BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Sandwich, With a Side of Romance

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

It was funny and sweet and i couldn't put it down! I will definitely buy more books from this author!!!

posted by arizonasullivan on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tiny font

I can't even read this book due to the font size being so tiny. It can't be adjusted either :-(

posted by 10263431 on August 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Tiny font

    I can't even read this book due to the font size being so tiny. It can't be adjusted either :-(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    It was funny and sweet and i couldn't put it down! I will definitely buy more books from this author!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fun page-turner

    Maddie has "graduated" from foster care but her eleven-year-old brother has not. Determined to make it on her own and also gain custody of her brother, Maddie is an independent, street-smart twenty-year-old who is not accustomed to accepting help from anyone. Her heart needs to soften to the good will of others who come into her life. Phillips brings us a strong-willed character that must learn to accept the help others offer if she can gain custody of her brother. Memorable characters and a fun page-turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Tiny print

    I can only give it a 3 at this time. The print is too tiny to read and won't adjust. The reviews looked interesting, sure wish I could read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Very Cute!

    Fun, easy read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I just finished reading Sandwich With a Side of Romance, Krista

    I just finished reading Sandwich With a Side of Romance, Krista Phillip’s debut novel. Did she ever deliver! I tend to read more dramatic stories about heavy topics or suspense or mystery-type books, and this was a refreshing change. I knew that I was reading a more lighthearted novel when I picked it up, and it was fantastic. Exactly what I needed to escape and just remember how to enjoy life again. I will definitely be recommending it to friends and family.

    Don’t get me wrong. There was plenty of drama from the beginning, with twists in the plot and things I didn’t see coming, but there was so much lighthearted humor interspersed throughout that the book never got heavy. I alternated throughout laughing and then crying because Ms. Phillip’s really knew how to paint a picture in your mind of the humorous situations the main characters got themselves into, but she also allowed for some real heartstring tugging as she described the past of the heroine and how it shaped her future. It was a great balance between deep emotions and lighthearted fun.

    Her characters are likable, even with all their faults and the baggage they bring with them from their pasts. There were unanswered questions throughout the novel that were explained at the end as well as a lot of spiritual depth that didn’t preach but instead challenged and encouraged me as the reader.

    I will definitely be reading a lot more Ms. Phillip’s novels, especially if they continue to combine humor and laughter, all pulled together in real life situations that I can definitely relate to.

    This is a book, in my opinion, that appeals to a wide audience. I would recommend it to my mom who loves lighthearted romance as well as to my friends who enjoy more in-depth stories. Ms. Phillips definitely offers both. I can’t wait until her next novel comes out. I’m confident that I will enjoy whatever else she writes as much as I enjoyed Sandwich With a Side of Romance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Page turner

    This was a auick read, and hard to put down. Can't wait to read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Krista Phillip's debut book, Sandwich, With a Side of Romance is

    Krista Phillip's debut book, Sandwich, With a Side of Romance is a savory read, flavored with humor and depth!

    When Maddie Buckner moves to Sandwich to become a hair stylist, she botches her first haircut and loses her job - and the chance to gain custody of her brother still in foster care. Reuben-the-Jerk, who got her fired, is guilted into giving her a job as his assistant at his restaurant, The Sandwich Emporium.

    Maddie is racing against time, as she struggles to build a stable life and get custody of her brother. His foster parents want to adopt him, and Maddie needs to prove herself as a worthy guardian. The problem is she keeps getting herself into a "pickle" and has to be rescued by Reuben-the-Jerk...who has started to become Reuben-the-Dreamboat. Throw in Reuben's jealous fiance and you have one big, messy plate of circumstances.

    There are several things I loved about this book. I loved Maddie's new faith and her "realistic" and sometimes funny prayers. There is a realness about Maddie and how she expresses herself and her faith. It's not contrived. It's honest and open. I loved Reuben who, even though he grew up in a Christian family, struggles with himself and his feelings. I love that he is real...he really can be a jerk! But oh, the chemistry between these two....it is tangible and heartfelt.

    I also loved Reuben's family who exhibit what it really means to be Jesus in this world. They opened up their homes and their hearts to Maddie when she had no one...and nothing. They gave and they gave, without expecting anything in return. They encouraged and they loved, not pushing Maddie too hard or too fast. They are what I hope to be.

    Krista's debut book is a funny and happy read, but it contains meat to chew on. It shows us realness of life. It shows us how we can struggle in life, yet trust God for His blessing. It shows us that God's family IS a real family who love unconditionally. It shows us that two people can learn to trust and love in spite of themselves.

