Customer Reviews for

Sandworms of Dune (Dune 7 Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

For anyone familiar with the Dune universe

Reading this book was like coming home to a friend I didn't even know I'd missed. I fell under the spell of the six original Dune books as a teenager, read two of the prequel books in adulthood. For anyone familiar with the Dune universe, there is a very familiar feel t...
Reading this book was like coming home to a friend I didn't even know I'd missed. I fell under the spell of the six original Dune books as a teenager, read two of the prequel books in adulthood. For anyone familiar with the Dune universe, there is a very familiar feel to this book, with integral characters. Yet, several things are different enough to hold a reader's interest. I kept reminding myself to pace, to go to sleep, so I could savor the next chapter, but it was hard to do.

posted by LisaJYarde on August 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

In Sandworms Brian and Kevin finally succeeded in destroying a man¿s greatest legacy to Science Fiction Literature. One of the main things I always enjoyed about Frank Herbert¿s novels, was the ability of formation of the mind as a separate entity capable of many things...
In Sandworms Brian and Kevin finally succeeded in destroying a man¿s greatest legacy to Science Fiction Literature. One of the main things I always enjoyed about Frank Herbert¿s novels, was the ability of formation of the mind as a separate entity capable of many things, the evolution of mind over matter, without the reliance of other things. Of course one of Herbert¿s main points as well as dilemmas was the trade off of reliance on one thing 'machines' to another 'the spice', in essence the trade off of one addiction for another without getting to the root of the problem. Now while I do believe after finally finishing the last in the Dune Series of novels that indeed an outline did exist for future work, I do also believe that the authors took many liberties with this book including in pulling a lot of it out of thin air. The reason I believe this is the revelation of Duncan Idaho, I have always questioned why he was always a constant in all of the six original novels, that there was something indeed special about him, something more than him than just have fanatical loyalty and devotion to all Atreides he served. Also the question of perhaps machines possibly returning did cross my mind with not only Leto¿s withholding of the spice, but also he himself destroy any Mentat¿s he knew about or of in fact he destroyed many Idaho¿s for this very reason of the Bene Thilex creating gholas with mentant powers. There was a reason for this one that was never answered in the original novels. Also, the face dancers as well they had become so good that even the Bene Gesserit couldn¿t really detect them any longer, why because they had evolved as well had become more human to the point they believed they were indeed the person they were to impersonate. However, this is where the ¿outline¿ of Herbert¿s greatest work ends and the tragedy begins. First off the Atreides were special individuals with abilities once combined with the Harkonnen¿s that made them what they were, to take away from the greatness of Paul who could see what others could not see and his son the God Emperor who could see all but said nothing and accepted the sacrifice oh behalf of humanity, belittles this man¿s work. The true objective of the original novels was to teach the consequences on the reliance on any substance be it organic or synthetic and that in trading one for another they had truly learned nothing even 15,000 years later. To bring back fairytale endings of all the original characters being brought back to life, Paul, Alia, Jessica, Leto I, Leto II, Liet-Kynes, Dr. Yueh, and Stilgar is bringing a Hollywood story where the good guys win in the end which isn¿t the purpose of the books at all. As for Duncan being the true Kwistaz Hadarach in any of the novels he never displayed any supernatural powers at all with the exception of his fanatical loyalty and the importance of his genes that not even the Bene Gesserit seemed with all of the prescience seemed to grasp. It was not only disappointing for them to have brought back Erasmus and Ominus but to have Erasmus turn into something not only human but understanding and then merging with Duncan Idaho to give to him the power of the Kwistaz Haderach the one who could be many places at once because he was now a machine with a HUMAN MIND. You can only fill so much into a shot glass before something spills out and this was a flood of too many characters, too many inconsistencies and too much of a disappointment of fans who loved, lived and shared these novels with others. If you don¿t want to get angry read this novel if you must with a grain of salt or try to look at it as a car wreck that you don¿t want to look at but can¿t help staring at as you drive by ¿

