Customer Reviews for

Sapphique (Incarceron Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great followup to Incarceron

I'd have to say this book was a much better improvement than Incarceron. There was more action, the pace was quicker, and the intrigue was turned up a little higher to get the plot rolling. The action did make the novel go quicker although I preferred reading more about...
I'd have to say this book was a much better improvement than Incarceron. There was more action, the pace was quicker, and the intrigue was turned up a little higher to get the plot rolling. The action did make the novel go quicker although I preferred reading more about Keiro and Attia than Claudia and Finn. Although I used to like Claudia before, she seemed to morph into some sort of selfish spoiled brat who didn't care much except her own needs. Finn also turned into a mopey brat that cared only for Keiro (which makes sense, but it was borderline obsessive.)

Despite the negative comments I see about Keiro (thoughout different websites reviewing Sapphique), I'd have to say he was my favorite character in this book. (Besides Jared). He had this undeniable charm and despite being a selfish, egotistical jerk, he wasn't whiny and did not mope around like a twit. Although the majority of his actions were all to meet his own ends and he's just as selfish as Claudia might be, there's just something charming about Keiro that's likable. I thought he was an excellent character despite his 'supporting' status. Finn may seem central to the plot, but he doesn't shine as much as Keiro does.

There are different points of view in the story, unlike Incarceron where it switched from Claudia to Finn. Now, there a different points of view but this time it switches settings. (From being inside Incarceron, to being outside of it). It's not so bad, although some readers may find it a bit confusing, and the flow of the plot does get bumpy once in a while. The ending of the book was interesting and does leave a lot of room for another installment. I wouldn't mind a trilogy, as the story has taken a turn for the more exciting. I'd actually like to know what happens to Keiro next as he looks like he could be a catalyst for something big.

It was a great ending to the duology (although it looks like there might be a third?) and worth the read. The action helps the plot carry forward and makes the reading go faster. Some might be daunted by the task of reading another 'chunky' book. However with the fast pace, the action, and the bits of intrigue, reading this shouldn't take long at all.

posted by Sensitivemuse on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reading Teen Review

I was kinda on the fence with this one. I really wanted to love this book. I enjoyed Incarceron. I wanted more out of Sapphique though. I really need romance and tons of things going on.

The world that Catherine Fisher surrounds you in, in both Incarceron and Sapphiq...
I was kinda on the fence with this one. I really wanted to love this book. I enjoyed Incarceron. I wanted more out of Sapphique though. I really need romance and tons of things going on.

The world that Catherine Fisher surrounds you in, in both Incarceron and Sapphique is one that is so imaginative and never-ending. That is what I really liked about Sapphique, is the dream world, the prison of Incarceron. In my opinion that is the main attraction of this book, the prison. It is such a character in itself. You will really lose yourself in this world of this steel and secrets, Fisher really has outdone herself, she has a wonderful imagination.

Finn, Claudia, Kerio and Attia are the main characters in this sequel. I was somewhat frustrated between Finn and Claudia. What I was looking forward to was the chemistry and romance between the two of them. There was no chemistry and very little romance. It made me sad, very disappointing. I really feel it could have pushed this book over the top. Kerio and Attia had some nail-biting close calls within the prison and I really liked the chemistry between the two of them. So maybe that evened things out somewhat.

The action sequences in this book were pretty good, fun to read. I really can't express to you enough how cool the world of the prison was. Everyone had to fight, beg, borrow and steal just to survive in this prison world. It really made for an interesting read. I just needed some romance. I just feel Catherine Fisher missed a really good opportunity between Claudia and Finn. But hey, what do I know? I'm just a reader. Maybe that was not her vision.

Most of all, this was a good book. Very creative, deep and layers and layers of detail. You really will not be sorry or disappointed if you start this series. I'm sure most of you will not even miss the non-romance/non-chemistry between Finn and Claudia. Everything else made up for it!!!