    Sandwich, With a Side of Romance is an awesome debut novel and I cannot wait for the next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    When I began reading this, I wasn't sure I would like it. I have

    When I began reading this, I wasn't sure I would like it. I have read so many vapid, sappy Christian romances, and I am often disappointed in both the story and the message. Well, I couldn't have been more wrong. This is a delightful romance, and I can honestly recommend it pretty highly. The story and the characters are fun. Actually, if Reuben is real, I'll drop everything and marry him now. And Maddie is an easy relatable character.

    I found the message excellent. In fact, I was reminded that telling God what you want in life is wrong. After all, who is really in charge? I think both Reuben and Maddie learned that valuable lesson, and I only wish that real life could be as wonderful and fun as this story. The book is filled with great humor (I always love that) and one headstrong woman. And an arrogant man. Pretty par for the course.

    I honestly can't think of anything that would improve this. It was refreshing to read a clean romance with no profanity nor sex scenes. In fact, the characters believe no sex outside of marriage. They even take precautions to make sure it doesn't happen. And there are some neat twists and turns that should heighten your interest even more.

    I don't want to include any spoilers, but I absolutely adored the final line in the book, and it is the ideal way for this sweet book to end. This book will give you a nice break from real life and remind you that God can do anything even when life doesn't make sense.

    i was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Couldn't read it

    Wanted to read this but when I tried to change the font size on my ereader, it didn't change, instead it just changed the formatting a little bit so that there were fewer words on the page. I swear the font size is like 10 pt or smaller. My eyes really aren't that bad, but I can't read this at the gym while I work out because the font is just too small. Book needs to be reformatted so that it will work better on my nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Ulteron Fyre

    Yes. At Shine result 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Enderfur

    No and i dont want to" he teleports away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Arrgh!

    I don't usually give ANY book only a one star review, but want to get someone's attention at B&N that this one is needing some serious technical attention for impossible font size!

    Please flag my review as "off topic content"... as well as any others that mention the teeny-tiny, non-changeable font.

    -Thanks-- maybe together we can fix it and read what seems to be a decent story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    !

    Since nearly every review is a plot spoiler, this book is ruined to buy. Bn, please ban these plot spoilers from revealing every detail of a book. They keep readers from buying tge book. Who wants to buy the book when these ppl have already told us every detail? Another sale lost to excessive plot spoilers

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Oh, what a yummy fun loving novel!  From the first chapter I w

    Oh, what a yummy fun loving novel! 

    From the first chapter I was drawn into the world of this debut novel. Witty, funny, snarky and mixed with a dose of suave and you’ve got a contemporary romance healthy in humor and nutritious in the romantic conflict department. (Okay, ending the food metaphors here, I promise)

    Maddie is a baby Christian with sort of a false sense of prayer and all God is. But she’s trying and she wants to honor the God who has saved her…but on one condition: she cannot fall in love with her boss. I don’t think Maddie knew the meaning yet of the genre she was being written in to…

    Sparks fly in this novel of grace, acceptance and trust that God has the very best plans no matter how much we might pray otherwise. So many moments had my family looking at me funny as I snorted and laughed my way through the book. Maddie has got the quirkiest sense of humor and ability to find the snark in each moment. She knows how to make a book fun.

    The novel isn’t all light and fluff. It serves up its own dose of painful backstory that affect the characters. At first I thought it a difficult contradiction to reconcile with the amount of humor, but found character growth in the end to make it all a delightful read.

    Perfect escape for the too-quick hours this novel takes to read!


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fun read, lots of chuckles! It is such a warm hearted and

    What a fun read, lots of chuckles! It is such a warm hearted and we begin to pull for her right from the beginning. Maddie Buckner is beginning her new life at Sandwich, IL...but getting fired on her first day wasn't in her plans.
    Reuben Callahan is one drop dead gorgeous man, and he becomes Maddie's first customer at the beauty salon. Thus he is responsible for getting her fired. Reuben has a heart for the Lord, and has compassion...well kind of...and hires her to be a Waitress. Calamity Jane has nothing on Maddie...she is now fired again!
    In the end Reuben hires her to be his Assistant..and she is marvelous at this job. Only problem?? Her name is Livy...and she is Reuben's long time girlfriend.
    The compassion and Grace shown by Reuben's family will make you feel good about the human population. Such a kind and God loving family. They rally around Maddie, and she has a hard time accepting their kindness.
    Maddie is a relatively new Christian and has a very checkered past. She now trying so hard and is succeeding in her Love of The Lord. She want to gain custody of her only brother Kyle, before his foster family is able to adopt him.
    Enjoy this fast pace read, and travel along, with the sparks of romance, sabotage, and forgiveness.

