Customer Reviews for

Sanctus

Average Rating 4
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Mystery to Discover

I really enjoyed Sanctus, up until the last 50 pages or so. The beginning is a bit slow, but the chapters are only a few pages long, so you can finish a few and come back to it later. Once the pace picks up, though, you won't be able to put it down. There's so much myst...
I really enjoyed Sanctus, up until the last 50 pages or so. The beginning is a bit slow, but the chapters are only a few pages long, so you can finish a few and come back to it later. Once the pace picks up, though, you won't be able to put it down. There's so much mystery surrounding everything in this book. The central mystery is the secretive ancient relic that the Sancti are guarding in their mountain monastery, but with every point of view shift, there is something new to discover. It reminded me of the Da Vinci Code, until the farfetched, supernatural ending. I should have expected it though, the foreshadowing and clues along the way all hinted to it, but I was hoping the author wouldn't cross genres in the last pages of the book. It was rather disappointing. That said, I'm not going to give this book a poor rating. I thoroughly enjoyed 95% of this book and would read anything this author writes, even if the ending is lacking.

Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Nothing even close to DaVinci code.

I was really excited about this book, what with a secret, religious society and an ancient, mysterious relic, it seemed right up my alley. But that was before I read it. I am astonished that other reviewers compared this book with "The DaVinci Code" - what an insult to ...
I was really excited about this book, what with a secret, religious society and an ancient, mysterious relic, it seemed right up my alley. But that was before I read it. I am astonished that other reviewers compared this book with "The DaVinci Code" - what an insult to Dan Brown! None of Brown's cleverness, intricate plotting, nor research went into this novel. The premise was interesting and might have made a great book had someone with the talent of a Dan Brown written it, however, it failed on so many levels for me. I really wanted to like it, but instead felt like I had wasted several hours of my life that are gone forever. Skip this book and re-read "The DaVinci Code."

posted by 7870305 on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Wait for it to be on sale

    I bought this on my nook app on a whim. While it is a decent story I would wait for it to be on sale. It's kind of like "Dan Brown light" an interesting idea but could have been told a bit better. Still would make good beach reading.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    In Dan Brown style BUT

    I have to say that this book held my attention until the end and I was so disappointed that it went the way of unbelievable Steven King/Dean Koontz. I love conspiracy themed books but they really ruined the whole book with a totally scify ending! OH WELL it was free so cant complain! Will try another of his books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Not bad

    I am an avid reader if this genre. I prefer James Rollins more for this type of story line, but not bad - especially for a friday free.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Recommend

    Even though I read this book because it was a free Friday Nook book and didn't actually seek it out, I did enjoy it. I may in time read the second in this trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    This book is well-written, but falls into a proselytization them

    This book is well-written, but falls into a proselytization theme at the end.

    I enjoyed most of the read because I was able to understand the characters, even though (as I think back) I'm not sure the author gave them significant depth. The story kept me engaged, even when one of the "good guys" was described almost identically to the description of one of the "bad guys."
    That being said, the whole thing degenerated into a New Age Feminist theology tract at the end, and I ended up disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Suspenseful

    Some problems with the writing but the story itself was suspenseful and kept me coming back for more to find out what was going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Wasn't Bad

    Wasn't bad, but I thought the ending wasn't near as good as I was hoping.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Held your interest

    I enjoyed reading the book. Kept your interest going to see how it was going to turn out. Didn't like the way it ended even though I know now it's a trilogy. Not sure if I will continue with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Pretty Good Read

    Ending was definitely unexpected! Story line was interesting and I enjoy books with conspiracy.
    I struggled getting close to the heroine but I think the series definitely has potential.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    I hated the ending!

    I thought this was an excellent book. It was an absolute page turner but the ending thoroughly disappointed me. The ending makes me rate it a three or less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Interesting

    This is one of 3 books. I liked this book and the next one, but reading last one did me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    The series was good and it read quickly. It is discomforting to wonder how a plot jumped from one incongruous isse to the next. And at the end, where are all the supporters of the Tower that were mentioned throughout (secret society of murderers).

    This book states that there was a culture that lived "thousands of years earlier" and founded religion, but were a secret isolated society. The book missed the opportunity to develop more mystery in the Tower and perhaps create more mysticism as well.
    Some of the personal relationships that unfolded were unbelievable. Also the symbolism attached to the artifacts could have been explored more deeply.
    I enjoyed the books for entertainment, and they did not require much analysis or thought.
    What happened to the one the Sanctus was to care for? It leaves that as an open question. Also, what true changes did it make to the key that we could see while reading the book. It left a hole of understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Intriguing Premise

    Imaginative premise, good characters, fast paced story. I found myself somewhat puzzled with the denoument. Not quite as well thought out as the rest of the story. But a good read overall. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    REcommended-Must find out what!!!!!!!!!

    Keeps you on your toes. The suspense kept me up at night trying to read it all. Long but interesting. Enjoyed very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    A pretty good thriller. I enjoyed it.

    This book kept me interested. There were some portions that I thought dragged a little, but overall the writing was quite good. The author wove a pretty convincing description of Ruin, making me try to look it up on a map!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    One With Religious Overtones--Lots of Action

    There is some alternate religion in this story of a monk who tries to fly, seemingly. It turns out that he has a sister, who immediately goes to the city of Ruin to see what is happening. The head of the order of monks is rather dastardly, but the police chief and ME are good guys. Mix in with that a woman running an organization to help the hungry, who has a son who is also a monk, and things get rather involved. There are a number of deaths and murders for all those who like that sort of thing. This is a good first novel. Would a booki group like this one? Maybe. Aha, I see that this is the first of a trilogy. Try it--it is rather intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Very good

    I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Good book, Bad file

    This book was very good. The characters and plot were well thought out and interesting. The short chapters were a little annoying, it was like watching a TV show and switching from scene to scene. The story moved quickly and I was surprised by the ending. Now, to the bad stuff, the e book file seemed to be missing pages and several times I had to use the "Go To' feature to get from one page to another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Disappointing ending

    A lot of twists and turns. I really enjoyed the book up until the end. I found the ending to be very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Loved it until the end

    I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end. A perfect summer page-turner. Unfortunately, I found the ending to be very disappointing (don't want to say more so as not to ruin it for others).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3