Customer Reviews for

Santa Clawed (Mrs. Murphy Series #17)

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Team Brown provides another enjoyable Harry and her PUSS `N CAHOOTS anthropomorphic whodunit

With the Christmas holidays arriving soon, life seems comfy in Crozet, Virginia a place where all sorts of animals talk to each across species lines. The only ones who don¿t understand the inter-animal communication system are the dumb humans. Although Mary Minor ¿Ha...
With the Christmas holidays arriving soon, life seems comfy in Crozet, Virginia a place where all sorts of animals talk to each across species lines. The only ones who don¿t understand the inter-animal communication system are the dumb humans. Although Mary Minor ¿Harry¿ Haristeen thinks she can sometimes comprehend what her pets are saying especially her two cats Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and to a lesser degree her corgi Tee Tucker.---------------- Harry and her husband Fair are looking for a Christmas tree at a farm run by The Brothers of Love, a group dedicated to helping AIDS patients at their hospice. When they reach the monks¿ tree farm near the Blue Ridge Mountains, Harry and Fair are stunned to find the dead body of Brother Christopher, who joined the monastery soon after he left jail. He was sent there for insider trading bilking clients for millions. When a second monk is found murdered, his throat slashed similar in a way to Christopher¿s death with a coin also in his mouth, the police know they are dealing with a cold blooded killer. Harry and her animal caretakers investigate only to find her caught in a web by a predator willing to make the Yuletide season blood red.--------------- Obviously similar to previous tales in the long running saga, anyone who appreciates a pick me up filled with humor and murder will want to read SANTA CLAWED. Although Harry and Fair remarried they are still honeymooning while finding corpses decorating trees. The animals do what they do best one claw make that clue at a time while trying to keep their meddling beloved owner safe from her actions that place her in danger. The mystery is fun as the killer is in plain sight but difficult to identify. Team Brown provides another enjoyable Harry and her PUSS `N CAHOOTS anthropomorphic whodunit.------------------ Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on September 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

More of the same

This book was a disappointment. Ms. Brown needs to shake things up a bit with her normal cast of characters and the plots of her books. She repeats herself; from book to book.

posted by CAHunt on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Team Brown provides another enjoyable Harry and her PUSS `N CAHOOTS anthropomorphic whodunit

    With the Christmas holidays arriving soon, life seems comfy in Crozet, Virginia a place where all sorts of animals talk to each across species lines. The only ones who don¿t understand the inter-animal communication system are the dumb humans. Although Mary Minor ¿Harry¿ Haristeen thinks she can sometimes comprehend what her pets are saying especially her two cats Mrs. Murphy and Pewter, and to a lesser degree her corgi Tee Tucker.---------------- Harry and her husband Fair are looking for a Christmas tree at a farm run by The Brothers of Love, a group dedicated to helping AIDS patients at their hospice. When they reach the monks¿ tree farm near the Blue Ridge Mountains, Harry and Fair are stunned to find the dead body of Brother Christopher, who joined the monastery soon after he left jail. He was sent there for insider trading bilking clients for millions. When a second monk is found murdered, his throat slashed similar in a way to Christopher¿s death with a coin also in his mouth, the police know they are dealing with a cold blooded killer. Harry and her animal caretakers investigate only to find her caught in a web by a predator willing to make the Yuletide season blood red.--------------- Obviously similar to previous tales in the long running saga, anyone who appreciates a pick me up filled with humor and murder will want to read SANTA CLAWED. Although Harry and Fair remarried they are still honeymooning while finding corpses decorating trees. The animals do what they do best one claw make that clue at a time while trying to keep their meddling beloved owner safe from her actions that place her in danger. The mystery is fun as the killer is in plain sight but difficult to identify. Team Brown provides another enjoyable Harry and her PUSS `N CAHOOTS anthropomorphic whodunit.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Recommended for reading --

    Interesting how the story unfolds. Mrs. Murphy and Pewter are very fun characters and I do enjoy their patter and fights. The mystery keeps you guessing and does not leave you hanging. Love Harry and Fair.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    This is a good book to sit down and relax with.

