Customer Reviews for

Sarah

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Emotional and Inspiring Story

Sarai was born to one of the great lords of Ur. Hers was a life filled with wealth and beauty until the fateful day when she became a woman. Suddenly, she was expected to marry a man she'd never met and serve him as a virtual slave, his every whim her command. It was no...
Sarai was born to one of the great lords of Ur. Hers was a life filled with wealth and beauty until the fateful day when she became a woman. Suddenly, she was expected to marry a man she'd never met and serve him as a virtual slave, his every whim her command. It was not to be borne! Sarai flees her father's house and plunges into the countryside, where she stumbles across Abram, a simple man to whom she is strangely drawn. Although Sarai is caught and returned to her father, she takes a concoction rendering her barren. Her unique states propels her life along a different course and she becomes a priestess of Ishtar, Ur's goddess of war. Once more, Abram enters her life and Sarai joins Abram at last, becoming his wife. Although the young couple seems happy enough, Sarai remains barren and no child is born to them. Sarai offers Abram her handmaid, Hagar, to give him the son he so desperately wants. A quarrel eventually breaks out between the two women, as they compete for position in Abram's world. Told from the point of view of Sarai herself, this book is a unique glimpse into what life in Biblical times might have been like. At times, the story is raw and brutally realistic and at others, Halter's words create visions of inspiration for the faithful. Well written with great characterizations.

posted by AnnBKeller on September 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One Star Too Many

If you like reading lies and fabrications about biblical characters then this book is for you. Frankly, I feel that the truth is so much more appealing. If you want to know the real Sarah, read the Bible. A good novel? Read my recommendation...

posted by Anonymous on June 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Emotional and Inspiring Story

    Sarai was born to one of the great lords of Ur. Hers was a life filled with wealth and beauty until the fateful day when she became a woman. Suddenly, she was expected to marry a man she'd never met and serve him as a virtual slave, his every whim her command. It was not to be borne! Sarai flees her father's house and plunges into the countryside, where she stumbles across Abram, a simple man to whom she is strangely drawn. Although Sarai is caught and returned to her father, she takes a concoction rendering her barren. Her unique states propels her life along a different course and she becomes a priestess of Ishtar, Ur's goddess of war. Once more, Abram enters her life and Sarai joins Abram at last, becoming his wife. Although the young couple seems happy enough, Sarai remains barren and no child is born to them. Sarai offers Abram her handmaid, Hagar, to give him the son he so desperately wants. A quarrel eventually breaks out between the two women, as they compete for position in Abram's world. Told from the point of view of Sarai herself, this book is a unique glimpse into what life in Biblical times might have been like. At times, the story is raw and brutally realistic and at others, Halter's words create visions of inspiration for the faithful. Well written with great characterizations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    More fiction than history. I was mislead by the critical reviews

    More fiction than history. I was mislead by the critical reviews that compared it to The Red Tent. The writing doesn't begin to equal that of Anita Diamant. The characters are inauthentic and lack dignity. This wonderful story should have been a great book but it lacks authenticity and talent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book to be very educational and entertaining...a great historical fiction

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Interesting POV on a well-known tale

    An interesting tale, told from Sarah's POV and starting with her childhood. I'll have to look more closely at my Old Testament text for accuracy, but I have to say that Halter tells a mesmerizing story! I did find myself wanting more about her life with Jacob, but the pieces that are in the book are well-written and flow beautifully. It's a fairly short book - and nothing heavy or theological, although it should be obvious that God's relationship with Abraham plays a big part in the book. An enjoyable, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    One Star Too Many

    If you like reading lies and fabrications about biblical characters then this book is for you. Frankly, I feel that the truth is so much more appealing. If you want to know the real Sarah, read the Bible. A good novel? Read my recommendation...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Loved it

    Characters really came alive in this novel

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable, but...