~Amy (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

posted by ReadingTeen on August 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Tearstar

    Type catherine ficher(not a typo)to get exact order of the clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Awsome book

    This book defenitly lives up to to incarceron's standards. I would reccomend this thriller to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Doesn't live up to Incarceron's standards

    After reading incarceron i was deeply in love woth the charcters and the setting. The ending left me breathless. I was yearning to read this book. And so one day, i come y with the money for it. I seat down by the window and started reading. I nodded off and woke up three hours later. I never sleep during the day. It was that bad. I didn get one star beacause i still want to give it credit for being part of the incarceron series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If You Liked INCARCERON Then You'll Like Its Sequel Dark, mesme

    If You Liked INCARCERON Then You'll Like Its Sequel

    Dark, mesmerizing, and compelling, Sapphique will have you turning page after page to find out what happens next. Everything in this book is just captivating: whether its the 2 princes trying to prove to an illusioned world that they're the real one; or inmates trying to follow the path of the mythical figure who was the first to escape Incarceron. The ending was satisfying, I only regret that this 2-part series is at its end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    U know

    It was a let down. Incarceron was really good and entertaining, but i could not even finish Sapphique, I felt it moved too slow and was rather confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Love This Amazing Book! A Must Read!

    Im still reading it but its absolutly amazing! I love it and its not confusing at all to me! I forgot it at school though so im like dying! xP anyway llloooovvveeee iittt!!!!!!!!! everybody ahould read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Finn has finally Escaped Incarceron, the living prison and the only home he remembers. He is the long lost heir to the throne of the Realm. But he still feels like a prisoner.

    Outside isn't the paradise he or his fellow prisoners dreamt of. Instead, Finn finds himself trapped in a complicated game of intrigue and lies he can't seem to escape still unable to remember his past or help his friends Inside.

    Claudia, daughter of Incarceron's Warden, thought helping Finn escape and declaring him the long lost heir to the Realm would be the end of her problems. Instead she finds herself with new ones as her fate is tied dangerously to Finn's and his attempts to reclaim the throne.

    Meanwhile Finn's friends Keiro and Attia are still trapped Inside. There are rumors in the prison of a magical glove--a glove that Sapphique himself used to escape.

    But finding it won't be easy.

    Sapphique was the only prisoner Incarceron ever loved and it is desperate to see the wonders he spoke of Outside, desperate enough to try an Escape of its own.

    Everyone is wants to Escape, but life Outside can be as perilous as life Inside in Sapphique (December 2010*) by Catherine Fisher.

    Sapphique is the stunning sequel to Incarceron. Much as I enjoyed this book, it really is dependent on the first book as a foundation and should be read in order.

    The story picks up shortly after Incarceron's breathtaking conclusion. Fisher aptly captures the discomfort and confusion of going from rags to riches and the dangers even a world of luxury can hold. This book also expands upon the relationships of the first book and reveals more about the characters--their wants, their fears. Many of the secondary characters (especially Jared and Keiro) are more developed in this volume though Attia still remained very enigmatic.

    Broken into five parts, Sapphique takes readers across the Realm, into the depths of Incarceron and beyond. The lore of the Realm and Incarceron is well-developed and excellently shared in the story and in epipgraphs from ephemera of the Realm/Prison found at the beginning of each chapter.

    While Sapphique is a satisfying conclusion to a breakneck adventure of a series, some readers may find the ending a bit rushed. Everything about the prison and the Realm is explained. The problem with such a well-realized world is that there is a lot to explain. And that leaves little time for tying up loose ends with characters.**

    Sapphique has all of the action and intrigue readers of the first book will remember and love but it also delves into new territory about Protocol and Incarceron leading to a conclusion that is in many ways just as shocking and just as well-realized as the powerhouse ending of Incarceron.

    *Sapphique was originally published in 2008 in the UK.

    **To be fair Fisher really does explain and resolve everything. All the same, some resolutions were more implied between the lines than this reviewer would have liked.

    Possible Pairings: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox, The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner, Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, Hook (movie with Robin Williams)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Someone

    This was an amazing book. Its fast paced and was always leaving me for more. The ending was a kind of sadness for me. I didnt want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    sucks balls

    Did not like itx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Looks sooo good...

