Customer Reviews for

Sappho's Leap

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Question

    Is this book readable for a 14-year old?
    (Meaning, sex?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Boring,audiobook

    The author didn't do her story any justice by reading the audiobook herself.Her voice is flat and nonexpressive turning a possibly interesting plot into repetitive dullness.I stopped listening after tape 3a.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    so excited

    I haven't found a book so imaginative since Memoirs of a Geisha. I am so happy that I read this!! It was fabulous!!! Sappho is truly immortal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    A wonderful enchanting mythology tale!

    This is one of my favorite books,I love greek mythology so It was a given that I would want to read 'Sappho's Leap'. Once I picked it up I couldn't put it down. I would highly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    fantastic

    I held off reading this book until I knew I could give it my full and undivided attention. I knew it would be worth the wait. I felt the story was amazing and that the sex was not particular vulgur or distastful.I thought it painted a wonderful picture of what Sappho's life could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2003

    amazing

    this book is one of the best books i have ever read, even my mom liked it. It is a beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    its great

    i really enjoyed the book and couldnt stop reading. im a personal fan of greek myths or anything in relation to it. the book was written well, in a style that kept you turning the pages. i think its what everyone should enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2003

    too much sex

    this book is very flat. every other page is an orgy. i stopped reading it at about page 188. some of the descriptions of greek life are opulent which i enjoyed. classical myths are alluded to like going down to hades-but its all on a glittery surface level-not very deap. dont get me wrong erotic scenes can be a good thing but in this book it is in every chapter and it is the same scenario each time. even the sex scenes are flat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    enjoyable and adventurous

    I curled up with Sappho's Leap one rainy afternoon and didn't stop reading until I finished it in the middle of the night! Through Sappho's eyes I can see the old worlds, and while admittedly not completely historically accurate (a few fantasy-driven scenes come to mind) the descriptions of Lesbos and the surrounding lands really make the landscape come to life. I liked Sappho's 'realness', and it was funny to think that she struggled with some of the same issues that women in the 21st century still have trouble with! There were some strange moments though that could have been cut out without harming the book (read it and you'll know exactly what I mean) but they were few and far between, and barely noticeable in the grand scheme of things. Good job, Erica Jong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1