Customer Reviews for

The Samurai's Garden

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2007

    Didn't want it to end.

    Such a great story. I really did not want it to end. You will fall in love with all of the characters. Great description, wish I was there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    A High School student

    I had to read this book for an assignment, but when the assignment was over, I checked the book out of the library and finished it. I consider it a classic about Japan, China, and the relations ships that can develop between the most unlikely of people. It was reccomended to me by several people and I am glad I read it. I thought the language was beautily simple and the characters were lovable. It was very moving. I would definitly read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I read this book for a school assignment and actually LIKED it. It had great descriptions and beautiful language, and also great morals and reminders to count our blessings. Great read, especially for Japanese people! or Japanese-interested people...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    Elegant and Compelling

    A thing you must remember when reading a review is that the material of the novel is completely subjective to the reader. The old saying 'Beauty is in the eye of the beholder' comes to mind. I absolutely loved this book and at no point was it 'dull' to me. I didnt want the story to end. I fell in love with the characters and the story is so full of pain mixed with joy that you realize there is so much about life we take for granted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    A perfect read

    She captured the tranquility of Japan, but also the nerve racking lump that rises in your throat as you get worried right along with the characters. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Inspirational novel

    This book is very inspirational, and is a great read, i loved the characters descriptions. This novel teaches lessons and makes you feel as if you are really in Japan. Its a great book to read while you are trying to relax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    So touching

    This is the second novel of Gail's that I have read; Dreaming Water was the first. I am touched by the depth of the human complexity and inner experiences that Gail so tranquilly exposes to her readers. I am moved by Matsu and Sachi, two of the main characters. The way the characters are connected from past to present all further more defines that love exists in many time dimensions; each level pulling and pushing to form the three-dimensional experience that we call life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    For some, not all...

    This was a solidly good read, but not deserving of the 5 stars given by others. It does have that 'fluid and elegant' style, but it became dull to me after awhile. The characters, while likeable, have broad and composed facades that you rarely get to glimpse beyond. It's a lovely story that hints at emotions beyond what's written but contains no compelling or original ideas that stick with you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2003

    HEARTWARMING

    WONDERFUL STORY. AS I START READING; I FIND THAT I CAN'T PUT DOWN THE BOOK! BUT THEN AGAIN, I FOUND THAT WITH THE 3 OTHER BOOKS I READ OF HERS'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    Samurai's Garden

    I have not bought the book yet but I hope it is good it sounds good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    Samurai's Garden

    THis book is truly the best book I have ever read so fair I compar it to the Laughing Sutra which I loved also this is truly the best book of all time but I wish is was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2002

    Great Book!!

    I think Samurai's Garden is a really good book. The characters in the book are all so unique and we can learn many things from the book. I think you guys should have this book. I am sure you guys won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2001

    Beautiful Story

    Just read this for a book club selection and thought it extremely well written and loved the characters. I was fascinated with the descriptions of the leper colony. The book ended perfectly--with me wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    I have read this book twice

    I have just completed reading The Samurai's Garden for the second time and I enjoyed it even more this time. I think it's a sweet, quick, book and I highly recommend it. Matsu and Sachi and Stephen all nuture each other in very interesting and caring ways. I have also enjoyed Gail Tsukiyami's other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2000

    A gentle and moving book

    I found this book to be a fascinating read. It drew me in from the first page and never let go. Matsu and Sachi and Stephan were finely drawn and moved right into my heart. I didn't want the book to end and I am sitting here writing this in the middle of the night because I had to turn on my computer and find what other books Gail Tsukiyama has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3