Customer Reviews for

Sapphire Blue (Ruby Red Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really, really, really love the plot of this book. I love the

I really, really, really love the plot of this book. I love the characters.

Do I want to smack Gideon in the face for being a self involved narcissistic prick? Yeah, I do. But that's the point of his character, isn't it? So I can't fault him for being what he's suppose...
I really, really, really love the plot of this book. I love the characters.

Do I want to smack Gideon in the face for being a self involved narcissistic prick? Yeah, I do. But that's the point of his character, isn't it? So I can't fault him for being what he's supposed to be.

But I spent so much time wanting to smack him that it took a little bit of the book away from me. I found him annoying. But that doesn't make the book any less awesome in the long run.

The best part about this entire series, without a doubt, is the friendship Gwen and Lesley have. It rings true throughout the entire book and reminds me of some of my closest friends -- two girls who love each other like sisters and are willing to help each other and trust what the other says. Gwen can time travel, is involved in a secret society and can see the dead? Lesley's got her back.

The other side characters -- Xemerius in particular -- are equally awesome or annoying or silly, but all are fleshed out and actually interesting. I want to punch half of them in the face, but again, you're supposed to want to punch half of them in the face.

I thought the line that Gier walks in keeping Gwen a human rather than a turning her into a Mary Sue heroine is really interesting and something that could be noted by other authors. She still gets distracted by Gideon, but not to the extreme of forgetting everything she wants to do; she has a best friend who actually aids her in what she wants instead of getting jealous; she has a family that mostly loves her and sometimes annoy her.

The only thing that might trip some readers up is the time travel aspect -- there's a lot of jumping around, and I suggest watching some Doctor Who as mental mind prep to keep up with it all. That's the only way I'm able to keep track of anything. (Though I don't think that they use the same time travel laws that Who does. Hmmm...)

posted by wordforteens on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My daughter loved it!

I bought this book for my 13 year old because she read the first book in the series (Ruby Red) and loved li. She read this in two days and loved it. She was upset because Emerald Green (the last book in the series) won't be out for another year.

posted by 3504752 on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    good plot, fun characters, but the thing with middle books in tr

    good plot, fun characters, but the thing with middle books in trilogies, they seem to be fillers while the opening book sets up the story and the last book has the action that comes with a conclusion, the middle book helps the story along. not bad though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    #2 in the time-traveling Ruby Red Trilogy - 4 1/2 STARS Review

    #2 in the time-traveling Ruby Red Trilogy - 4 1/2 STARS

    Review Tally - based out of 5

    OVERALL: 4 1/2 STARS

    Story/Plot: 4 - This is the second book in the Ruby Red Trilogy continuing the adventures of Gwen and Gideon as they travel through time.

    Re-read Value: 3 - 50/50, but if I am honest, there is a really good chance I will re-read it if and when a movie is released based on this series. This always happens to me with movies I watch in the theaters (and sometimes on DVD/TV) - if I have not read the book it's based on, I HAVE to read it before seeing it. If I have read the series, take for example any of the movies based on the Harry Potter series, I go home and EVEN knowing how the series begins, continues and ends, I pull out the books and re-read them. I hope I am not the only one this happens to, but . . .

    Continue Series: 5 - *scoff* I held off reading this book, Sapphire Blue for one reason and one reason only after I read Ruby Red - Emerald Green had not been released here in the States yet. As so as I finish this lovely review/note, I am pulling Emerald Green on my Nook and start reading!

    Characters: 5 - I do love the characters in Kerstin Gier's Ruby Red world. I think I have it all figured out - the truth of everything that has been hinted at/alluded to. I suspected strongly while reading Ruby Red and having JUST finished Sapphire Blue I am pretty strong of the mind I was right all along. I cannot wait to dive into Emerald Green and seeing if I am right. I cannot wait to see what will happen to these characters that I have come to care about as I read this series. My only fear is what if something bad happens & I am left crying uncontrollably like I did when they killed Anakin Solo or Sirius Black? I know people think it's a joke when I tell them but I felt like I really lost an important person in my life - on the Anakin Solo, I still having trouble reading Star Wars series although I so love that universe.

    Cover: 5 - Oh come on! You knew this was going to be high. Do you see this cover?! It's beautiful and amazing!

    Genre Fulfillment: 5 - So many genres and sub-genres this book fulfills. There's time travel, romance, mystery and suspense, adventure - and sword fights, gargoyles, ghosts, conniving back stabbing cousins, and it's geared toward young adults. By the way, did I miss something?