    I have been reading Rita Mae Brown for about 15 years now and I love all of her books. Her writing style is conversational and easy to follow. I appreciate several of the characters who are cats and dogs (and possum, owl, and snake). I am an avid animal lover and the author really seems to capture what these guys are thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Worst in the series

    This book is not as good as others in her series. I found this one to be a bit preachy - all about God and the morals of mankind - rather than focusing on the mystery and the animals. There is no advancement of the characters - so this book safe to skip.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    More of the same

    This book was a disappointment. Ms. Brown needs to shake things up a bit with her normal cast of characters and the plots of her books. She repeats herself; from book to book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Braveheart & Greenleaf & Darkshaft

    A soft blanket of snow had covered the prarie and forests of HorseClan, enveloping their territory in a thick layer of silence. A small shape could be seen traveling through the snow, a tiny black and silver dot...
    Braveheart shoved his way through the cold white snow, flakes falling on his nose and silver-tipped ears. The trail wasn't that hard to follow, and he could see that he was slowly gaining on the russet-colored figure he was tracking...
    The silver and black tom let out a yowl, and the two cats up ahead froze and turned around. One was an elderly russet furred tom with long tangled fur, while the other was a nimble silvery white warrior—barely visable in the snow.
    "Wait up!" Braveheart yowled again, making his way along the path Darkshaft and Greenleaf had trodden. He halted beside the white tom and the elder, breathless and cold.
    "Where are you going, in this weather?" The silver-marked warrior asked, sea-green eyes gleaming with suspicion. He had long wondered where his friends had snuck off to without a warning, leaving the territory only to sneak back practicly unnoticed...
    "We're leaving," Greenleaf meowed calmly, keeping his quiet voice even. Braveheart stared into his dark green eyes, and saw only the faintest trace of regret there.
    "Why?" The silver and black tom said, not understanding.
    "There's nothing left for us here," Darkshaft muttered, shaking his russet coat.
    "It's time for us to make our leave and journey once again in search of a new home," Greenleaf added.
    Braveheart shook his head, looking at his silver paws. "You can't do this. And what about Whitefoot? Your kits?"
    "Midnightstrike is coming with us," the silver-flecked tom replied. "After I drop Darkshaft off, I'm coming back for him. And Whitefoot will know where to find me, if she comes back."
    "What about me?" The black warrior meowed.
    "I was proud to have been your brother," Greenleaf said. "But we both know that is something I have to do."
    "Then I guess this is the end," Braveheart sighed.
    "Not the end. A beginning. It's time for you to start over again Braveheart. You can't grieve forever," the white warrior said.
    "Farewell, my friend," he meowed.
    "You're a warrior of HorseClan," Greenleaf meowed. "My heart shall always be drawn to the forest, and to the sea, until the ends of my days. Your heart has a calling too, however distant and unreachable it may seem."
    "Your home is here," Darkshaft said. "While we won't rest unless our paws are set on a journey."
    "Goodbye," they said together, than left Braveheart alone in the snow. The silver and black tom turned, and began to trudge back home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Spiritwhisper

    She stalked a rabbit and killed it with an experts killing bite. Not caring to take time to see if anycat had followed her and seen her perform her perfected killing bite, as it crushes the spine and injures the victim servely. She sat down and piled her prey, a rabbit and mouse. She sharpened her claws on a rock and pulled burrs out of her fur absent mindedly.~Hunting, Spiritwhisper

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    To thunderheart

    If you are a tom you may join, but if your not, Velvetstar will not let you join... and this isnt Horseclan camp... its the hunting grounds

