Customer Reviews for

Sandstorm (Sigma Force Series) Limited Edition

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Arabian Adventure!

1st James Rollin book I have ever read. A book thick w/ surprises and interweaved w/ ancient myth. Full of thrill and excitement that keep you on edge the whole time. I love his style of story-telling and vivid imagination and have just ordered another 5 of his books....
1st James Rollin book I have ever read. A book thick w/ surprises and interweaved w/ ancient myth. Full of thrill and excitement that keep you on edge the whole time. I love his style of story-telling and vivid imagination and have just ordered another 5 of his books.

posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sandstorm by James Rollins

This is the 8th James Rollins book I have read in the past year and half. I have enjoyed all the previous ones, 5 star. This one was a difficult read. Way to far fetched and after laboring through the book the end just jumps to a simplistic conclusion. I hope the Black ...
This is the 8th James Rollins book I have read in the past year and half. I have enjoyed all the previous ones, 5 star. This one was a difficult read. Way to far fetched and after laboring through the book the end just jumps to a simplistic conclusion. I hope the Black Oracle is more like The rest of his books.

posted by DIAMONDTROY on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Sandstorm by James Rollins

    This is the 8th James Rollins book I have read in the past year and half. I have enjoyed all the previous ones, 5 star. This one was a difficult read. Way to far fetched and after laboring through the book the end just jumps to a simplistic conclusion. I hope the Black Oracle is more like The rest of his books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Wonderful Arabian Adventure!

    1st James Rollin book I have ever read. A book thick w/ surprises and interweaved w/ ancient myth. Full of thrill and excitement that keep you on edge the whole time. I love his style of story-telling and vivid imagination and have just ordered another 5 of his books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    Captivating

    while the middle of the book dragged on sometimes, this still made for an exciting and enthralling read. James Rollins has such thrilling plots that just make his books captivating and fun to read. The last 100 pages were so intense I dove in and finished the book right as I got home from school which concluded in a very exciting ending that I hope will carry on to the rest of the series. I look forward to Map of Bones!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2007

    Battle on the Sands

    This is one of my favorites. The action in the very beginning of the book starts it off perfectly and near the end a fascinating scientific concept arises that most readers probably don't recognize

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Fantastic Thriller

    This is very creatively done. It is such an interesting book filled with adventure, action, and imagination. I highly recommend this. In my opinion, it is very much in the vain of Indiana Jones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Suspenceful

    Love James rollins bookd...This one is NOT a let down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In-cre-di-ble

    Fast-paced, non stop action. Sandstorm was awesome. I love how Rollins makes mysteries out of ancient history. Some of the most creative story telling I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good action, awful science, awful realism

    With the cool holographic book cover and action plot, this seemed like it would be a good read, but I was disappointed. The main problem is everything was so far-fetched. There were some extraordinary introductory events that were fascinating--a tremendous explosion in a museum resulting from ball lightning drifting over to an ancient statue, and a strange dust devil in the desert--but when the explanations of these phenomena were finally revealed, they were too scientifically implausible. The main premise was that antimatter could exist in a special, naturally encased form found in a meteorite, but I seriously doubt such a form is even slightly plausible. The ancient order of women guardians with metaphysical powers made the plot even more unrealistic, and the ancient underground city at the end was at least as bad in a B-movie-like way. The snake-in-a-tub and the excessive save-the-world scope at the end were too James Bondish for my taste, as well. Other than that, the action was good and the emergence of mysterious parties competing for the antimatter was also good. So if you're looking for an action book about antimatter, meteorites, and deserts, and if you don't mind lapses in realism, you should enjoy this book, otherwise I'd recommend skipping it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Don't Throw Your Time Away

    James Rollins is a great writer, no doubt, but this book is too tediously written. The plot is too complicated, and takes too long to unfold. The overall idea is somewhat fascinating, but it's not worth the effort.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Non-Stop Read cover to cover

    Fantastic from start to finish. I read this in less than 48 hours ( I could not get anything done at work due to waiting for the nxt time I could pick up the book). The main characters a fantastic mix between James Bond, Indiana Jones, and Houdini. A great adventure read if your in the mood for a fast paced ride through the desert. I have read two books by this author, I am going to purchase the remaining ones I haven't read today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Arabian Adventure

    You gotta love a novel which begins,'Henry Masterson would be dead in thirteen minutes.'!!! This book dives into adventure, lost love, murder, and a secret city hidden by the sands of Arabia. Sand Storm is a page turner from cover to cover! Can't wait to read another book from James Rollins!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2005

    Not what I Hoped

    Sandstorm began with a bang.Literally.It was intriguing and I read on hoping it would continue to be riveting.However, the plot took a nose dive as the main characters were poorly developed in my opinion.The story gets confusing and I lost interest not even half way through.Weeks later I picked the book up and was able to get into it again.But again I was disappointed because it seemed to me that at least 200 of the pages could have been removed and the story would have benefitted.Only the beginning and the very end of the book are worth reading.Even then it did not deliver.The ending climax was maybe ten pages of the 'discovery' and a tedious battle that is forgettable.If the author had made more of the 'discovery' and less rif raf getting there,it would have been more engaging. I absolutely love adventure tales but this adventure lacked so much that it took me weeks to finish.It seemed like homework.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4