posted by Anonymous on August 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    In Sandworms Brian and Kevin finally succeeded in destroying a man¿s greatest legacy to Science Fiction Literature. One of the main things I always enjoyed about Frank Herbert¿s novels, was the ability of formation of the mind as a separate entity capable of many things, the evolution of mind over matter, without the reliance of other things. Of course one of Herbert¿s main points as well as dilemmas was the trade off of reliance on one thing 'machines' to another 'the spice', in essence the trade off of one addiction for another without getting to the root of the problem. Now while I do believe after finally finishing the last in the Dune Series of novels that indeed an outline did exist for future work, I do also believe that the authors took many liberties with this book including in pulling a lot of it out of thin air. The reason I believe this is the revelation of Duncan Idaho, I have always questioned why he was always a constant in all of the six original novels, that there was something indeed special about him, something more than him than just have fanatical loyalty and devotion to all Atreides he served. Also the question of perhaps machines possibly returning did cross my mind with not only Leto¿s withholding of the spice, but also he himself destroy any Mentat¿s he knew about or of in fact he destroyed many Idaho¿s for this very reason of the Bene Thilex creating gholas with mentant powers. There was a reason for this one that was never answered in the original novels. Also, the face dancers as well they had become so good that even the Bene Gesserit couldn¿t really detect them any longer, why because they had evolved as well had become more human to the point they believed they were indeed the person they were to impersonate. However, this is where the ¿outline¿ of Herbert¿s greatest work ends and the tragedy begins. First off the Atreides were special individuals with abilities once combined with the Harkonnen¿s that made them what they were, to take away from the greatness of Paul who could see what others could not see and his son the God Emperor who could see all but said nothing and accepted the sacrifice oh behalf of humanity, belittles this man¿s work. The true objective of the original novels was to teach the consequences on the reliance on any substance be it organic or synthetic and that in trading one for another they had truly learned nothing even 15,000 years later. To bring back fairytale endings of all the original characters being brought back to life, Paul, Alia, Jessica, Leto I, Leto II, Liet-Kynes, Dr. Yueh, and Stilgar is bringing a Hollywood story where the good guys win in the end which isn¿t the purpose of the books at all. As for Duncan being the true Kwistaz Hadarach in any of the novels he never displayed any supernatural powers at all with the exception of his fanatical loyalty and the importance of his genes that not even the Bene Gesserit seemed with all of the prescience seemed to grasp. It was not only disappointing for them to have brought back Erasmus and Ominus but to have Erasmus turn into something not only human but understanding and then merging with Duncan Idaho to give to him the power of the Kwistaz Haderach the one who could be many places at once because he was now a machine with a HUMAN MIND. You can only fill so much into a shot glass before something spills out and this was a flood of too many characters, too many inconsistencies and too much of a disappointment of fans who loved, lived and shared these novels with others. If you don¿t want to get angry read this novel if you must with a grain of salt or try to look at it as a car wreck that you don¿t want to look at but can¿t help staring at as you drive by ¿

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Terrible. Absolutely Terrible

    With every book that the Anderson/Herbert partnership produces, I become more and more disappointed. They have been left a rich universe of potential, and rather than shepherd and enrich it, or even allow it to come to an end, they have strip-mined it to the point where I am no longer sure that I will choose to read their next Dune novel. This novel was poorly written, and so overwhelmingly expositional that I suspect a good editor would have reduced the manuscript by a hundred pages without removing ANY content. After waiting since I was 17 for this book to come out, I was actually physically sick as I finished the last page.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For anyone familiar with the Dune universe

    Reading this book was like coming home to a friend I didn't even know I'd missed. I fell under the spell of the six original Dune books as a teenager, read two of the prequel books in adulthood. For anyone familiar with the Dune universe, there is a very familiar feel to this book, with integral characters. Yet, several things are different enough to hold a reader's interest. I kept reminding myself to pace, to go to sleep, so I could savor the next chapter, but it was hard to do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Falls far short of expectations