    This book was a bit sexually explicit and not an accurate account of the Bible's version of Sarah. Other than that it was enjoyable to read and did give many interesting things to consider about the time period in which it is believed that the Abraham/Sarah/Hagar saga took place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Sarahs lifestlyle change

    Excellent for someone interested in readying historically correct novel. There is enough of biblical truth to make an interesting novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    It's certainly more fiction than fact.

    Sarah was a captivating and a surprisingly steamy read which provided an interesting glimpse into its historical setting. However, the book did not hold true to the Biblical Sarah. Many of the facts were there, but many were distorted. The most glaring discrepancy is that in the novel Sarah is portrayed as the daughter of a lord who became the Sacred Handmaid of the Blood, and who had no knowledge of Abraham's family or his way of life. But in fact, she and Abraham had the same father, Terah, and they grew up together. There are many other alterations from the Biblical account, and so it should be read for the novel it is and not for a better understanding of the character on which she is based.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    A GREAT BOOK!

    This is a great book! I have started reading more historical fiction related to the Bible and this has been one of my favorite books. I am now reading the other books in this series and cannot put them down. If you love to read this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Best classroom assingment

    I thought it was absolutely worth the read. It was assigned to me for my world history class and I fell in love with it. It is one of the best books I have ever read, worth every cent. If you ever needed a book to read this is the one. Don't let the bible origan break you away from reading it. It is great for those of you who believe in God but not neccesarally only for them. It mentions God but does not push the religion. For most of the book Sarai (Sarah's name for most of the book) doesn't really even believe in Him. Please read it and I promise you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    BEST book I've read in awhile!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this is a WONDERFUL recounting of Sarai (Sarah in the bible) the wife of Abram (Abraham) and how their relationship came to be. I recommend this book to any lovers of history or historical romaces. And the sex scenes aren't nearly as explicit as some other things i've read. It's actually pretty censored in many parts of the book where the author could've gone further. DEFINITLY A GREAT READ! couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    for chistians and non-believers

    I thought this was a wonderful book. Halter gives a voice to the women of the Bible, who even though had a huge part in the story of God, were mysteriously left out of the Bible (for the most part) except in reference to their husbands. This book is definatly included on my Top 50 List.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Geofrey's review

    The books is so wonderful. It is good for people who wants to rediscover their faith or just want to fill the blanks left in the bible. If you want a present for your grandmother, this is the right book. But if you are looking for something for your mother in law, you have a wrong choice buddy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    A sorry disappointment

    The writting in the book is fantastic... it could have been the best book I have ever read, except that there were some every explicit sex scenes (worse then most R movies I have ever seen)That made the book totally unappropriate. Don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    What a hit!

    This is by far the best book I have ever read! I have read many books. Marek Halter couldn't have captured biblical truth more accurately. The sex scene is hardly R rated like a fellow reviewer states it to be. I loved the sex scenes as they bring necessar feelings to the reader(feelings that Sarah probably experienced). Please go back and read Genesis to compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    You will regret not reading this book!

    I couldn't put this book down, by far one of the best books I have ever read. Marek Halter combines historical fiction with biblical facts to tell an amazing story capturing every scene

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Usually a reader of self-improvement books

    The book was fantastic. I couldn't put the book down until I had read it, cover to cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2005

    I enjoyed reading the book

    First and foremost you have to understand this is a fictional story based on bibical facts. I enjoyed reading the book as a fictional story. What made it fun for me, was to maybe see another side that is not told in the bible. My only fault I found, was that Sarah became whining and jealous after all those years of loving and following Abram without question. I love her transition in her later years and when she finally came herself to God in the river, that he, in fact, granted her prays of age and giving of life. This is the moral of this story. I would recommend reading this book, but keep in mind that it is an historial fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Amazing

    I loved reading this book, 'Sarah' gave me insight into the one of my favorite ancient cultures... Sumer/Babylon. As a former teacher of history, this opened new avenues for me to research on my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3