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Dapplesong

    Dapplesong wlks in. She sniffs the air. There are two rabbits. Big and fat. She lowers down into a familiar crouch and arefully starts to stalk it. She leaps out and nips it neck as quick as the wind. She silently buries it and pinpoints the other rabbits postion. It is as big and fat a the other rabbit was. Dapplesong steps on a twig. SNAP. The rabbit perks it ears up and starts to run. Dapplesong quickly catch up and jump on it. The rabbit tries to turn but Dapplesong grabs it. She nips uts small neck. Dapplesong turns ti the buried rabbit and unearths it. The calco warrior looks at hr two pieces of prey. She is hungry. "The clan must be fed first" Dalesong reminds herself "I will fully stock the pile first then hunt for myself. We will not be hungry this Leaf-bare". Dapplesong grabs her two rabbits and begins to pad back to HorseClan's camp....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    FUN SERIES

    This entire series is just fun to read and caters to the mystery lover and those that have pets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    About as good as the last few -

    I like Mrs Murphy, Pewter,Tucker and the other animals. The rest of the characters are a little ho-hum. The last three or four books in the series haven't been as good as what the series started out being. A few things that I didn't understand were: (1) In chapter 15, the Christmas party at St. Lukes Church. They have a bar serving alcohol in a church. Maybe it's because I'm from the bible belt and was raised to respect the church but that just seems soooo wrong in so may ways! (2) Harry gets hurt and is taken to the hospital in an ambulance. in Chapter 22 it says "Since it was December 23, the staff at the hospital functioned at skeleton level." What kind of hospital all but shuts down over the holidays? Especially over the holidays??? Later in chapter 22, "The ambluance crawled on the way back to the farm......Fair sat next to Harry, as Cooper followed in her squad car." Oh come on, since when do Ambulances do taxi service??? And why didn't Cooper, one of Harry's best friends and neighbor just give them a ride home since she was going that way any way? (3) We learned early on in the book that the monks took vows of poverty and that "A monks living quarters is traditionally called a "cell" and these,while spare, did have heat and running water. No luxuries..." I was just wondering why in Chapter 24 Brother George and Brother Luther are talking on a cell phone? Maybe not a luxury but doesn't exactly rank in there with heat and running water.
    I'll probably buy the next one in the series, like I said, I like the animals!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    An enjoyable fast read for the holiday season.

    A bit more serious and risque for this author, however every bit as enjoyable as the rest of her series. As usual Harry finds herself deep in trouble and the rescue scene enabled by her beloved pets and husband in this book is marvelous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Santa Clawed

    This is a nice easy read for mystery fans and for animal lovers alike.
    I love all of Rita Mae Brown's books with Mrs. Murphy and her other
    animal friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Santa Clawed really dug in.

    Another treasure from Rita Mae and Sneaky Pie. A great way to relax during the holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Great Characters

    I love animals and mysteries are top of my list favorites so this book was wonderful and very entertaining, as well as, a fast read. I recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Very good read

    I thoroghly enjoyed the book, and couldn't put ity down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    As usual Rita Mae is the best. I will never get tired of her animal characters or their insight into humans.

    Classic Rita Mae and Sneaky Pie series. I devoured it in a day and a half and wanted more, as always. I love this town, these people, and especially the critters. Rita Mae has written about much more serious subjects, but her mystery series, including the Sister series, are just plain enjoyable. She has a great sense of humor. About half way through the series I could no longer wait for the books to come out in paperback, so I started ordering them in hardback edition. I have read them, let's say, more than once because it's like going to visit friends. If you like mysteries and animals and lovely people who care about each other then grab one and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cat detectives

    Enjoyful writing and reading, leave it to a cat and her friends to get involved in crimes, do the investigations and solve them, all the while the humans think they are doing it, so they have their little spats and disagreements and question each other, but in the end they are still friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Mrs. Murphy Series

    I love cats and mysteries, and was absolutely thrilled to find such a wonderful series that fulfilled both. I await each new book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    Another great chapter in the lives of Harry and friends!

    I enjoy each new Mrs. Murphy Mystery and "Santa Clawed" was no exception! I've never had Christmas in Crozet before so it was especially enjoyable! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3