    As an avid Dune reader from the Frank Herbert days, I looked forward to the 'conclusion' of the saga. These last 2 books are supposedly based on the master's notes, found long after his death. While I can stretch my imagination to believe that Frank Herbert conceived of this basic storyline, I found the books themselves to be predictable and shallow. The earlier attempts at bringing life to the Dune world were quite good - but they were investigating the past. In looking forward along the original Dune timeline, the authors have failed to live up to the incredible tale that is the original series. Where God Emperor, Chapterhouse and Heretics succeeded in painting a grand universe filled with an infinite variety of mystery and color, these 2 final books shrink it down to something simple and mundane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Not frank's writing but I loved it

    I've read every one of the Dune books several time since the early 80's and while this isn't Franks writing of Dune,it's his sons....and I loved it...couldnt put it down.Normally takes me 3 weeks for a hardcover...took 5 days.Honestly it's the end many people thought it would be...before Brian ever started writing Dune books. If you want 'old school' sci-fi go else where.If your tastes have matured with the years you'll enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Thou Shalt Not become a machine with a human mind...

    If I were to compare this to F. Herbert's work, then yes, I would say that it is horrible. However, it is not his work, and hence should not be compared to it. I was disgusted with this work because of what they did ¿ melded machine and humanity. This is truly an abomination, and is totally anti-God. It is comparable to the Real ID Act and is nothing short of brainwashing and preparing this generation to embrace ID chips under the skin, and eventually some sort of computer interface. Brain..., Kevin..., this book disgusts me, utterly.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    terrible

    Terrible book. I just finished reading it, after waiting so many years for the ending, and am very disappointed. If you want to be transported back to the dune universe, read the original books again and use your imagination and make up your own ending. I guarantee it will be better than this book. I am officially done reading anything put out by these authors.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Shame on you

    What a sorry patchwork, poorly-written and unworthy end to the epic saga - I have read them all. All the more disappointing because some, if not most of the Brian Herbert contributions have been excellent. This one left me dissatisfied, disappointed and incomplete.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Every time a person reads this book, an angel loses it wings.

    Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson wrote this book and goodness died. It contains not one, but two deus ex machina endings. I'm sorry, Frank Herbert, for reading this travesty. Mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Finally!

    At last. The book I have waited for for almost 35 years! The "How does it all end" question gets answered, and answered well at that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Sandworms of Dune

    Finally we have the true sequels to Chapterhouse Dune. I have read all of the Dune books, by both Frank Herbert and his son, some were good most were just ok. I found Hunters of Dune and this book, Sandworms of Dune two of the better ones. I liked the plot and the characters. I recommend it to any Dune devotee as a worthy successor to the Dune series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sandworms of Dune

    EXCELLENT reading for SciFi readers. There are several books previously written in this series, so I would recommend reading the first book of the series, before reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sandworms of Dune

