Customer Reviews for

Sandy Koufax: A Lefty's Legacy

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Behind the legend

    Leavy gives a great look at Koufax behind the legend. Excellent portrait of the greatest lefty ever. Excellent read. Grear baseball book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Sandy

    I sit on your face rubbing my puzzy against your lips as i roll my hips

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Ff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Rushstorm

    Oh, it's simple. I just stabbed all 22 thorns in my arm and waited two weeks until the infernal pain subsided, he laughs. But... thorn weilding is a delicate, powerful, and time-consuming skill. It took me a lifetime to master it--one training session will teach you how to hold it, make a Leafguard for it, and which end of the whip is yours. He fashions her a Leafguard and scratches a scraggly "Rs" on it. Here. Put this on your left or right foreleg. Then find yourself a tendril of thorn, about a foxelnght long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    A dark shadow

    Hmmm... fineee. Ittt goseee outtt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Sandyfire

    ... ok... *does that*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Sandy is awsomely dandy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Waterlily

    Anyone on?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    A person

    A girl with fiery red hair and crystal blue eyes dashes in. She wears a green tunic, leggings and a green cap tht runs down her back. She has a sword in hand and a battered wooden shield in the other. On her long pointed ears are two iorn earrings"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Andromeda

    "No harsh feelings" she rumbled, reprating the cats words

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Best written baseball book ever!

    This book is awesome. It not only paints the history of baseballs greatest pitcher ever, it also paints the game as it was. Before sports agents screwed it up.
    Leavy is a brilliant writer. Period. The book will make you laugh ou loud, it will make you remember what a great game baseball used to be. And, if you are one of those fortunate fans like me, who got to see Koufax pitch, it will rekindle the memories of what an amazing pitcher he was and how astounded you were when you saw him. If you are not old enough to have seen him, be prepared to be amazed at the greatest pitching talent you never got to see.
    Willie Stargell summed him up perfectly, trying to hit off Koufax, was like trying to eat soup with a fork. Reading about Koufax is much, much easier....Leavy serves him up brilliantly! Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    Very enjoyable book. Although I wasn't born until 1969, I've become a very big fan of 60s era baseball. Leavy brings the games and players to life and gives us great insights into Sandy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Mudkit

    Mommy whos my daddy??

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book. His story is incredible and it was very well writen. The authors way of writing made me almost unable to put it down because of the mystery. Very well writen. Highly recomend for any baseball lover like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great read

    Great insight into a fantastic but private athlete. Jane Leavy is an outstanding author--I enjoy her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Great Story of a Great pitcher and class person

    Well written and researched book. The delivery of the story against the backdrop of social and political atomsphere of the country not only brought back memories but would be invformstive for the casual reader. The content not only serves to confirm his greatness but also give insights to his high character. Great read for even the non baseball fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Koufax - an unbelievable career for a great man...

    Sandy Koufax has been my favorite baseball player since I was in grade school during the early 1960's. I've read everything I could find about the man. Jane Leavy's story is the best! Even though I lived through it (mostly listening to Vin Scully on my transistor radio), I still learned new things about his career.

    Probably the greatest lefty in history, this is a must read for any Dodger fan. For you youngsters who love baseball, read about what the big leagues were like back then when pitchers were expected to pitch nine innings.

    I promise you will find Koufax's story a fascinating one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Sandy Koufax

    Having known Mr. Koufax personally many years ago, this book was, of course, very interesting. His having set a very positive example for young people by this demeanor, attitutdes and performance on and off the field, is, to me, the best part of Sandy. The fact that he kept a book in his back pocket to read while waiting his turn on the field, and created a book list of "MUST READS" for youngsters early in his career, tells what kind of a person he is. His love of reading inspired many and his proficiency in baseball, as we all know, is legendary, hence this, yet another book about him. READ IT !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    Sandy Koufax A Lefty¿s Legacy, by Jane Leavy, was a very entertaining non-fiction book. Leavy exploits the great and sad moments of Sandy¿s life. Sandy faces hard times in his early junior-high life through his life after retirement. The theme of this book is definitely baseball. In my life of thirteen years of life, I have never read a more interesting and hard-to-put-down book. There was no point when I thought that Jane Leavy should have written more about an event. She explained how Sandy had a career ERA of a 2.76, 165 wins, and 2,396 total strikeouts. One part that definitely stood out to me in this book was when Sandy stayed true to his religion and morals. He was the best pitcher in 1965. Everyone knew his name and reputation. Finally, that year, Koufax and the Los Angeles Dodgers made it to the World Series. Suddenly this brought up an issue. Sandy was scheduled to pitch the first game of the World Series and did not because it fell on the holiest day if the Jewish calendar: Yom Kippur. All of a sudden he became a religious icon and a huge world image. As I read this book, I thought of a movie called The Natural. In this movie, a young athlete, who is also a pitcher, is unbelievable. He could strike out any batter, and throw as fast as lightning. He was spectacular just like Koufax. Suddenly he gets hurt and his pitching career is ruined. Later on in the movie, the same guy becomes an unbelievable hitter. He led the league in hits, homeruns, and runs batted in. This is very similar to Sandy¿s career. As Koufax grew up, he did not have a lot of money and just played ball with his neighborhood friends. In eighth grade, the head coach for the high school baseball team, saw Sandy pitch. Koufax was an easy walk-on to his high school and college teams. Sandy went on the Major Leagues and was an ace pitcher. Sandy¿s problem was not an injury, but it was to miss the opportunity of pitching in the World Series. Koufax was a natural, just like the movie. This book has affected me in specific way. I always wanted to play sports on a holy day of my religion, and my parents would not let me. After reading about Sandy Koufax, I understand that religion is more important than anything in the world. This taught me a great lesson. From now on, I will not argue with my parents about this situation. Hopefully in the future, I will do the same thing with my kids. All in all, Sandy Koufax A Lefty¿s Legacy was an outstanding book. I learned an amazing lesson and I had the privilege to familiarize myself with a great man named Sandy Koufax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2