Customer Reviews for

Sanctus

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Lots of Mystery to Discover

I really enjoyed Sanctus, up until the last 50 pages or so. The beginning is a bit slow, but the chapters are only a few pages long, so you can finish a few and come back to it later. Once the pace picks up, though, you won't be able to put it down. There's so much myst...
I really enjoyed Sanctus, up until the last 50 pages or so. The beginning is a bit slow, but the chapters are only a few pages long, so you can finish a few and come back to it later. Once the pace picks up, though, you won't be able to put it down. There's so much mystery surrounding everything in this book. The central mystery is the secretive ancient relic that the Sancti are guarding in their mountain monastery, but with every point of view shift, there is something new to discover. It reminded me of the Da Vinci Code, until the farfetched, supernatural ending. I should have expected it though, the foreshadowing and clues along the way all hinted to it, but I was hoping the author wouldn't cross genres in the last pages of the book. It was rather disappointing. That said, I'm not going to give this book a poor rating. I thoroughly enjoyed 95% of this book and would read anything this author writes, even if the ending is lacking.

Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Nothing even close to DaVinci code.

I was really excited about this book, what with a secret, religious society and an ancient, mysterious relic, it seemed right up my alley. But that was before I read it. I am astonished that other reviewers compared this book with "The DaVinci Code" - what an insult to ...
I was really excited about this book, what with a secret, religious society and an ancient, mysterious relic, it seemed right up my alley. But that was before I read it. I am astonished that other reviewers compared this book with "The DaVinci Code" - what an insult to Dan Brown! None of Brown's cleverness, intricate plotting, nor research went into this novel. The premise was interesting and might have made a great book had someone with the talent of a Dan Brown written it, however, it failed on so many levels for me. I really wanted to like it, but instead felt like I had wasted several hours of my life that are gone forever. Skip this book and re-read "The DaVinci Code."

posted by 7870305 on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of Mystery to Discover

    I really enjoyed Sanctus, up until the last 50 pages or so. The beginning is a bit slow, but the chapters are only a few pages long, so you can finish a few and come back to it later. Once the pace picks up, though, you won't be able to put it down. There's so much mystery surrounding everything in this book. The central mystery is the secretive ancient relic that the Sancti are guarding in their mountain monastery, but with every point of view shift, there is something new to discover. It reminded me of the Da Vinci Code, until the farfetched, supernatural ending. I should have expected it though, the foreshadowing and clues along the way all hinted to it, but I was hoping the author wouldn't cross genres in the last pages of the book. It was rather disappointing. That said, I'm not going to give this book a poor rating. I thoroughly enjoyed 95% of this book and would read anything this author writes, even if the ending is lacking.

    Reviewed by Brittany for Book Sake.

    38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Let me start by saying Sanctus and The Key are each a thrilling

    Let me start by saying Sanctus and The Key are each a thrilling read. I
    will definitely buy the third book in this trilogy. I cannot give this
    book a fifth star because the author weakens the plot by interjecting
    his political beliefs into these novels. Evident repeatedly throughout
    these books are his prejudices which may summed up as, 1), Oil = Bad and
    2), Christianity (Catholicism) = Evil. I find such preaching tiresome
    and mundane.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I hate when I do not have enough time to just sit and read a boo

    I hate when I do not have enough time to just sit and read a book until
    I'm done. Sanctus is a book that needs extended periods of time to read.
    I would get to the end of a chapter and couldn't wait to see what
    happened next and I'd have to get off the bus or back to work.
    Fortunately, the short chapters made it easy to remember where I had to
    leave off. While Sanctus is in the same genre as The DaVinci Code, it is
    a totally different read. Liv, and the reader, could not tell who were
    the good guys and who were the bad guys. You are taught to trust and
    believe religious leaders but these guys were something else. I liked
    how technology was used to make it easier for the bad guys and good guys
    to track people. While the question was an old one, the use of
    technology and how far each side would go to get what they wanted gave
    Sanctus a fresh feel. I was hooked from the beginning as Samuel stands
    atop the Citadel like the Christ statue in Rio de Janeiro trying to
    figure out why he was standing that way and why he wanted out of the
    Citadel. At times I was a little confused when some characters were
    introduced but once the explanation was received I could fit the
    character into the plot. I look forward to the next book of the trilogy.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is my favorite suspense of the year. It has everything from

    This is my favorite suspense of the year. It has everything from
    suspense, to action, mystery and conspiracies that stretch back to the
    beginning of the human race. The author creates a mysterious sect that
    is hiding an ancient artifact that no one except the highest ranking in
    the group know what it really is. They have a very detailed history that
    you discover over the course of the story and that keep you figuring
    things out until the end of the story. The setting as well is fictional
    but is so detailed that as you read you are wondering does it indeed
    exist. And if so where exactly in Turkey will you find it. You can
    easily picture it and imagine what it would look like should you be able
    to visit. From the streets to the buildings to the security. At the
    same time you are getting these great character and setting details. You
    are on a roller coaster ride with the story. Once you get going it is
    almost non-stop until the end. I thought this was an excellent debut
    for this author and I was completely surprised by the ending. It was not
    at all what I was expecting and it threw in one final twist to the
    story. While this is the start of a trilogy it is a complete stand alone
    that concludes the main story at the end. I am however really looking
    forward to the next in the series to see what happens next as a result
    of what happened here. If you are looking for a great suspense. Pick
    this one up immediately. It is reminiscent of other religious thrillers.
    But as it is completely fictional and not based on any one
    "real" religious sect it can easily be classified in a
    standard thriller category.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    New Must-Read Thriller for Fall!