    The Tleilaxu Master Waff, bio-engineers a spice producing worm that not only survives in water, but now lives there instead of the desert sands. The ghola program on "Ithaca" is continued, but there is sabotage when three axlotl tanks are destroyed, along with the baby gholas.
    Both Paul gholas are having the same premonition. The one on the "Ithaca" is killed by the one on planet Caladan, Paolo.
    Mother Commander Murbella is placing false Sheeanas on various planets to lead the human race against the coming war. She has also bargained with the Ixian Face Dancers to construct no ships without Navigators, using mathematical compilers instead. The Guild beaucrats betray the Navigators, and some are killed as they escape to speak with the Oracle of Time, Norma Cenva.
    Waff succeeds in making the sea-worms producing super spice, and demands to be returned to Arrakis. Edrik grants his request since he has fulfilled his obligation to the Navigators, but the super spice is stolen by the Face Dancers and Edrik is murdered.
    The "Ithaca" has a saboteur on board and they are no closer to finding out who it is. Sheeana begins to awaken some of the gholas memories and they re-supply the "Ithaca" on a world that is becoming desert. The Bene Gesserit planted worms on Qelso, so the inhabitants kill any witch they meet, but the others are welcome to stay behind on the planet, increasing the "Ithaca's" chances. When another tank and baby is killed, they believe that they have found their saboteur. But Yueh was tricked into believing that the new ghola Sheeana was keeping secret was Piter de Vries!
    Both the Baron and Paolo are summoned to Sychrony, from Caladan. Chapterhouse is attacked by the Enemy, when the plague is killing all on the planet. The only way Murbella can help the Sisterhood to survive is to force all, whether ready or not, to under go the Agony. Naturally, all that remains are Reverend Mothers, and a large number of the Sisterhood rests in enormous burial pits on the planet.
    Skytale develops a way to detect Face Dancers, and their saboteur is revealed, putting directly in the hands of Omnius and Erasmus!
    On Sychrony, the Paul gholas premonition plays out, and the end result is the revelation of the true Kwisatz Haderach!
    "Sandworms of Dune" answers the long-debated, urgent questions of Dune fans: the origin of the Honored Matres, the tantalizing future of the planet Arrakis, and the resolution to the war between Man and Machine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too many loose ends tied up

    I'll admit it right away: The novels by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson are not at the same level as the original Frank Herbert novels. The are not as deep or as well-developed. That being said, they are extremely readable, the kind I read on warm summer evenings. "Sandworms of Dune", however, is at the bottom of the Herbert/Anderson suite of books. The brought out everything including the kitchen sink (although sinks were probably unknown on Arrakis). They used gholas of all of the original characters (Baron Harkkonen, Paul, Chani, Jessica to name a few), a new Kwisatz Haderach, Omnious, and more. The hodgepodge doesn't do justice to what is meant to be the new conclusion to the Dune series. They should have run with the characters brought over from the previous book ("Hunters of Dune") and fashioned a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Even More Skeptical

    If you're reading this then you've probably read Dune: Chapterhouse and this isn't a spoiler of any sorts. <BR/>Let me say, I grew quite skeptical of this tale of safety deposit boxes and whatnot. Show me a copy of these notes first - I really would like that if they do exist if only to see the true vision for Dune 7 and not this poorly written, concocted piece of drivel!<BR/>Marty and Daniel seemed so obviously to be Face Dancers. Now these books based on Frank Herbert's alleged outline for Dune 7 would try to convince me otherwise. Politely I say Bull****! <BR/>Let us hold fast to the vision of the originals. If you must read these prequels and whatnot, store their information in a separate part of your mind so as not to taint the originals. Because that is what these Dune additions by Brian Herbert and Kevin J Anderson have done - Corrupted the Dune Universe.<BR/>What we really should do though is: Burn every single existing copy, Refuse to Reprint them and Utterly Eradicate any defiling traces of them from our memories. Really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Not up to par

    The last thirty pages were nice, but getting there after trudging through most of this repetitive novel and incredibly slow-paced books, as well as the first in the duo, simply wasn't worth it. I wish I knew what Frank Herbert's original version would have been like.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    IT'S DUNE!

    I agree that new Dune is nowhere comparable to Frank Herbert's original Dune series but I have found all of Brian Herbert's and K.J.A. Dune novels great. Yes the writing style is different, but they are not Frank Herbert, and no one will truely know if this was what was originally supposed to happened but i found the book enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    High hopes but poor results for the conclusion to the epic Dune series

