Customer Reviews for

Sapphique (Incarceron Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great followup to Incarceron

I'd have to say this book was a much better improvement than Incarceron. There was more action, the pace was quicker, and the intrigue was turned up a little higher to get the plot rolling. The action did make the novel go quicker although I preferred reading more about...
I'd have to say this book was a much better improvement than Incarceron. There was more action, the pace was quicker, and the intrigue was turned up a little higher to get the plot rolling. The action did make the novel go quicker although I preferred reading more about Keiro and Attia than Claudia and Finn. Although I used to like Claudia before, she seemed to morph into some sort of selfish spoiled brat who didn't care much except her own needs. Finn also turned into a mopey brat that cared only for Keiro (which makes sense, but it was borderline obsessive.)

Despite the negative comments I see about Keiro (thoughout different websites reviewing Sapphique), I'd have to say he was my favorite character in this book. (Besides Jared). He had this undeniable charm and despite being a selfish, egotistical jerk, he wasn't whiny and did not mope around like a twit. Although the majority of his actions were all to meet his own ends and he's just as selfish as Claudia might be, there's just something charming about Keiro that's likable. I thought he was an excellent character despite his 'supporting' status. Finn may seem central to the plot, but he doesn't shine as much as Keiro does.

There are different points of view in the story, unlike Incarceron where it switched from Claudia to Finn. Now, there a different points of view but this time it switches settings. (From being inside Incarceron, to being outside of it). It's not so bad, although some readers may find it a bit confusing, and the flow of the plot does get bumpy once in a while. The ending of the book was interesting and does leave a lot of room for another installment. I wouldn't mind a trilogy, as the story has taken a turn for the more exciting. I'd actually like to know what happens to Keiro next as he looks like he could be a catalyst for something big.

It was a great ending to the duology (although it looks like there might be a third?) and worth the read. The action helps the plot carry forward and makes the reading go faster. Some might be daunted by the task of reading another 'chunky' book. However with the fast pace, the action, and the bits of intrigue, reading this shouldn't take long at all.

posted by Sensitivemuse on July 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Reading Teen Review

I was kinda on the fence with this one. I really wanted to love this book. I enjoyed Incarceron. I wanted more out of Sapphique though. I really need romance and tons of things going on.

The world that Catherine Fisher surrounds you in, in both Incarceron and Sapphiq...
I was kinda on the fence with this one. I really wanted to love this book. I enjoyed Incarceron. I wanted more out of Sapphique though. I really need romance and tons of things going on.

The world that Catherine Fisher surrounds you in, in both Incarceron and Sapphique is one that is so imaginative and never-ending. That is what I really liked about Sapphique, is the dream world, the prison of Incarceron. In my opinion that is the main attraction of this book, the prison. It is such a character in itself. You will really lose yourself in this world of this steel and secrets, Fisher really has outdone herself, she has a wonderful imagination.

Finn, Claudia, Kerio and Attia are the main characters in this sequel. I was somewhat frustrated between Finn and Claudia. What I was looking forward to was the chemistry and romance between the two of them. There was no chemistry and very little romance. It made me sad, very disappointing. I really feel it could have pushed this book over the top. Kerio and Attia had some nail-biting close calls within the prison and I really liked the chemistry between the two of them. So maybe that evened things out somewhat.

The action sequences in this book were pretty good, fun to read. I really can't express to you enough how cool the world of the prison was. Everyone had to fight, beg, borrow and steal just to survive in this prison world. It really made for an interesting read. I just needed some romance. I just feel Catherine Fisher missed a really good opportunity between Claudia and Finn. But hey, what do I know? I'm just a reader. Maybe that was not her vision.

Most of all, this was a good book. Very creative, deep and layers and layers of detail. You really will not be sorry or disappointed if you start this series. I'm sure most of you will not even miss the non-romance/non-chemistry between Finn and Claudia. Everything else made up for it!!!

