Customer Reviews for

Sanctuary Cove (Cavanaugh Island Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Do life changes always have to be so difficult?

Deborah Robinson is dealing with a new business, going back home with her children, and living life as a widow. Her husband died a hero but the road to recovery is not easy when you have to say goodbye to old hurts. Moving forward is a challenge as well for Asa Monroe...
Deborah Robinson is dealing with a new business, going back home with her children, and living life as a widow. Her husband died a hero but the road to recovery is not easy when you have to say goodbye to old hurts. Moving forward is a challenge as well for Asa Monroe who has found some healing to his broken heart in this quaint, Southern town and its easygoing manner.

Small towns come with their own set of rules and a lack of privacy is the least of the worries that Deborah is dealing with. As she tries to release the past and move forward she, stumbles over guilt and too many memories from the life she had preventing her from building the life new now wants. The new bookstore she opens helps and finding Asa working for her exciting. He does not say much but there is a world of experiences he has also lived that she wants him to share. Every day they grow closer and discovering all his secrets is a healing balm for both of their hearts as they allow themselves to move toward a future.

Reading about two tattered souls finding each other and moving on with their lives is romance at its finest. This is a story of two people dealing with real life issues and making the difficult adult decisions everyone has to accomplish. My only question about this book is did Crystal get a dog or not?

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad

This book started out slow. I put it down than pick it back up weeks later. It turn out not to be a bad read, however I believe the author could dealt with a little less details and got the same effect.

posted by cthoney on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do life changes always have to be so difficult?

    Deborah Robinson is dealing with a new business, going back home with her children, and living life as a widow. Her husband died a hero but the road to recovery is not easy when you have to say goodbye to old hurts. Moving forward is a challenge as well for Asa Monroe who has found some healing to his broken heart in this quaint, Southern town and its easygoing manner.

    Small towns come with their own set of rules and a lack of privacy is the least of the worries that Deborah is dealing with. As she tries to release the past and move forward she, stumbles over guilt and too many memories from the life she had preventing her from building the life new now wants. The new bookstore she opens helps and finding Asa working for her exciting. He does not say much but there is a world of experiences he has also lived that she wants him to share. Every day they grow closer and discovering all his secrets is a healing balm for both of their hearts as they allow themselves to move toward a future.

    Reading about two tattered souls finding each other and moving on with their lives is romance at its finest. This is a story of two people dealing with real life issues and making the difficult adult decisions everyone has to accomplish. My only question about this book is did Crystal get a dog or not?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    awesome as usual!!

    This was a great read and i cant wait for the other books in the series. Mrs. Alers takes you for a visit to the lowcountry and you just want to stay there!!! Can't wait for the next story in the series and revisit the lowcountry.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Not bad

    This book started out slow. I put it down than pick it back up weeks later. It turn out not to be a bad read, however I believe the author could dealt with a little less details and got the same effect.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Great read!

    When I started reading this book, I thought it was very slow. I put the book down and picked it up again a week later to start again. I found this book very interesting and relaxing. While reading this book I could invision myself sitting on my front porch in Sanctuary Cove. I looking forward to reading book two.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read.

    Never having read anything of Rochelle Alers, I wasn't quite sure if I was going to like it. It has turned out to be a great read. I will read another book by her next. I loved it and would highly recommend it. You won't be sorry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Sanctuary Cove- Rochelle Alers

    Love this book! Loved the charcters, the setting, and the story line.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    GREAT SERIES

    LOVE THIS SERIES. CAN'T WAIT FOR ANOTHER BOOK IN THE SERIES TO COME OUT. EVERY ONE SHOULD READ THESE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    I really liked the way the relationship developed between the main characters. Very nice love story & there were some funny parts as well. Overall it was a nice book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great!

    I love the storyline!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    This is a great read!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It has a feel good flavor and the author tells the story brillantly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Not typical Rochelle

    This felt more like Christian fiction than romance. Was not pleased with the editor on this one. They also made the 15 yr old daughter sound 8 yrs old. Try her other publishing company as they have better books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Slow and not quite exciting

    I was hoping for this to be like much of her other books, but this one is a bit too slow for me. I have stopped reading it and have moved on to another book. I'll get back to it, but I can't recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quaint Deborah Robinson is a young widow after her husband drow

    Quaint

    Deborah Robinson is a young widow after her husband drowns. Wanting a fresh new start, she and her children move from Charleston, South Carolina, to her family home on Cavanaugh Island. There she meets widower Asa Monroe. He recently lost his wife and son in a car accident. Also looking for a new start has landed him in Sanctuary Cove on Cavanaugh Island. Will the two find a second chance at love?

    Anyone that has read books of the romance genre knows exactly what they are going to get. Boy meets girl, yada, yada, yada, boy and girl live happily ever after. Predictable, I know, right? What separates one book from the next is the yada, yada, yada. Though predictable, that yada, yada, yada can still be an enjoyable experience. I can’t say I found that to be the case with Rochelle Alers’ “Sanctuary Cove.” While by no means a bad read, it was just okay. The premise was decent, two widows finding love again after the pain, but the foundation was not a strong one for me as I couldn’t get past how quickly the main female character was willing to consider another relationship. She had been married in what was described as a pretty good marriage for almost 20 years and four weeks after burying her best friend and lover, she’s looking for love. That nagged me throughout the entire novel and affected my overall feel for the novel. Add to that the book being slow at times and I didn’t find myself in love with this read.

    I’ve read several Rochelle Alers novels; this just wasn’t one of my favorites. With Cavanaugh Island and the community she created in Sanctuary Cove, the possibilities with subsequent novels is great.

    Reviewed by: Toni

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Enjoyable read!

    Rochelle Alers is my favorite author. I have read every single book she has written. She makes me feel like I am right there with her engaging characters and splendid settings. Her style is fluid and personal. Anxiously awaiting her next book in this new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    A must read

    Rochelle Alers fan will not be disappointed with this first book in her new Cavanaugh Island Series. The history and culture of Sanctuary Cove and its residents come alive on the page. And as always, Ms. Alers weaves a beautiful love story beteewn the main characters Deborah Robinson and Dr. Asa Monroe. Am eagerly awaiting the next novel in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Prettstar-wise leader and loving cat, Fernpaw-daughter of Prettystar and is playful and funloving, Moonfrost-mother of Prettystar and Coral and is wise and guides Revengeclan as a "spirited" med. cat and wondeful mother, Coral-a calm shapeshifter who is Prettystar's sister and usually takes the form of a human, Becca-a teenage girl who wnats to have a fun, Ariana-happy and helpful who is confused about her place in things, Glint-quiet and is the daughter of Coral and is also a shapeshifter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2