    Sandworms of Dune is the long-awaited conclusion to the Dune series, which is often hailed as the greatest science fiction series of all time, and this novel is the culmination of the until recently titled ¿Dune 7¿. Based on an outline written by the Dune series¿ original creator Frank Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert wrote Hunters of Dune (released in 2006) and this novel to complete storylines introduced in all six of the original Dune books as well as their own additions to the Dune universe, the ¿House¿ trilogy and the ¿Legends¿ trilogy. Written by Frank Herbert, the original Dune series or Dune Chronicles (as it is sometimes referred to) consisted of six books: Dune, Dune Messiah, Children of Dune, God Emperor of Dune, Heretics of Dune, and Chapterhouse: Dune. Kevin J. Anderson and Brian Herbert have added eight additional books to the Dune universe including the recently released Sandworms of Dune. Regrettably, Sandworms of Dune does not offer readers the same complexity of storytelling as the original Dune series provided. The character development is minimal at best, taking the reader through a multitude of characters that are flat. The plot, which held much potential at the conclusion of Chapterhouse: Dune, was uneventful at points (lagging horribly through the first half of this novel) and predictable until the ultimate conclusion. While the end of the novel is quite unexpected, it is far from consistent with the original Dune series¿ tone or themes, and in fact, the climax seems completely out of place and implausible to someone who was an avid fan of the original series and has read the recent additions to the Dune universe as well. Much of the difficulties with Sandworms of Dune derives from its inconsistencies not only with the themes and tone of the original Dune Chronicles but the additions to the Dune universe: the ¿House¿ and ¿Legends¿ trilogies. Technologies, human abilities, and acts by certain factions within humanity are completely uncharacteristic of the cannon of this universe, and these inconsistencies make it difficult for the avid fan of the Dune universe to accept them. For those who have enjoyed the original six books of the series and are considering Sandworms of Dune, you must ask yourself if it is worth the effort. To understand what has occurred after Chapterhouse: Dune, one would have to not only read Hunters of Dune (the first part of the conclusion) but also the ¿Legends¿ trilogy to have a basis to understand Sandworms of Dune. In all, such a reader would be required to read through five novels to be able to understand the lackluster conclusion to the original Dune series. For those that have read every novel from the Dune Universe, my review will not sway your opinion, just as another¿s would not have swayed mine. I have read every book related to Dune including reference books like The Dune Encyclopedia and so on, and I chose to read Sandworms of Dune because I hoped for the best. You will read Sandworms of Dune, and you will be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson have finally belittled every Frank Herbert idea/concept by use of hyperbole and bad writing. From Ultra-Spice to Ulitmate Kwisatz Haderach, this book dismantles everything important in the original novels. If you are a fan of Frank Herbert, I highly recommend that you read this book, get angry, and be vocal about your dislikes to the Herbert Partnership. It's time some other authors reintroduced some genius to these books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed must read for the Dune crowd

    The wandering no-ship Ithaca contains the expatriates fleeing for their lives across the unknown galaxy (see Frank Herbert¿s CHAPTERHOUSE: DUNE). They have little hope as they know the enemy will hunt them for eternity their last desperate ploy is to bring back the ghola of long dead heroes like Duncan Idaho, Paul Muad¿Dib, Lady Jessica and others to save their race. Even with genetic engineering medical expertise on board to bring these champions back to life, the exiles know their chances remain slim as the Machines will always pursue them. --- However, the Machines keep evolving so that humanity appears on the verge of extinction. War continues everywhere with human reflexes especially the ability to adapt seemingly no longer able to match up against the Machines, who incorporate every nuance into their collective programming. Now as the reanimated champions prepare for a decisive battle against the increasing cunning Machines, who are programming human flexibility into their battle plans, plague and related illnesses devastate mankind, leaving human¿s reign apparently at an end. --- Apparently the late Frank Herbert left behind a detailed outline to follow up on his last work CHAPTERHOUSE: DUNE, his son Brian and Kevin J. Anderson use that document to tie up many major loose ends. Thus Dune fans should read Mr. Herbert¿s final work and HUNTERS OF DUNE by Brian Herbert and Mr. Anderson to refresh themselves on the storyline before diving into this solid saga that indeed answers major questions left dangling. Although not quite on a par with the Dune creator as this and the previous collaborations fail to dig deep into the issues between man and machine and between man and man, this is an interesting action-packed must read for the Dune crowd. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4