~Amy (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

posted by ReadingTeen on August 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great followup to Incarceron

    I'd have to say this book was a much better improvement than Incarceron. There was more action, the pace was quicker, and the intrigue was turned up a little higher to get the plot rolling. The action did make the novel go quicker although I preferred reading more about Keiro and Attia than Claudia and Finn. Although I used to like Claudia before, she seemed to morph into some sort of selfish spoiled brat who didn't care much except her own needs. Finn also turned into a mopey brat that cared only for Keiro (which makes sense, but it was borderline obsessive.)

    Despite the negative comments I see about Keiro (thoughout different websites reviewing Sapphique), I'd have to say he was my favorite character in this book. (Besides Jared). He had this undeniable charm and despite being a selfish, egotistical jerk, he wasn't whiny and did not mope around like a twit. Although the majority of his actions were all to meet his own ends and he's just as selfish as Claudia might be, there's just something charming about Keiro that's likable. I thought he was an excellent character despite his 'supporting' status. Finn may seem central to the plot, but he doesn't shine as much as Keiro does.

    There are different points of view in the story, unlike Incarceron where it switched from Claudia to Finn. Now, there a different points of view but this time it switches settings. (From being inside Incarceron, to being outside of it). It's not so bad, although some readers may find it a bit confusing, and the flow of the plot does get bumpy once in a while. The ending of the book was interesting and does leave a lot of room for another installment. I wouldn't mind a trilogy, as the story has taken a turn for the more exciting. I'd actually like to know what happens to Keiro next as he looks like he could be a catalyst for something big.

    It was a great ending to the duology (although it looks like there might be a third?) and worth the read. The action helps the plot carry forward and makes the reading go faster. Some might be daunted by the task of reading another 'chunky' book. However with the fast pace, the action, and the bits of intrigue, reading this shouldn't take long at all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    The book Sapphique is very interesting and attention grabbing.

    The book Sapphique is very interesting and attention grabbing. The plot was very well developed and complex. It is the sequel to the book Incarceron. It is a fiction book that takes place in two different settings. There is the prison Incarceron that was made to be a paradise but became the opposite. The Outside, which everyone believes is a paradise, but in reality it is just as bad as Incarceron. There are many important characters in this story, all of which are relatable and believable. The five most important characters are Finn, Claudia, Jared, Keiro, and Attia. Finn is trustworthy and reliable but he also is very unpredictable, like many of the characters in this novel. Claudia is a strong-hearted character, a leader, and always does what she thinks is best. Jared is a very smart person and always seems to know the answer to every question. Its as if he has all the answers in the world. On the other hand, Keiro is not very trustworthy in the eyes of the other characters. He lies and cheats and deceives people. Attia is strong-willed and is also very unpredictable. She is portrayed as a slave but is stronger than the people that claim to have enslaved her. The less important (but still very important) characters are Rix, the Warden, Incareron, Queen Sia, the Queen’s son Caspar, and the Pretender

    In this book, there are two plots that resolve themselves in a surprising way. One takes place in the Outside, the other inside Incarceron. Outside, Finn, Jared, and Claudia try to open the portal to the prison to bring Keiro and Attia Outside, but they face many problems along the way. Finn is the long lost heir to the crown, and Claudia is supposed to be his queen. But Queen Sia does everything she can to keep Finn from being Prince. Jared is also faced with a life threatening disease that causes him to stray from Claudia. The Outside is starting to fade and reality is starting to sink in.

    The other plot revolves around Keiro and Attia who are on a great journey to find Incarceron and give it the great and powerful glove of Sapphique. Attia joins the circus to gain the trust of Rix who has possession of the glove. Once Attia has the glove, she and Keiro hear the voice of Incarceron and begin their journey to the heart of the prison. They face many dangers on their journey. At the end of their quest, they come into contact with an old foe and face an enemy like no other.

    The author, Catherine Fisher, uses lots of symbolism. She makes every chapter suspenseful and it all builds up to a surprise ending that will leave you in shock. This book is like no other book that I have ever read. If you read this book, you won’t be able to put it down. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    great book

    this was a very good sequel to the first story Incarceron. catherine fisher has a great imagination. i cant wait to read other books of hers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ok

    It's like a bad harry potter book. But the storyline is intriging. Buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    4.8 Out of 5!

