Customer Reviews for

Sanctuary (Dragon Jousters Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Third in the Series Makes for a Good Read

    This is the third book in the Dragon Jouster's series that began with Joust and continued in Alta, and you should read those first. I'm a fan generally of Lackey's books, particularly her Valdemar books, and I think these are among the best of her books I've read. The series is centered on Kiron (in the first book known as Vetch) and I like his arc throughout the books, as well as the magical land, reminiscent of Ancient Egypt, in which this is set--and dragons of course. The problems in the two lands of the previous books come to a head in this one, and beyond following characters I'd grown to care about (the dragons as much as the humans) this makes for a well-paced gripping adventure tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Poorly done

    I would not be suprised if all the bad boys let loose with evil cackles every now and then or if the good guys shone with glorious fervour. Characters are too predictable in good and bad roles and the story line in the first two of this series has held no substance or strenght. After reading a few Mercedes Lackey books her characters all seem to follow the same vein.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    I was hoping for more

    I loved the first book... In fact I read it twice! the second made me hungry for a third and there the problem came. I too felt that the third book was tired and not much thought thru, tho it was decent... I give it three stars because it follows Joust. I would have liked to see more of Menet-ka & Orest. I was overjoyed when Menet-ka (my fav) was sent on the 'secret' mission w/ Aket-ten. The dragons needed more flare, and the characters needed to be brought out and introduced more. I almost want to know what happens with the two new wings. Where did Marit go?? She, it seems, got lost in the shuffle. It was a good book but NO WHERE near the standard we were expecting after Joust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Average

    I have read a great deal of Mercedes Lackey books. By and large she has very creative and imaginative story lines. I have read at least 17 (that is right SEVENTEEN) of her novels thus far. First off, parents should be made aware that her books should be screened or censored for adult content. Some of them, not all, have vivid adult material as in 'The Fairy Godmother' and the 'Magic's Pawn' (Heralds of Valdemar) trilogy. Overall I enjoy her stories even though I have found her severely lacking in the craft/technique of writing. For the most part I read her books for the creative talent I see in them and try and muck through everything else that should've been cut. Mercedes Lackey had at one point stated on her website that she has a goal to surpass the number of novels written by some author whose name escapes me. Anyhow, the number of books was somewhere around 50 which apparently was what she thought was the greatest number of novels written by a single author. This was incorrect as there have been a few authors who wrote past 100 novels in their lifetimes. Seeing how I can no longer find this statement on her site, I assume she may have later learned of that and removed it. Perhaps her goal to write as many novels as possible is sabatoging the quality of her work? As far as her novels go her publishers/editors ought to be fired as there are many grammar and typographical errors. Where did her editor go? She could go so far with a good editor. There is also a great deal of exposition rather than the 'show don't tell' rule of truly great story writers. It would be nice if writers now a days slipped their political views into a story in a more skilled manner rather than simply expositioning the main character's thoughts or conversations. Over all there were many times in her novels when vocab words were used improperly, there was lots of redundancy, and once in one of the Valdemar novels she switched minor characters' names and roles mid story (obviously by accident). I also agree that the stories tend to move pretty slow. In the Owl Knight's last two books in the series they go on for 3/4 in vivid details about costumes and foods and nothing else. Then in the end it picks up. Seems she does the same with the Alta and Sanctuary books. I could easily see her becoming one of the masters in fiction story telling if she'd simply slow down enough to clean up all the expositions and repetitions . Then find herself someone competent to do all the editing and fix the grammar errors. By and large I blame her editors. (Who's repeating herself now?) Really. It is truly a shame as her story lines and talent are good and her writing skill, though in need of polish as she needs to learn how to cut out the excesssive everyday details, is still pretty vivid. As for the book 'Alta' and 'Sanctuary' of the Dragon Jousters series: I enjoyed them enough to check the series out from the library and am on the waiting list for the last one, 'Aeyrie'. I've decided that until Lackey takes the time to improve her over all writing skill I will not spend my money to buy her books. ('To Take a Thief' was probably one of the better written books of hers I did purchase). Hope this helps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    I hoped there would be another...and there is.

