story, language. Tsaukiyama's prose is like poetry. Descriptions and characterizations are detailed and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    The Samurai's Garden

    Life is a gift to be cherished, not overlooked. In the novel, The Samurai's Garden, by Gail Tsukiyama, the main character, Stephen is diagnosed with tuberculosis and sent from his family home in Hong Kong, China to his grandfather's house in Turami, Japan to recover. Because of this, he takes a depressed outlook about life. Through the people he meets and the events that take place while he is in Turami, Stephen alters his views about life and begins to cherish it as a gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3