Customer Reviews for

Sandman Slim (Sandman Slim Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Original Storyline with great characters

Richard Kadrey writes like Simon Green or Jim Butcher on speed with a bad hangover and a 3 day beard. Sandman is a unique anti-hero. He's still getting used to the idea of being alive. It's well written, surprising, not formulaic and although the story definitely end...
Richard Kadrey writes like Simon Green or Jim Butcher on speed with a bad hangover and a 3 day beard. Sandman is a unique anti-hero. He's still getting used to the idea of being alive. It's well written, surprising, not formulaic and although the story definitely ends, there's plenty of room for the next chapter in Sandman's adventures.

posted by begonia03 on September 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Is it Thursday, yet?

...that's something a friend of ours shouted out in a movie theater when the movie he was watching just dragged on and on. :)

Ok, I loved the title and the idea of the story. But I found the writing style to be very immature. The author tries to be pulp-fictiony and ...
...that's something a friend of ours shouted out in a movie theater when the movie he was watching just dragged on and on. :)

Ok, I loved the title and the idea of the story. But I found the writing style to be very immature. The author tries to be pulp-fictiony and "cool" but just comes off cocky and silly. The main character is annoying -- a not nice guy looking for revenge. Oh, so sorry for him. The magical powers and weapons seem thrown in on a whim, without much thought. I don't care about the main character, who is a bit of a brat. The only person I really liked in the novel was the bartender. And I liked the head in the closet, but that was short-lived. I forced my way through the whole thing because it was short and I was determined. Nice try -- maybe future books will be better, but this one was a waste of time. Two stars instead of one because it had its moments.

posted by Cherylanne on November 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If Cool Could Kill You Would Get Sandman Slim

    I found strong recommendations for this book from Barnes & Nobles resident paranormal guide. Paul Goat Allen named this his best paranormal title of 2009 and I do concur! The book is fast paced, smooth talking, heaven and hell of a thriller.

    From the first sentence foreword this book is in high gear. A page turner through and through. Part horror. Part mystery. Part comic (sans all the pictures). Sandman Slim is something like Men in Black meets Sin City. Without all the graphics.

    Read this first then check out the follow up, Kill The Dead.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Yup. Yup. Yup.

    Laser sharp. Plot moves and explodes like a Roman candle screaming. I think I'm in love.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Gritty and awesome

    Who needs a hero when you can have Stark?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    If you loved this book as much as me you'd also love The Iron Dr

    If you loved this book as much as me you'd also love The Iron Druid and The Dresden Files. Still this is a great and unique urban fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Rain

    Is taken in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    If you like the TV show supernatural

    If you like the TV Show supernatural then you will love this. It's like that with more adult content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    What a great trip!  Sandman Slim is a working man's John Taylor.

    What a great trip!  Sandman Slim is a working man's John Taylor.  I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    wild ride

    Absolutely loved this book. But if you are religous you might want to avoid it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Sarcastic, action packed & awesome

    Just a trip and a half. Love the clever self deprecating humor. Main character is aware of his flaws, and triumphs more thru sheer stubborness and apathy than any super hero qualities. One of a kind read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Awesome read

    This is one of the best finds yet. Now on to the rest. The humor is great,the plot pulls you in fast and I say bravo to the writer for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Loved it

    My new fav series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Awesome!

    I have been a fan of Richard Kadrey's for quite a few years and I am so glad I finally read Sandman Slim. Wonderful read, action, humor, well written. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    One of the best..

    This book is the best story i have ever read .. every time i read it, it gets better..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Trashy, in the best posssible way.  If you put the Evil Dead, th

    Trashy, in the best posssible way.  If you put the Evil Dead, the Count of Monte Cristo, and The Big Sleep in a blender with half a bottle of Jack Daniels, you would get something similar to this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Great book

    I think it is truly refreshing to read about someone who is not a goody- two -shoes, but still manages to save the day. I love Sandman Slim. He is not afraid to get down and dirty. I think one of my favorite scenes is when he goes to the bad man's house and casually blows it the hell up......very classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Sandman Slim...

    Wow! This was a great read. Very imaginative with dark and interesting characters. A great escape from reality. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Fun read!

    Good, irreverent story. Really liked this book. Great characters and well paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great

    Better second time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Best book ever

    This is hands down the best book ever. I got my husband to read this & he hasn't touch a book since highschool (25 years ago). The book is very fast pace & it also has no chapters. So this makes it even harder to put down. What other book starts off with main guy waking up on fire in a graveyard? LOVE THIS BOOK & ALL THE OTHERS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    You'll have a hell of a good time

    i literally could not put this book on, it clung to my face like a literary xenomorph. his writing is punchy, and fast paced. you will chain read these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6