    Sapphique is fantastic! However, I cannot give 5 stars when the author finishes the series without answering all my questions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    Confused. I would have given this book 5 stars but by 3/4 of it, I was very confused by the plot. Very much like Incarceron this book is descriptive and plot driven. I never felt I cared much for the characters. Finn always thinking of Keiro and Claudia, but conveniently when one or the other is not accessible. Keiro only thinks of himself, same goes for Claudia. Because the focus switches from the Realm and Incarceron and then the Realm again, the story telling is fast paced and a there's a lot of action and keeps the reader interested. Personally, I enjoy books more when its about the characters than about the plot, but I would recc' this book to Harry Potter fans. The plot is not similar at all, but the style reminded me a lot of that series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    When is the third book coming out!?

    Great book. It can get confusing so its something you will want to pay a little more attention to. Dont listen to music while reading this book. Too much attention in too many differentt places. Blarg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Rachelle Kowalski

    I think it was a very good book, it mostly left me off at cliffhangers which really made it so that you never want to put it down which really was kind of a bad thing but also a good thing as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just reread my review of the first one and, for the first book

    I just reread my review of the first one and, for the first book, I still agree with everything I said - but I have to say, for the first time in a while, a sequel has outshined it's original counterpart.

    Where I hated the characters in Incarceron (well, not really; I just didn't really like them all that much), I grew to really like them here. Finn was uber depressing but understandably so and Claudia was kind of awesome and everybody was just much more interesting to me.

    The plot seemed MUCH better here for some reason, even though it's the same plot carried over from Incarceron. I think part of that is because I absolutely adore anything having to do with a royal court, so when they have Finn fighting for his throne, I was completely content.

    I loved the development of the world as well and how it works and everything that happens to it; I thought it was absolutely fantastic. This is one of those worlds that is going to stick with me long after I forget the plot and the characters - I'll remember the details of this world. It's that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Finn has finally Escaped Incarceron, the living prison and the only home he remembers. He is the long lost heir to the throne of the Realm. But he still feels like a prisoner.

    Outside isn't the paradise he or his fellow prisoners dreamt of. Instead, Finn finds himself trapped in a complicated game of intrigue and lies he can't seem to escape still unable to remember his past or help his friends Inside.

    Claudia, daughter of Incarceron's Warden, thought helping Finn escape and declaring him the long lost heir to the Realm would be the end of her problems. Instead she finds herself with new ones as her fate is tied dangerously to Finn's and his attempts to reclaim the throne.

    Meanwhile Finn's friends Keiro and Attia are still trapped Inside. There are rumors in the prison of a magical glove--a glove that Sapphique himself used to escape.

    But finding it won't be easy.

    Sapphique was the only prisoner Incarceron ever loved and it is desperate to see the wonders he spoke of Outside, desperate enough to try an Escape of its own.

    Everyone is wants to Escape, but life Outside can be as perilous as life Inside in Sapphique (December 2010*) by Catherine Fisher.

    Sapphique is the stunning sequel to Incarceron. Much as I enjoyed this book, it really is dependent on the first book as a foundation and should be read in order.

    The story picks up shortly after Incarceron's breathtaking conclusion. Fisher aptly captures the discomfort and confusion of going from rags to riches and the dangers even a world of luxury can hold. This book also expands upon the relationships of the first book and reveals more about the characters--their wants, their fears. Many of the secondary characters (especially Jared and Keiro) are more developed in this volume though Attia still remained very enigmatic.

    Broken into five parts, Sapphique takes readers across the Realm, into the depths of Incarceron and beyond. The lore of the Realm and Incarceron is well-developed and excellently shared in the story and in epipgraphs from ephemera of the Realm/Prison found at the beginning of each chapter.