    Personal Involvement: 5 - If you lasted this long through my note/review, you know I am deeply involved and highly enjoy this series. Part of me doesn't want the series to end, a huge part of me is yelling at myself for wasting time on this review when I could be reading Emerald Green and another part is screaming "Don't read it, because you know it might end in tragedy and you'll having people looking at you like nut because your eyes are red and your nose is all blotchy. Trust me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Sapphire Blue b

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier
    Book Two of the Edelstein Trilogie
    Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
    Publication Date: October 30, 2012
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: Public library

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    Gwen’s life has been a rollercoaster since she discovered she was the Ruby, the final member of the secret time-traveling Circle of Twelve. In between searching through history for the other time-travelers and asking for a bit of their blood (gross!), she’s been trying to figure out what all the mysteries and prophecies surrounding the Circle really mean.

    At least Gwen has plenty of help. Her best friend Lesley follows every lead diligently on the Internet. James the ghost teaches Gwen how to fit in at an eighteenth century party. And Xemerius, the gargoyle demon who has been following Gwen since he caught her kissing Gideon in a church, offers advice on everything. Oh, yes. And of course there is Gideon, the Diamond. One minute he’s very warm indeed; the next he’s freezing cold. Gwen’s not sure what’s going on there, but she’s pretty much destined to find out.


    What I Liked:

    Oh, how I loved this sequel! I'm always fearful of sequels (second in the series), because many times, they are not as good as the first book. But this book was an excellent continuation of the series. I would say that the first book, Ruby Red, is overall better than this one, but this book is still really good.

    Once again, Gwen shows us that she is a fantastic protagonist. She is neither weak or passive, and she does like give up without a fight. She is not necessarily feisty, in the way that we like to think of most YA heroines, but she has spunk. I love her insecurity, her humor, and her kindness towards others. This book continues Gwen's character development in a very good way.

    I love the introduction of the new characters, especially Xemerius, a gargoyle demon, and Gideon's brother, Raphael. Xemerius is awesome! I distinctly remember this scene in which hre saves Gwen from humiliation in front of Chartlotte, when he describes to Gwen what a reticule is. And Raphael... I am excited to see where his interactions with Lesley will lead!

    No love triangle. Unless you count Gideon and Charlotte. Which is not a love triangle, because Gideon does not reciprocate. It's more like Gideon and Gwen, with Charlotte trying to butt her way in. So not going to happen, Charlotte.

    I love that Gwen's relationship with Gideon is fleshed out a little more. If you are thinking that they get it on, or some crazy action happens, get that out of your head right now. By the way, I am referring to "their relationship" as in, their interactions. In this book, they have no label, like "boyfriend" and "girlfriend". They skirt around each other a lot. Anyway. Gwen and Gideon both realize that they have strong feelings towards each other. Both handle this in different ways. Gideon is still hot and cold, sometimes leaving Gwen breathless, other times leaving her furious. 

    BUT. The ending is INSANE, in terms of their relationship. Gwen thinks one thing, and so do the readers. But, if readers keep going to the epilogue... they will see something that Gween does not know, but Gideon does (well, he is the one that discovers things, and reveals things, but not to Gwen). 

    The ending. I know, I am leaving out a lot of things that I would usually discus. But that ending. It. Is. CRAZY. Or insane, I think I said above. I love it so much, but then, as I said above, Gwen does not know things that Gideon and the readers do! So, it is really heartbreaking, but I have faith in the final book, Emerald Green. I cannot wait to see who has been messing with time, and what Paul and Lucy have been doing, and what Gwen and Gideon are going to do about the time-travel problems, and their own problems.


    What I Did Not Like:

    I feel like this book moved very slowly compared to the first book. No slow enough that made me finish the book slower (because I DEVOURED this book!), but slow enough that I noticed. The climax of the story was excellent, but I feel like the events leading up to it occurred too slowly. This is really my only complaint.