    Simon Toyne's debut novel, Sanctus, is a new must-read for the fall. The book follows a few main characters who are all intertwined in an ancient prophecy and a secret that will rock the world if discovered. Sanctus is filled with history, religion, mystery, and suspense. It asks the question of just how far someone would go to protect a long-hidden secret that would unravel the faith of millions if discovered.
    Taking place in the city of Ruin in Turkey, Sanctus is a page-turning thriller that fans of Dan Brown are sure to appreciate. The novel compels the reader forward with the unanswered questions it poses, only to astound them with the revelation of what lay hidden deep within the Citadel at the very end of the novel. The religious mystery/conspiracy plot has been done before, but not with this kind of intensity and baffling twist. This is a definite must-read for fall!
    Disclosure: I received my copy of this book free from Goodreads. However, this has no effect on my opinion of the book or my review.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Very well done. Fast and easy read.

    Better than Davinci Code.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining

    Fast paced, entertaining, fast read. If you like Dan Brown you'll like this piece; very DaVinci Code-esque. Be aware this is the first of a series of three.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    you may just love this one if you like religious fiction

    wow. the beginning hooked me completely with a monk diving off a mountain. an interesting plot that grows on you slowly (it was a bit hard at first to keep the characters straight) and kept me guessing. the ending was very dark for me; to think these men could harbor such hatred toward women for SO LONG depressed me no end. Still, i will await the next book in the trilogy. (let's hope it's only fiction!!)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cinematic thriller, first in new trilogy

    Sanctus is a page-turning thriller set in modern day Turkey with a secret at its heart that dates back to the dawn of man. A monk climbs to the top of an ancient citadel carved from the very mountain itself. After holding a stoic pose for most of a day during which the world watches, transfixed, he plummets to his death. This starts a chain reaction of events pitting the ancient order of monks desperate to keep the secret at the heart of the mountain from the world against those seeking to uncover the truth.

    American reporter Liv Ademsen is involuntarily drawn into the mystery, and along with a dogged police inspector and a shadowy organization opposed to the monks of the citadel begins a path that unwittingly makes her key to unlocking the secret and either fulfilling or denying an ancient prophecy.

    Author Simon Toyne has a television background and it shows in the cinematic descriptions in this book. The setting and the action are described beautifully. The book is made up of small chapters which keeps the story moving quickly even as it switches between sets of characters. A thriller with a religious secret at the center will draw comparisons to Dan Brown, but I believe this book will appeal both to fans of his work as well as those who think Brown¿s novels fall short, myself among them.

    I¿m struck by how well this book is written by a first time novelist. Necessary information is conveyed without feeling like the story is stopping for an ¿info dump¿. The characters are fleshed out and feel real, their decisions and actions don¿t feel like foregone conclusions; there are actual choices they could make that could send the story in different directions.

    I enjoyed the conclusion and felt like it nicely wrapped up the story at hand, while also setting the foundation for the rest of the planned trilogy. One that I definitely intend on seeing to its conclusion. Highly recommended for any thriller fan. I was fortunate to receive an early review copy of this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Enjoyed the read

    Well-woven religious intrigue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is an excellent book. Well paced, with a gripping plot. Loo

    This is an excellent book. Well paced, with a gripping plot. Looking forward to reading the next two.

    NOTE: The NOOK version is glitchy, so be prepared to have to work around that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Couldnt put it down

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Pleasantly Surprised Pleasant Surprise

    Exciting & riveting story! Very believable, will definitely hold your attention; a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great job

    Had me wanting more at the end, but I guess they left that for a sequel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Edge of seat page turner

    Had me hooked from the first page. Many twists and turns to keep you wondering where the plot is going to go. Surprise ending. Everything I need to enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Good religous intrigue

    Very entertaining and a fast read. Didn't see where it was heading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Interesting Read

    I enjoyed reading Sanctus. The story kept me reading from the beginning to the finish with interesting plots and turns throughout the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Worthwhile read.

    A very worthwhile read. I thought it compared well with a Dan Brown novel, although I found the ending a little contrived and disappointing. I probably will read this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Gripping read

    I very much enjoyed this book. It has some violence but it was not what I consider graphic. I didn't think the ending was hurried or abrupt at all. I say that because a lot of reviews I read ad that opinion. I was sorry when it was over, what higher praise can I give it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6