    I received this book Pump Your Book Virtual Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pleasant Diversion on a Sunday Afternoon

    Back Cover

    “Sandwich represents hope for twenty-year-old Maddie Buckner and Kyle, the eleven-year-old brother Maddie wants to spring out of foster care. Then she loses her new job after less than a day. It’s all Reuben-the-jerk’s fault and she’s determined to make him right the wrong.

    He does so, reluctantly, by giving her a job in his restaurant, The Sandwich Emporium.”

    New Christian, Maddie, comes from a background she regrets. She must prove herself to get custody of Kyle, and with two lost jobs in two days after she accidentally dumps dinner on the mayor, she convinces Reuben that he needs an assistant in the office. Thus begins an unwelcome attraction between them—because of painful (literally) liaisons with men in the past, she wants to forget about romance.

    Sandwich with a Side of Romance is just that—a romance. This book provides a pleasant diversion on a Sunday afternoon. Likeable characters walk through these pages, and the Christians who people it seem genuine: no “we’re too perfect to be real”. It maintains a steady pace to keep the reader reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    It's not often I enjoy a book this much. Warning--you will lose

    It's not often I enjoy a book this much. Warning--you will lose sleep over this book!
    In Sandwich with a Side of Romance Maddie Buckner wants custody of her eleven-year-old brother, but she is must prove she can take care of him. Upon graduating from beauty school she gets a job in a town an hour from Chicago cutting hair for a horrible boss. Her first client is a handsome man with attitude who promptly falls asleep while she cuts his hair--big mistake--he dips his head, and in the process Maddie accidentally cuts a large chuck of his hair. Since it's her first day on the job she is promptly fired. But Maddie is spunky and desperate. Before the day is over she convinces, Reuben, the man whose hair she ruined that he owes her. He offers her a job at his restaurant.
    I won't tell you any more of the story, but suffice it to say I was hooked from page one and read over half of the 317 pg book in one sitting.
    Special thanks to Abingdon Press for providing me with this copy. I seriously enjoyed this story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Krista Phillips in her new book, ┬┐Sandwich, With a Side of Roman

    Krista Phillips in her new book, “Sandwich, With a Side of Romance” published by Abingdon Press brings us into the life of Maddie Buckner.

    From the back cover: She moved to Sandwich, Illinois, in search of a new life, but ended up in a giant pickle.

    Sandwich represents hope for twenty-year-old Maddie Buckner, and her brother, until she loses her new job after less than an hour on the clock. It’s all Reuben-the-Jerk’s fault, and she’s determined to make him right the wrong.

    He does so, however reluctantly, by giving her a job at his restaurant, The Sandwich Shop. What Maddie doesn’t count on is losing her heart to her boss. Her engaged boss. When bad things start happening to sabotage the expansion of the restaurant, Maddie must get to the bottom of the craziness in time to save her brother, her job, and her heart.

    Ever just want to read a fun book? If so then ”Sandwich, With a Side of Romance” is just the book. First Maddie moves to Sandwich, Illinois and, finally, gets a job at The Sandwich Shop. But this is not just a feel good romance with laugh out loud moments. Kyle, Maddie’s eleven year old brother is in foster care and Maddie wants him with her. However she really needs a job. While she is trying to make that work the foster family apply to adopt Kyle. On top of this Reuben is trying to expand the restaurant but things are happening that sabotage the expansion effort. Then there is the romance between Maddie and Reuben even though Reuben is already engaged. The only way this is ever going to be resolved is if Maddie just lets go and let God handle it. However that is easier said than done. ”Sandwich, With a Side of Romance” is just plain fun and exciting as well. It is an enjoyable story and I look forward to more from Ms. Phillips.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    I received this novel, along with several others, in the mail on

    I received this novel, along with several others, in the mail on Wednesday. But life, you know that funny thing that gets in the way of what we WANT to do sometimes, prevented me from starting it right away. Around lunch on Thursday, I had a moment or two while I was eating. I picked up this one because the cover and title called to me. It said, "Read me. You'll laugh." So I did. And I did. That would be I did read it and I did laugh.

    The laughing was balanced by a fair amount of seriousness. Krista touched on some serious subjects that some of us may have dealt with. She did an awesome job of showing us the unconditional love and acceptance of Jesus while keeping us holding our sides at some of the misunderstandings between Maddie and Reuben.

    I highly recommend "Sandwich, With a Side of Romance". It actually earns 5 stars with this reader. Something I give rarely.

    ***I received this novel free for the purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2