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES!!!!! I said this about the first book: I usually do not like time-travel books, but this series is so, so good. Try these books! BRITISH HOTTIES EVERYONE! (kind of)


    Rating:

    4 stars. I need Emerald Green! I may have to order a foreign version, just so I will know months before! I have been learning Spanish in school for years...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Smallshadow

    Suddenly she realized it. When Quailpelt looked so sad when smallshadow told him she was going away to find a mate, the way foxshadow tried to warn her not to do this, when Quailpelt said hed wait for smallshadow and she didnt understand... Quailpelt liked her! Foxshadow was telling her trying to warn her about somecats feelings and smallshadow ignored it. Now i understand! She said aloud. Oops. Sorry. Smallshadow stood up and went to missingstripe. Sorry but i think Quailpelt would be devastated if i continued with this. I would have been honored to be your mate but i must go. She quickly ran off, calling goodluck to the other shecats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Stormtail

    The co leader Padded back in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Stormtail

    Gtgtb bbt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    I am really mad

    I cant believe the next book wont come out until 2013!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ***IF YOU HAVEN┬┐T READ THE FIRST BOOK IN THE SERIES, THERE MAY B

    ***IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE FIRST BOOK IN THE SERIES, THERE MAY BE SPOILERS AHEAD***




    Rating: 4




    The Low Down: Wow. That kiss. There they are, Gwen and Gideon, hiding from gun-wielding bad guys in a church in 1912 and they’re kissing. That was unexpected. What was also unexpected was: a) Gwen liked it, very much; b) a ghost of a gargoyle follows her home; and c) Gwen’s not completely sold on the belief that Lucy and Paul, the time travelers who stole the other chronograph, are 100% villainous.




    In this second installment of the Ruby Red Trilogy, it is only days since Gwen has discovered that she is the descendant with the time-traveling gene. And after meeting the first time-traveler,  Count Saint-Germain, who scared the breath of out Gwen both figuratively (threatening her in her head so no one else could hear him) and literally (choking her with his mind), she is not so sure that he can be trusted. However, this time around, he is all compliments and smiles, only appearing sinister when speaking with his arch-enemy, Lord Alastair, whose society, The Florentine Alliance, exists for the sole purpose to destroy the time-travelers.




    It appears that there is a traitor in their midst; a turncoat who is helping to keep Lucy and Paul one step ahead of the Cicle. Unfortunately, because she is the newest member, Gwen is being regarded with suspicion. Completely in the dark when it comes to much of the lore of the Circle of Twelve, Gwen gets frustrated and decides to figure things out on her own. Well, not completely alone, as she has help from her best friend, Lesley and her puzzle-solving and Googling expertise; her 1950s era grandfather; and her new confidante (and gargoyle ghost), Xemerius.




    When the Count remarks to her that Gideon is just playing a part, she realizes that she’s just a pawn, And no matter what century you’re in, a broken heart is no fun.




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: No sophomore slump here - as the plot unfolds, you learn more about the mystery surrounding Lucy and Paul, wonder about the Count, find out that this group bent on destroying them all exists and, of course, root for Gwen to outshine her perfect cousin, Charlotte. Oh, and it wouldn't hurt my feelings if Gwen got the boy.
    I’m Cranky Because: I am wanting Gwen to talk to the little ghost boy, Robert, some more. 




    The last book, Emerald Green, was released in Germany December 8, 2010. 2010, people! We won’t be able to see it until this fall. I understand, it has to be translated (and I can only guess, having not read it in its original language, but Ms. Anthea Bell seems to do a great job at it). Also, there is a German movie version of Ruby Red coming out in March. I sure hope that they release it here, too. Check out my “Waiting On” Wednesday post this week to read about the last installment of the series and to see the movie trailer. In Deutsch, natürlich.




    To Read or Not To Read: Absolut 1000% ja. In fact, go back in time and learn German so you don't have to wait for the English version.




    Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier was published October 30, 2012 by Henry Holt and Co.




    Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction Fantasy Romance Time Travel Series
    Ages: 12 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    I bought Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue on impulse and was very glad

    I bought Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue on impulse and was very glad I did. I read both Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue in a single weekend I enjoyed them so much.

    An interesting YA book with time travel, secret societies, and a budding romance I loved how all of the elements blended together to create a thrilling story that had me captivated from page one until I couldn’t continue (because the third book isn’t out yet!). I’ll be waiting on bated breath for the final installment, Emerald Green, to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Spoiler

    I was so mad at this book but i cant wait for e.erald green. I knew gidion was a creep

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    so good

    I read ruby red when it first came out now im in love with sapphire blue!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Loved it, read it in a day! The first book was great and this fo

    Loved it, read it in a day! The first book was great and this follows the storyline nicely. A very entertaining YA read. I really can't believe the 3rd book won't be out until fall 2013...how sad. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Worth the Wait

    I had to wait a year for this title to show after I read the first in the trilogy, and now I have to wait another year for the third installment. But I will be looking for it no matter what. Really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2