    I just finished Incarceron 30 seconds ago and I can't wait to know what happens next;) 5 stars, I hope...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Like book

    Own the paperback good so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very good

    All i could say is that it runs on at certain points but other than that its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Sapphique

    I really liked this book. I thought the characters were interesting (although I think Attia lost something... she was such an amazing character in the first book but became a bit more typical in this one... Just a little. The Attia that I really like comes in a lot, but she definitely lost something in this one) and the plot was engaging. A lot of people dislike the fact that the author leaves you hanging, but I rather liked that. I really liked how, although the plot came to a close, there was a lot left open. It wasn't "and they all lived happily ever after" nor was it "and then everyone dies." It was bittersweet, a grey area. A lot of people absolutely loathe that, but I really like that. I also like how the romances were not super gushy and obvious. There were a few things hinted at, just enough to stimulate the imagination (and I personally am glad nothing was really there between Finn and Claudia. I never liked them together. I always saw Claudia with Jared and Finn with nobody, I feel like he is too self absorbed - not selfish, but he always feels so sorry for himself all the time and forgets that others around him exist - for romance). The one thing that really did bother me was that the Key became of no importance. It may as well have never existed. I was hoping that maybe by combining the Glove and the Key somehow it would create the Escape, but the Key just became of no importance. That bothered me. And I do wish they would maybe at least mention Gildas. He, like the Key, may as well have never even existed. But all in all, a good read, and a wonderful conclusion to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Mmmm

    Who thinks this book is rllllyyyyy goood?:?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    DON'T BOTHER

    I honestly didn't like this book. After reading Incarceron, I was dutifully bound to finish the series (otherwise I never would have continued reading). It was unbelievable and confusing- although I enjoy dysotopian society books this one seemed overdone- how do bricks crumble wthout electricity? Who is Sapphique? Is there really magicke? All of these are unaswered questions at the end of this series that, rather than intruging me, left me decidedly unsatisfied. Im not some cranky old woman with nothing better to do than read teenage novels- I am a teenage girl who knows, from experience, what good writing is like. In good books, like HP, Graceling, Fake ID, Heist Society, and the Ruby in the Smoke, most mysteries come together in facinating ways. I gave it a 3 partly for effort- the book was long although by the quality it did not take long to write. The love interest also disappointed me. At the end of the book, it is not even clear who is in love with who! In addition, the characters were annoying- never did I sympathize with them or even feel pity for them. I also feel as th ethe POV was switched too often- whenever things became remotely interesting from one it switched to another in an obnoxious rather than cliff-hangery way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    AWZUM

    Amain book. Luv te ending...but its kinda confusin at sum parts...but ya te endin rox cos they start two paradises and go between both worlds...one more thing...moar books in te series...MOAR MOAR MOAR MOAR MOAR!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    TERRIBLE

    I had finished incarceron and had been waiting eagerly for the nextbook and i didnt want to read it after like 55 pages i hated it do not waste your money on this book. Incarceron was good though definetly buy it

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I admit that I am disappointed in this book. I was hoping for something more but all I got was a repetitive book.

    First off the plot, its basically the same. In the first book they are trying to get out of Incarceron and in this one they are trying to get back in. I kept getting frustrated cause I wanted more to happen. All the characters fought the same. Love triangle began. And I had a hard time keeping focused cause of the repetitive story line.

    There were however, a few now elements in the book but it wasn't till the very end. Some new changes were made that at least perk up my interest and was able to finish the book. Also because of the new changes, I am anxious to see how it will effect the next book.

    As a fan of the first book, I am a little bummed that this book wasn't at all what I expected. I am hoping the next book with the new changes really grabs me. I still love the series, but I just needed something more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    how is this a sequel to incarceron?!

    this is the only book ive never finished! i read incarceron and i must admit it was not my favorite book but i still finished it! actualy in my opinion the sequel ruined it! incarceron didnt need a sequel esspecialy not one like sapphique! it was boring and the charecters changed for adventurous and brave to rude and snobby! but incarceron dont waste ur money on sapphique!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8