    Ask and you shall recieve, huh... Aeyrie!!! It does not have a release date or even a couple of chapters on her website yet, but it's out there and being called the 'last of the series', just like Sanctuary. I love all the books. I am a Pern reader 100%, and this series really drew my attention. It is a little hard to follow with the characters, but anyone who reads like I do, reads all their books a hundred times anyways. It just makes it better each following time when you find something you missed last time. Can't wait for Aeyrie to come out. And I hope she does the same thing she did with Sanctuary... come out with another 'last book in the series'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Not Lackey's Best

    This was not a bad book, but it wasn't as good as some of the other Lackey's books that I've read. It just seemed bogged down with detail to the point that it was hard to remember (or care about) the larger story. I've read worse, but I've read much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Wait until paperback!

    I usually buy Mercedes Lackey books without question, as she is one of my favorite authors. However, I wish I had taken more caution in the case of Sanctuary. After reading the fist 14 or so pages I was very disappointed. It was much shorter than the previous books in the series and it just seemed poorly written. It felt like she (Mrs. Lackey) had gotten tired of the series and just wanted it over and done with. I hope her next book shows more promise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    excellent

    great book. i love this book. one of my favorite books. it's excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    Typical

    The first two books in this series were interesting, though I liked Joust better than Alta. lackey's attempt to create a world that mimics that of ancient Egypt is admirable, but at times it can be annoying. One of the things that really bugged me about this series is the length and complexity of the characters' names. Not to mention too many of them started with K! kiron, Kaleth, Kalen, somebody help me please! And the dragons' names were just as bad. I mean, come on,whatever happened to calling an animal by a short two syllable or maybe three syllable name? I had to keep going back and re-reading pages just so i could keep everything's name straight. And for a novel concerned mainly with riders and dragons, i had a damn hard time recalling who was who. I've read alot of complex fantasy novels before like Goodkind and McCaffrey, and even though they have legions of characters and stuff, I've never had that problem. I think one of the major flaws is that we don't get enough time spent with any of the riders to know them, they don't seem to have any distinct personalities, except for maybe Kiron, Ari, and Aket-ten. Even their dragons are kind of just there. I would have preferred a lot more time spent on development of characters and dragons and less time spent on telling us exactly who had what for dinner and costumes. There was hardly any conflict and what there was was resolved too quickly. Compared to the Valdemar series, the Bardic series, and the Outstretched shadow, I'd have to say this one was mediocre and not her best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic finale to this fantasy series

    For years the magi, a magical evil organization, has worked in the shadows to gain power; now they have come out in the open with the Eye of Light, a weapon of mass destruction. The war between Alta and Tia goes on because the magi feed off the essence of the dying and become even more powerful. Those with psionic powers, the god touched are being drained of their power to feed the insatiable hunger of the magi.......................... The magi believe that the fighting force of the Jousters and there dragons are dead but in the desert city of Sanctuary, far from the magic of the magi, a dragon wing survives led by Kiron who once was a serf and a dragon boy in Tia. Sanctuary welcomes all the refugees who are fleeing the magi. The magi plan to use the Eye against the Tia army that is invading Alta; Kiron must rescue the woman he loves and rally the people so that when the earthquake hits as a byproduct of using the Eye, they will be able to evacuate in an orderly manner so that some of Alta will survive.......................... Book three of The Dragon Jousters¿ is a fantastic finale to an excellent fantasy trilogy. Kiron has grown from a subservient serf (lower than a slave) to a man who leads a mighty force that can take on the magi and save thousands of people. Much of the novel takes place in SANCTUARY as the people make a dead city come alive. The dragons have a special bond based on love and trust with their humans and fans of Anne MacCaffrey¿s Pern series will want to read this very special series..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3