    While Sapphique is a satisfying conclusion to a breakneck adventure of a series, some readers may find the ending a bit rushed. Everything about the prison and the Realm is explained. The problem with such a well-realized world is that there is a lot to explain. And that leaves little time for tying up loose ends with characters.**

    Sapphique has all of the action and intrigue readers of the first book will remember and love but it also delves into new territory about Protocol and Incarceron leading to a conclusion that is in many ways just as shocking and just as well-realized as the powerhouse ending of Incarceron.

    *Sapphique was originally published in 2008 in the UK.

    **To be fair Fisher really does explain and resolve everything. All the same, some resolutions were more implied between the lines than this reviewer would have liked.

    Possible Pairings: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox, The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner, Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, Hook (movie with Robin Williams)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Someone

    This was an amazing book. Its fast paced and was always leaving me for more. The ending was a kind of sadness for me. I didnt want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Like book

    Own the paperback good so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Very good

    All i could say is that it runs on at certain points but other than that its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Sapphique

    I really liked this book. I thought the characters were interesting (although I think Attia lost something... she was such an amazing character in the first book but became a bit more typical in this one... Just a little. The Attia that I really like comes in a lot, but she definitely lost something in this one) and the plot was engaging. A lot of people dislike the fact that the author leaves you hanging, but I rather liked that. I really liked how, although the plot came to a close, there was a lot left open. It wasn't "and they all lived happily ever after" nor was it "and then everyone dies." It was bittersweet, a grey area. A lot of people absolutely loathe that, but I really like that. I also like how the romances were not super gushy and obvious. There were a few things hinted at, just enough to stimulate the imagination (and I personally am glad nothing was really there between Finn and Claudia. I never liked them together. I always saw Claudia with Jared and Finn with nobody, I feel like he is too self absorbed - not selfish, but he always feels so sorry for himself all the time and forgets that others around him exist - for romance). The one thing that really did bother me was that the Key became of no importance. It may as well have never existed. I was hoping that maybe by combining the Glove and the Key somehow it would create the Escape, but the Key just became of no importance. That bothered me. And I do wish they would maybe at least mention Gildas. He, like the Key, may as well have never even existed. But all in all, a good read, and a wonderful conclusion to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cat for TeensReadToo

    The end of SAPPHIQUE's prequel saw Finn released from sentient prison INCARCERON, but life Outside has not brought him the peace of mind he desired. Four months after his escape finds Finn still struggling with the inherent treachery and protocol required by court life. Couple that with the overwhelming guilt he feels for leaving his oath brother, Keiko, and friend, Attia, behind Inside, Finn has sunk into despair. So deep is his depression, he's become useless in helping the Warden's daughter, Claudia, and her beloved tutor, Jared, search for a way back into Incarceron. The situation worsens when a young man who bears a striking resemblance to him challenges Finn's claim as the long-lost throne heir, Prince Giles. Back inside the prison, Keiko and Attia search for their own means of escape: Sapphique's legendary magical glove. But Finn's prolonged absence and the increasing desperation of their situation - plagues, scarcity of supplies, entire sections of the prison shutting down - stretches their loyalties to the breaking point. As their enemies close in, each pair is in a race against time to save their very lives. After reading both books in Catherine Fisher's duology, SAPPHIQUE emerges most decidedly as my favorite. While INCARCERON beautifully established this rich and complex world, the sequel brings more heart to the narrative. In SAPPHIQUE, we get a deeper exploration of the characters, a maturing of their perspectives, and a resolution of plot with the possibility of more stories to be mined in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    Not as good as Incarceron but still fascenating

    I LOVED Incarceron, okay? I loved it so much that i seeked out Sapphique that had already been published in the UK. It's safe to say that this book was good, but not as good as Incarceron. Their wasn't as much wonder and awe in this book,and most of it took place on the Outside and was concentrated on scheming plots by the queen to ruin Finn. Still, much was reveiled in this book and had a really cool twist at the end. The end also was filled hope for a better future which contributed to a satifying conclusion to the Incarceron duo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3